Why you should know Apache Kafka

26.05.2021 Ricky Elfner
Cloud Tech event-driven distributed-systems cloud-native message-broker foss message-queue k8s iot edge-computing

Apache Kafka is the first part of our blog series “Event-Driven Systems”. First, we lay the foundation for the further topic so that you know exactly what the use of Kafka will bring you.

Kafka was originally developed by LinkedIn before becoming part of the Apache Software Foundation in 2012. This is an open source project, which has been developed by the Confluent company since 2014. This company grew out of LinkedIn.

What is Kafka?

Apache describes Kafka as an event streaming platform that is comparable to the human nervous system. Since it should mainly be used wherever a service is running continuously. This happens mainly because the business is always shaped by automated software. With Kafka it is possible for you to read and manage data in real time from various event sources such as databases, mobile devices, cloud services or other software applications. This saves you from writing several different integrations between the different systems, because all of them can fall back on Kafka for this. For this reason, it is also possible for you to create a decentralized and resilient system.

What are the possibilities of using Kafka?

With Kafka it is possible for you to create microservices and other applications that offer the possibility of exchanging data with an extremely high throughput and a very low latency. Furthermore, Kafka is able to store the messages in an orderly manner and even use the collected messages to reproduce an application status that has already occurred. By using clusters, Kafka can be scaled horizontally very well. This means that, for example, the number of brokers can easily increase. And although very large amounts of data are quickly saved here, this has no effect on the speed of Kafka.

Kafka can also be used in a wide variety of areas. This includes:

  • Event-driven architectures
  • Event logging
  • Tracking website activity
  • Monitoring the operation of applications using various metrics
  • Aggregation & Collection of logs
  • Manage logs across distributed systems

Kafka concept

If you want to use Kafka, it is always an advantage to know the most important terms and the associated functions.

The basic structure starts with the Kafka cluster. This includes different broker instances.

Broker

The broker is responsible for coordinating the storage process and forwarding the data. A broker is often referred to as a server or node.

Topic

The so-called topic, which receives data and stores it within a Kafka cluster, is located within the broker. This is divided into a self-configured number of partitions.

Partitions

This is the actual place where the messages are stored. It is also possible to replicate the partitions over several topics in order to avoid data loss. As already mentioned, the number of partitions is defined by the topic partition count itself.

In the case of partitions, a distinction is also made between leader and follower. The partition leader is responsible for processing all producer requests of a topic. The partition follower, on the other hand, replicates the leader's data. This can also be determined by the replication factor itself. It is also optionally possible for the follower to process consumer requests.

In order for Kafka to have data, someone needs to send the data and one of the data reads.

Messages

Messages are a technical transfer unit that Kafka manages. These messages consist of the following points:

  • Timestamp: can be set by the producer himself or automatically by the broker
  • Key: identifies the target partition
  • Value: payload defined by the producer
  • Header: contains further key-value pairs

Offset

The offset determines the position of a message within a partition. Each message has a unique offset. That is why it can be monitored at which position the consumer is and how many entries have been read so far.

Producer

The producer is responsible for the publish process. This means it sends messages to a broker topic. The sent message is always written after the last offset of a partition. If there are several partitions within a topic, either the Round-Robin principle is used or the key is used to decide which topic is to be written to.

Consumer

Where messages are stored, there must also be an opportunity to read the data. This is done through a subscribe operation. This means that a consumer 'subscribes' to a topic from which he can read the messages based on the partition and the offset.

Consumer Group

Consumers can be divided into groups using a group.id. However, two consumers cannot read from the same Topic partition. However, it is possible for a consumer to read from several partitions. These are used to share large data streams that are generated by several producers.

Architecture

Now that we have looked at the basics of the Kafka Cluster, we now continue with the next parts, which complete Kafka.

Apache ZooKeeper

ZooKeeper is a core dependency, which is itself from Apache. This is a cluster that contains replicated ZooKeeper instances. As a coordination service, ZooKeeper is responsible for tracking and storing the status of brokers and consumers. It also takes care of the leader election of the various partitions.

Kafka Connect

Apache offers an integration toolkit so that you can exchange data between Kafka brokers and other systems. You can do this with the help of so-called connector plugins. Kafka Connect provides a framework so that you can integrate Kafka into external data sources such as databases. The advantage here is that external data is translated and transformed directly into the appropriate format.

There is the Source Connector, which sends external data to Kafka. And there is also the Sink Connector, which extracts data from Kafka.

Kafka MirrorMaker

The MirrorMaker is responsible for ensuring that the data is replicated between two Kafka clusters. A distinction is made between a source Kafka cluster and a target Kafka cluster.

Kafka exporter

This enables you to extract data as Prometheus metrics for analysis purposes. This includes information about offsets, consumer groups, and consumer lags. The latter is the delay time between the last message within a partition and the message that is currently being fetched from this partition by a consumer.

Kafka Bridge

The Kafka Bridge offers an API for integrating HTTP-based clients into a Kafka cluster.

Kafka Bridge Interface

A RESTful interface is offered via the bridge so that HTTP-based clients can communicate with Kafka. This saves the clients having to translate the Kafka Protocol There are two main resources through the API, Consumers & Topics. These are made accessible from 'outside' via endpoints so that communication with consumers and producers within the Kafka cluster can take place.

HTTP requests

The following requests are made available:

  • Send messages in a topic
  • Received messages from a top
  • Get a list of partitions from a topic
  • Create & delete consumers
  • Subscribing to topics in order to receive messages from them
  • Get a list of topics to which a consumer subscribes
  • Unsubscribe from topics
  • Assign partitions to a consumer

The messages can either be sent in JSON format or in Binary format. This allows clients to create and read messages, produce & consume, without having to use the Kafka protocol.

Stay tuned!


This text was automatically translated with our golang markdown translator.

Ricky Elfner - thinker, survivor, gadget collector. He is always on the lookout for new innovational potentials, as well as tech news, so that he can always write about current topics.

Warum man Apache Kafka kennen sollte

26.05.2021 Ricky Elfner
Cloud Tech Event-Driven Distributed Systems Open source Kubernetes

Apache Kafka ist der erste Teil unserer Blogreihe “Event-Driven Systems”. Dabei legen wir zunächst einmal den Grundstein für das weitere Thema, damit Sie genau wissen, was Ihnen die Verwendung von Kafka bringt.

Kafka wurde ursprünglich von LinkedIn entwickelt, bevor es 2012 Teil der Apache Software Foundation wurde. Dabei handelt es sich um ein Open-Source-Projekt, welches jedoch seit 2014 von dem Unternehmen Confluent entwickelt wird. Dieses Unternehmen entstand aus LinkedIn heraus.

Was ist Kafka?

Apache beschreibt Kafka selbst als eine Event-Streaming Platform, die mit dem menschlichen Nervensystem vergleichbar ist. Da es vor allem überall verwendet werden sollte, wo ein Service durchgehend läuft. Dies geschieht vor allem dadurch, dass das Business immer von automatisierter Software geprägt wird. Mit Kafka ist es ihnen möglich Daten in Echtzeit aus verschiedenen Event-Quellen, wie Datenbanken, Mobile Devices, Cloud Services oder anderen Software-Applikationen zu lesen und verwalten. Deswegen ersparen Sie sich mehrere unterschiedliche Integrationen zwischen den unterschiedlichen Systemen zu schreiben, denn alle können hierfür auf Kafka zurückgreifen. Aus diesem Grund ist es Ihnen auch möglich ein dezentralisiertes und belastbares System zu erstellen.

Welche Möglichkeiten ergeben sich durch die Verwendung von Kafka?

Mit Kafka ist es Ihnen möglich, Microservices und andere Applikationen zu erstellen, welche die Möglichkeit bieten, Daten mit einem extrem hohen Durchsatz, sowie einer sehr geringen Latenzzeit auszutauschen. Des Weiteren ist Kafka in der Lage, die Messages geordnet abzuspeichern und sogar anhand der gesammelten Messages einen bereits eingetretenen Applikationsstatus wieder nachzustellen. Durch die Verwendung von Clustern lässt sich Kafka sehr gut horizontal skalieren. Dies bedeutet, dass sich beispielsweise die Anzahl der Broker ohne Weiteres vergrössern können. Und obwohl hier schnell sehr grosse Datenmenge gespeichert werden (können), hat dies kein Einfluss auf die Geschwindigkeit von Kafka.

Ebenfalls lässt sich Kafka in unterschiedlichsten Bereichen verwenden. Dazu gehören:

  • Event-driven Architekturen
  • Event-Logging
  • Tracken von Webseiten Aktivitäten
  • Überwachung des Betriebs von Applikationen durch verschiedene Metriken
  • Aggregation & Sammlung von Logs
  • Verwalten von Protokollen über verteilte Systeme

Kafka Konzept

Falls Sie Kafka verwenden wollen ist es immer von Vorteil die wichtigsten Begriffe und die dazugehörige Funktion zu kennen.

Dabei fängt das Grundgerüst mit dem Kafka-Cluster an. Dieses beinhaltet verschiedene Broker Instanzen.

Broker

Der Broker ist dabei für die Koordination des Speichervorgangs sowie das Weiterleiten der Daten zuständig. Dabei wird ein Broker oft auch als Server oder Node bezeichnet.

Topic

Innerhalb des Brokers befindet sich das sogenannte Topic, welches Daten empfängt und innerhalb eines Kafka Clusters speichert. Dabei wird dieses in eine selbst konfigurierte Anzahl von Partitionen unterteilt.

Partitionen

Dies ist der eigentliche Ort, an dem die Messages gespeichert werden. Zudem ist es möglich, die Partitionen über mehrere Topics zu replizieren, um einen Datenverlust zu vermeiden. Wie bereits erwähnt, wird die Anzahl an Partitionen über den topic partition count selbst definiert.

Bei den Partitionen wird zusätzlich zwischen Leader und Follower unterschieden. Der Partition Leader ist für die Verarbeitung aller Producer Requests eines Topics zuständig. Der Partition Follower dagegen repliziert die Daten des Leaders. Auch dies kann über den replication factor selbst bestimmt werden. Optional ist es auch noch möglich, dass der Follower Consumer Requests verarbeiten kann.

Damit Kafka auch Daten hat, braucht es jemand der Daten sendet und einer der Daten liest.

Messages

Bei Messages handelt es sich um eine fachliche Transfereinheit, die Kafka verwaltet. Dabei bestehen diese Messages aus folgenden Punkten:

  • Timestamp: kann selbst durch den Producer gesetzt werden oder automatisch durch den Broker
  • Key: identifiziert die Ziel Partition
  • Value: durch den Producer definierten Payload
  • Header: enthält weitere Key-Value Paare

Offset

Das Offset bestimmt die Position einer Message innerhalb einer Partition. Dabei hat jede Message ein eindeutiges Offset. Deswegen kann überwacht werden, an welcher Position sich der Consumer befindet und wie viele Einträge bisher gelesen wurden.

Producer

Der Producer ist für den publish-Vorgang zuständig. Dies bedeutet er sendet Messages zu einem Broker Topic. Dabei wird die gesendete Nachricht immer nach dem letzten Offset einer Partition geschrieben. Wenn es mehrere Partitionen innerhalb eines Topics gibt, findet entweder das Round-Robin-Prinzip Anwendung oder anhand des Keys wird entschieden, in welches Topic geschrieben werden soll.

Consumer

Wo Nachrichten gespeichert werden, muss es auch die Möglichkeit bestehen, die Daten zu lesen. Dies geschieht durch einen subscribe-Vorgang. Das bedeutet ein Consumer 'abonniert' ein Topic aus dem er anhand der Partition und des Offsets die Nachrichten lesen kann.

Consumer Group

Consumer können mithilfe einer group.id in Gruppen unterteilt werden. Dabei können jedoch zwei Consumer nicht aus derselben Topic-Partition lesen. Dafür ist es jedoch möglich, dass ein Consumer aus mehreren Partitionen liest. Diese werden genutzt, um grosse Data-Streams zu teilen, welche durch mehrere Producers generiert werden.

Architektur

Nachdem wir uns nun die Grundlagen des Kafka Clusters angeschaut haben, geht es nun mit den nächsten Teilen weiter, welche Kafka vervollständigen.

Apache ZooKeeper

Bei ZooKeeper handelt es sich um eine Core-Dependency, welches selbst von Apache ist. Dabei handelt es sich um ein Cluster, welches replizierte ZooKeeper-Instanzen enthält. Als ein Koordinationsservice ist ZooKeeper dafür zuständig, den Status von Brokern und Consumer zu tracken und aber auch zu speichern. Ebenfalls kümmert es sich um die Leader Election der verschiedenen Partitionen.

Kafka Connect

Damit Sie Daten zwischen Kafka-Brokern und anderen Systemen austauschen können, bietet Apache hier ein Integrations Toolkit an. Dies können Sie mithilfe von sogenannten Connector-Plugins umsetzen. Dabei stellt Kafka Connect ein Framework zur Verfügung, damit Sie Kafka in externen Datenquellen wie beispielsweise in Datenbanken integrieren können. Dabei ist der Vorteil, dass externe Daten direkt in das passende Format übersetzt und transformiert werden.

Dabei gibt es den Source Connector, welcher externe Daten zu Kafka sendet. Und ebenso gibt es den Sink Connector, welcher Daten aus Kafka heraus extrahiert.

Kafka MirrorMaker

Der MirrorMaker ist verantwortlich, dass die Daten zwischen zwei Kafka-Clustern repliziert werden. Dabei wird zwischen einem Source-Kafka Cluster und einem Target-Kafka Cluster unterschieden.

Kafka Exporter

Dies ermöglicht Ihnen Daten als Prometheus Metriken zu Analyse zwecken zu extrahieren. Dazu gehören Informationen zu Offsets, Consumer-Gruppen und Consumer-Lags. Bei Letzterem handelt es sich um die Verzögerungszeit zwischen der letzten Nachricht innerhalb einer Partition und der Nachricht, die gerade von einem Consumer von dieser Partition abgeholt wird.

Kafka Bridge

Die Kafka Bridge bietet eine API zur Integration von HTTP-basierten Clients in ein Kafka Cluster.

Kafka Bridge Interface

Über die Bridge wird ein RESTful-Interface angeboten damit HTTP basierende Clients mit Kafka kommunizieren können. Dies erspart den Clients das Kafka Protocol übersetzen zu müssen. Dabei gibt es durch die API zwei Hauptresourcen, Consumers & Topics. Diese werden von 'aussen' über Endpunkte zugänglich gemacht, damit mit den Consumern und Producers innerhalb des Kafka Clusters kommuniziert werden kann.

HTTP Requests

Dabei werden die folgenden Request zur Verfügung gestellt:

  • Nachrichten in ein Topic senden
  • Nachrichten von einem Top erhalten
  • Erhalten einer Liste von Partitionen von einem Topic
  • Erstellen & löschen von Consumern
  • Abonnieren von Topics, um davon Nachrichten zu empfangen
  • Erhalten einer Liste von Topics, die ein Consumer abonniert
  • Abmelden von Topics
  • Partitionen einem Consumer zuweisen

Dabei können die Nachrichten entweder im JSON-Format oder im Binary-Format gesendet werden. Dadurch können Clients Nachrichten erstellen und lesen, produce & consume, ohne das Kafka-Protokoll verwenden zu müssen.

Ricky Elfner – Denker, Überlebenskünstler, Gadget-Sammler. Dabei ist er immer auf der Suche nach neuen Innovationen, sowie Tech News, um immer über aktuelle Themen schreiben zu können.