Stateless sessions thanks to JSON Web Tokens.

06.10.2021 Ricky Elfner
Cloud Mobile Tech Rust api golang distributed-systems java microservices

JSON Web Token, also known as JWT ([dʒɒt]), is used to exchange so-called claims. This is mainly used in the area of authentication for microservices and serves as an alternative to classic web cookies. JWT has also been an open and certified standard since May 2015 (RFC 7519).

What is a JWT?

For this we start with the basic principle of a token. In everyday life, this can be compared to an ID card and helps a person to identify themselves based on the entries on it. Objects that apply to authentication always come from a third and independent authority. This checks whether this information on a token, in this case the ID card, is correct. If this is the case, there is a signing.

This principle can also be applied to the digital world. Because the previously mentioned entries are called claims in the digital world. This procedure means that database queries are no longer necessary. Because the user receives a JWT after a successful login, which contains all important information about the user. This means that the session no longer has to be saved on the server and is therefore also called a stateless session.

What is JWS and JWE?

If you look at it closely, there is no pure JWT: Because it is either a JWS or a JWE. Because of this, the JWT is actually a kind of abstract class. JWS stands for JSON Web Signature and is an implementation of a JWT which is encrypted with a secret key. But an unsecured JWT is also a JWS, because the encryption algorithm is simply set to none.

On the other hand there is JWE, which stands for JSON Web Encryption. This topic will be considered separately below. This variant consists of a different structure compared to JWS.

However, these two additional definitions only apply as long as “compact serialization” is involved. Once we've discussed the basic structure of a JWT, we'll go into more detail about serialization.

Building a JWT

A JSON web token consists of three parts:

  • a header,
  • a payload,
  • and the signature.

The header

This is created as a JSON object and contains two key-value pairs. The first pair (alg) describes the algorithm used to encrypt the signature. Here, for example, the options RS256 or HS256 are available. However, you could also do without encryption, but this is not recommended under any circumstances. The second property typ always contains the hardcoded value JWT. This header is also known as the JOSE header. JOSE is the abbreviation for Javascript Object Signing and Encryption. The associated data structure looks like this:

{
  "alg": "HS256",
  "typ": "JWT"
}

The payload

This is also a JSON object, which now contains the actual information, the claims. There are some predefined claims that you can use, or you can create your own claims. The only claim that is really required is the subject claim (sub), which contains the user ID. The claims are divided into three categories, registered, public and private. The registered claim, registered, is the claim that has been pre-determined for all JWTs to be considered the default.

  • iss → issuer is the issuer of the JWt

  • aud → audience tells who this JWT was issued to

  • exp → expiration defines when the token expires

  • nbf → not before decides, but when the token is valid

  • iat → issued at time describes when the token was created

  • jti → JWT ID

There are also public claims, here developers can register various claims themselves in the IANA JSON Web Token Claims registry. This way you can be sure that there are no duplicate claims. And finally there are the private claims, which are usually used specifically for the application.

{
  "sub": "1234567890",
  "name": "b-nova",
  "admin": true,
  "iat": 1516239022
}

The signature

The signature is created by Base64 coding of the header and the payload, as well as the specified encryption method within the header. This JSON Web Signature (JWS) is also an RFC 7515 standardized standard.

The final signature is created as follows:

HMACSHA256(
  base64UrlEncode(header) + "." +
  base64UrlEncode(payload),
  secret)

The parts of the token are separated with a punk, since the point does not occur within a Base64 encoding. In this case, this output is generated:

eyJhbGciOiJIUzI1NiIsInR5cCI6IkpXVCJ9.
eyJzdWIiOiIxMjM0NTY3ODkwIiwibmFtZSI6ImItbm92YSIsImFkbWluIjp0cnVlLCJpYXQiOjE1MTYyMzkwMjJ9.
YDrKvpHj3s2B1Xm4SWQuFzs4fAkrUkDuyofBGdeQ27E

(Line breaks are inserted for better readability.)

With this format, it is now possible to pass on the JSON Web Token via the URL and exchange it between client and server.

JWS Compact Serialization vs. JWS JSON Serialization

The JWS Compact Serialization is the classic variant of a signed JWT. Because this is so compact that the token can be sent via the URL, for example. This consists of the three parts described above: header, payload, signature. This means that only one signature can be placed over the header and the payload.

With the JSON serialization variant, the previously described disadvantage is eliminated with only one signature. Because here it is possible to place several signatures over the same payload and header. However, this type has the disadvantage that it is no longer URL-safe. Also, due to the spelling used, this format is no longer very compact.

The structure is divided into 2 top-level parts, payload and signatures. The signatures part is in turn divided into three further parts protected, header and signature. The payload\ part is the complete JWS payload with a Base64 encoding.

{
  "payload": "eyJpc3MiOiJqb2UiLA0KICJleHAiOjEzMDA4MTkzODAsDQogImh0dHA6Ly9leGFtcGxlLmNvbS9pc19yb290Ijp0cnVlfQ",
  "signatures": [
    {
      "protected": "eyJhbGciOiJSUzI1NiJ9",
      "header": {
        "kid": "2010-12-29"
      },
      "signature": "cC4hiUPoj9Eetdgtv3hF80EGrhuB__dzERat0XF9g2VtQgr9PJbu3XOiZj5RZmh7AAuHIm4Bh-0Qc_lF5YKt_O8W2Fp5jujGbds9uJdbF9CUAr7t1dnZcAcQjbKBYNX4BAynRFdiuB--f_nZLgrnbyTyWzO5vRK5h6xBArLIARNPvkSjtQBMHlb1L07Qe7K0GarZRmB_eSN9383LcOLn6_dO--xi12jzDwusC-OkHWEsqtFZESc6BfI7noOPqvhJ1phCnvWh6IeYI2w9QOYEUipUTI8np6LbgGY9Fs98rqVt5AXLIhWkWywlVmtVrBp0igcN_IoypGlUPQGe77Rw"
    },
    {
      "protected": "eyJhbGciOiJFUzI1NiJ9",
      "header": {
        "kid": "e9bc097a-ce51-4036-9562-d2ade882db0d"
      },
      "signature": "DtEhU3ljbEg8L38VWAfUAqOyKAM6-Xx-F4GawxaepmXFCgfTjDxw5djxLa8ISlSApmWQxfKTUJqPP3-Kg6NU1Q"
    }
  ]
}

The protected attribute corresponds to the header within a signatures object, also in Base64 coding.

Cookies VS. JWT

The traditional way

First, the user logs in via the browser with his credentials, such as the e-mail address and the password. This is then sent to the server using a POST method. This server receives the data and checks whether they are correct. This server is therefore responsible for the authentication, it must also save the current session on the server and send the user a corresponding session ID as a cookie. If the user now makes another page call, this must also send the corresponding session ID cookie. The server then has to go back and check whether there is a session with the sent ID. If so, the server sends the appropriate response to the client.

The modern way

Here, too, the process begins with the user logging in by sending their credentials. But here comes the difference to the previous variant, because nothing is stored on the server here. Because the server now creates a signed JWT with its own secret key. This JWT is now sent back to the user's browser. If the user now sends a new request to the server, it must also send the JWT. The server uses the secret key to check whether the token is still valid or not. If this is valid, the token can be deserialized and the corresponding user information is now available to the server without having to save it. This now offers the advantage that the JWT can now be used on different servers if the secret key is shared. This saves the user another login and the second server does not have to save an additional session.

Benefits of JWT

Once you start using JWTs, it is no longer necessary to save a session on the server, so you can save a lot of storage space. Because instead of saving this, the necessary information is supplied with every request and the token is verified again. The server only has to store the secret key in order to check the validity of the token or to create new tokens.

Since there are already implementations for all common programming languages, JWTs can be used quickly in your own applications. These languages include, for example, Go, Java, Rust, JavaScript or Python.

As you could already see from the structure, this is a very minimal amount of necessary content to enable very reliable authentication. By reducing the overall network overhead, performance can be significantly increased here.

Because there is the possibility of creating your own/private claims, JWT is very versatile and can be used not restricted to specific areas of application.

JWT Transport

Although JSON WebTokens is a defined standard, it does not define how a JWT should be transmitted. In most cases this is done over HTTP using the Authorization Bearer header. The same principle is also used with OAuth 2.0. As soon as one speaks of a bearer token, this means that the owner can use this token without proving his ownership. Therefore, the transmission should always be encrypted.

Construction of a JWE

Again, this is a token, which is again separated by dots, but consists of five parts. Since this is a slightly broader topic, we'll just briefly look at how it's set up.

JOSE header

This has the same structure as the content of a JWS header before. However, there are now two new elements that can be added. The first element is enc and specifies the content encryption algorithm. The second element anc defines the encryption algorithm for the content encryption key (CEK).

JWE Encrypted Key

The content of this field is encrypted with the recipient's key.

JWE initialization vector

This is a randomly generated number that is used with the secret key to encrypt the data.

JWE Ciphertext

This is the actual encrypted payload. This is created using the Content Encryption Key (CEK), JWE initialization vector and the Additional Authentication Data (AAD) value. The encryption algorithm is determined by the enc defined in the header.

JWE Authentication Tag

The authentication tag is used for an integrity check.

Conclusion

Since JWT is now very common and offers a preferred variant over the traditional session ID cookies, you should definitely deal with this topic. But since JWT can be very versatile due to the different variants, it is important to know the differences.


This text was automatically translated with our golang markdown translator.

Ricky Elfner - thinker, survivor, gadget collector. He is always on the lookout for new innovational potentials, as well as tech news, so that he can always write about current topics.

Stateless Sessions dank JSON Web Tokens.

06.10.2021 Ricky Elfner
Cloud Mobile Tech Rust api golang distributed-systems java microservices

JSON Web Token oder auch JWT ([dʒɒt]) genannt, werden für den Austausch von sogenannten Claims verwendet. Dies findet vor allem Anwendung im Bereich der Authentifizierung bei Mirco-Services und dienen als eine Alternative zu den klassischen Webcookies. JWT ist seit Mai 2015 auch ein offener und zertifizierter Standard(RFC 7519).

Was ist ein JWT?

Dafür beginnen wir zunächst einmal bei dem Grundprinzip eines Tokens. Dieser ist im Alltag mit einem Personalausweis vergleichbar und hilft einer Person, sich anhand der Einträge, die darin stehen, zu identifizieren. Dabei stammen Objekte, die der Authentifizierung gelten, immer von einer dritten und unabhängigen Instanz. Diese überprüft, ob diese Information auf einem Token, in diesem Fall der Personalausweis, korrekt sind. Wenn dies der Fall ist, gibt es eine Signierung.

Dieses Prinzip lässt sich auch auf die digitale Welt anwenden. Denn die zuvor erwähnten Einträgen werden in der digitalen Welt als Claims genannt. Durch dieses Verfahren ist nun keine Datenbankabfrage mehr nötig. Denn der Benutzer erhält nach einem erfolgreichen Login einen JWT, welcher alle wichtigen Informationen über den User enthält. Somit muss die Sitzung nicht mehr auf dem Server gespeichert werden und wird deshalb auch Stateless Session genannt.

Was ist JWS und JWE?

Wenn man es genau betrachtet, gibt es kein reinen JWT: Denn entweder handelt sich um ein JWS oder um ein JWE. Aus diesem Grund ist der JWT eigentlich eine Art abstrakte Klasse. JWS steht für JSON Web Signature und ist eine Implementation eines JWTs welches mit einem Secret Key verschlüsselt wird. Aber auch bei einem ungesicherten JWT handelt es sich um ein JWS, denn dabei ist der Verschlüsselung Algorithmus einfach auf none gesetzt.

Auf der anderen Seite gibt es dann noch JWE, was für JSON Web Encryption steht. Dieses Thema werden weitere unten separat betrachten. Des diese Variante besteht aus einem anderen Aufbau im Vergleich zu JWS.

Diese beiden zusätzlichen Definitionen gelten jedoch nur, solange es sich um “compact serialization” handelt. Sobald der grundlegende Aufbau eines JWTs besprochen wurde, werden wir auf den Punkt serialization näher eingehen.

Aufbau eines JWTs

Ein JSON Web Token besteht dabei aus drei Teilen:

  • einem Header,
  • einem Payload,
  • und der Signatur.

Der Header

Dieser wird als JSON-Objekt erstellt und enthält zwei Key-Value-Paare. Das erste Paar (alg) beschreibt den Algorithmus, mit dem die Signatur verschlüsselt wird. Hier stehen beispielsweise die Möglichkeiten RS256 oder HS256 zu Verfügung. Dabei könnten Sie jedoch auch auf eine Verschlüsselung verzichten, was jedoch auf keinen Fall zu empfehlen ist. Die zweite Property typ enthält immer hardcoded den Wert JWT. Dieser Header ist auch als JOSE-Header bekannt. Dabei ist JOSE die Abkürzung für Javascript Object Signing and Encryption. Die dazugehörige Datenstruktur sieht wie folgt aus:

{
  "alg": "HS256",
  "typ": "JWT"
}

Der Payload

Hier handelt es sich ebenfalls um ein JSON-Objekt, welches jedoch nun die eigentlichen Informationen, die Claims, enthält. Dabei gibt es einige vordefinierten Claims, die Sie verwenden können, oder Sie erstellen sich eigene Claims. Das einzige Claim welches wirklich benötigt, ist das Subject-Claim (sub), welches die User Id enthält.
Dabei werden die Claims in drei Kategorien unterteilt, registered, public und private.
Bei den registrierten Claim, registered, handelt es sich um die Claims, welche im Vorfeld für alle JWTs festgelegt wurde, um als standardmässig zu gelten.

  • iss → bei dem issuer handelt es sich um den Aussteller des JWts

  • aud → audience gibt Auskunft darüber, für wen dieser JWT ausgestellt wurde

  • exp → expiration definiert, wann der Token abläuft

  • nbf → not before beschliesst, aber welchem Zeitpunkt der Token gilt

  • iat → issued at time beschreibt, wann der Token erstellt wurde

  • jti → JWT ID

Zudem gibt es die Public Claims, hier können Entwickler verschieden Claims in der IANA JSON Web Token Claims registry selbst registrieren lassen. Dadurch kann man sich sicher sein, dass es keine doppelten Claims gibt. Und zum Schluss gibt es noch die privaten Claims, welche meistens spezifisch für die Anwendung genutzt werden.

{
  "sub": "1234567890",
  "name": "b-nova",
  "admin": true,
  "iat": 1516239022
}

Die Signatur

Die Signatur wird durch eine Base64-Kodierung des Headers und des Payloads, sowie der angegebenen Verschlüsselungsmethode innerhalb des Headers erstellt. Diese JSON Web Signature (JWS) ist ebenfalls ein RFC 7515 genormter Standard.

Die endgültige Signatur wird wie folgt erstellt:

HMACSHA256(
  base64UrlEncode(header) + "." +
  base64UrlEncode(payload),
  secret)

Dabei werden die Teile des Tokens mit Punk getrennt, da der Punkt nicht innerhalb einer Base64-Kodierung vorkommt. In diesem Fall wird dieser Output generiert:

eyJhbGciOiJIUzI1NiIsInR5cCI6IkpXVCJ9.
eyJzdWIiOiIxMjM0NTY3ODkwIiwibmFtZSI6ImItbm92YSIsImFkbWluIjp0cnVlLCJpYXQiOjE1MTYyMzkwMjJ9.
YDrKvpHj3s2B1Xm4SWQuFzs4fAkrUkDuyofBGdeQ27E

(Die Zeilenumbrüche, wurden nur aus Leserlichkeit hinzugefügt.)

Durch dieses Format ist es nun möglich den JSON Web Token über die URL weiterzugeben und zwischen Client und Server ausgetauscht werden.

JWS Compact Serialization vs. JWS JSON Serialization

Bei der JWS Compact Serialization handelt es sich um die klassische Variante eines signierten JWT. Denn diese ist so kompakte, dass der Token beispielsweise über die URL versendet werden kann. Dieser besteht aus den zuvor beschriebenen drei Teilen: Header, Payload, Signature. Somit kann hier ist nur eine Signatur über den Header und den Payload gelegt werden.

Bei JSON Serialization Variante wird der zuvor beschriebene Nachteil mit nur einer Signatur behoben. Denn hier mit ist es möglich, über denselben Payload und Header mehrere Signaturen zu legen. Durch diese Art hat man jedoch den Nachteil das dies nicht mehr URL-safe ist. Ebenfalls durch die verwendete Schreibweise ist dieses Format auch nicht mehr sehr kompakt.

Dabei ist der Aufbau in 2 Top-Level Teile, payload und signatures unterteilt. Der signatures Teil ist wiederum in drei weitere Teile protected, header und signature aufgeteilt. Bei dem payload-Teil handelt es sich um den komplett JWS-Payload mit einer Base64-Kodierung.

{
  "payload": "eyJpc3MiOiJqb2UiLA0KICJleHAiOjEzMDA4MTkzODAsDQogImh0dHA6Ly9leGFtcGxlLmNvbS9pc19yb290Ijp0cnVlfQ",
  "signatures": [
    {
      "protected": "eyJhbGciOiJSUzI1NiJ9",
      "header": {
        "kid": "2010-12-29"
      },
      "signature": "cC4hiUPoj9Eetdgtv3hF80EGrhuB__dzERat0XF9g2VtQgr9PJbu3XOiZj5RZmh7AAuHIm4Bh-0Qc_lF5YKt_O8W2Fp5jujGbds9uJdbF9CUAr7t1dnZcAcQjbKBYNX4BAynRFdiuB--f_nZLgrnbyTyWzO5vRK5h6xBArLIARNPvkSjtQBMHlb1L07Qe7K0GarZRmB_eSN9383LcOLn6_dO--xi12jzDwusC-OkHWEsqtFZESc6BfI7noOPqvhJ1phCnvWh6IeYI2w9QOYEUipUTI8np6LbgGY9Fs98rqVt5AXLIhWkWywlVmtVrBp0igcN_IoypGlUPQGe77Rw"
    },
    {
      "protected": "eyJhbGciOiJFUzI1NiJ9",
      "header": {
        "kid": "e9bc097a-ce51-4036-9562-d2ade882db0d"
      },
      "signature": "DtEhU3ljbEg8L38VWAfUAqOyKAM6-Xx-F4GawxaepmXFCgfTjDxw5djxLa8ISlSApmWQxfKTUJqPP3-Kg6NU1Q"
    }
  ]
}

Das Attribut protected entspricht dabei dem Header innerhalb eines signatures-Objekt, ebenfalls in einer Base64-Kodierung.

Cookies VS. JWT

Der traditionelle Weg

Zunächst logt sich der User über den Browser mit seinen Credentials, wie der Mailadresse und dem Passwort ein. Dieses wird anschliessend mit einer POST-Methode an den Server gesendet. Dieser Server nimmt die Daten entgegen und überprüft, ob diese korrekt sind. Somit ist dieser Server für die Authentifizierung zuständig, ebenfalls muss dieser die aktuelle Session auf dem Server speichern und dem User eine entsprechende Session Id als Cookie zurücksenden. Macht der User nun einen weiteren Seitenaufruf muss dieser den entsprechenden Session Id Cookie mitsenden. Der Server muss anschliessend wieder hingehen und überprüfen, ob es eine Session mit der mitgesendeten Id gibt. Wenn dies der Fall ist, sendet der Server die entsprechende Antwort an den Client.

Der moderne Weg

Auch hier beginnt der Ablauf mit dem Login des Users indem er seine Credentials sendet. Doch hier kommt nun der Unterschied zu der vorherigen Variante, denn hier wird nichts auf dem Server gespeichert. Denn der Server erstellt hier nun eine signiertes JWT mit seinem eigenen Secret Key. Dieses JWT wird nun zurück an den Browser des Users gesendet. Wenn der User nun eine neue Anfrage an den Server sendet, muss dieser den JWT mitsenden. Der Server überprüft mittels des Secret Keys, ob der Token noch gültig ist oder nicht. Wenn dieser gültig ist, kann der Token deserialisiert werden und die entsprechenden User-Informationen liegen dem Server nun vor, ohne diese abgespeichert zu haben. Diese bietet nun den Vorteil, dass der JWT nun auf verschiedenen Server verwendet werde kann, wenn der Secret Key geteilt wird. Somit erspart sich der User einen weiteren Login und der zweite Server muss nicht noch eine zusätzliche Session speichern.

Vorteile von JWT

Sobald man JWTs verwendet, ist es nicht mehr nötig, eine Session auf dem Server zu speichern, somit lässt sich eine Menge an Speicherkapazitäten sparen. Denn anstatt diese zu speichern, werden die notwendigen Informationen bei jedem Request wieder mitgeliefert und der Token wird neu verifiziert. Der Server muss dabei nur den Secret Key speichern, um den Token auf seine Gültigkeit zu überprüfen oder um neue Tokens zu erstellen.

Da es für alle gängigen Programmiersprachen bereits Implementierungen gibt, können JWTs in der eigenen Anwendungen schnell verwendet werden. Zu diesen Sprachen gehören beispielsweise Go, Java, Rust, JavaScript oder Python.

Wie Sie bereits anhand des Aufbaus sehen konnten, handelt es sich hier um eine sehr minimal Menge an notwendigen Inhalten, um eine sehr zuverlässige Authentifizierung zu ermöglichen. Durch die Reduzierung des gesamten Netzwerk-Overhead kann hier deutlich an Performance gewonnen werden.

Dadurch das es die Möglichkeit gibt, eigene/ private Claims zu erstellen, ist JWT sehr vielseitig einsetzbar und ist nicht auf bestimmte Einsatzgebiete festgelegt.

JWT Transport

Obwohl es sich bei JSON WebTokens um einen definierten Standard handelt, wird nicht definiert, wie ein JWT übertragen werden soll. Bei in den meisten Fällen wir dies über HTTP mittels des Authorization Bearer header gemacht. Dasselbe Prinzip wird bei OAuth 2.0 ebenfalls verwendet. Sobald man von einem bearer Token redet, bedeutet dies, dass der Besitzer diesen Token verwenden kann, ohne seinen Besitz zu beweisen. Deshalb sollte die Übertragung immer verschlüsselt vollzogen werden.

Aufbau eines JWE

Auch hier handelt es sich wieder um einen Token, welcher wieder durch Punkte getrennt wird, jedoch aus fünf Teilen besteht. Da es sich hier um ein etwas umfassenderes Thema handelt, werden wir und nur in kürze den Aufbau anschauen.

JOSE header

Dieser ist gleich aufgebaut wie zuvor der Inhalt eines JWS Header. Jedoch gibt es nun hier noch zwei neue Elemente, die hinzugefügt werden können. Das erste Element ist enc und legt den content encryption algorithm fest. Das zweite Element anc definiert den Verschlüsselungs-Algorithmus für den Content Encryption Key (CEK).

JWE Encrypted Key

Der Inhalt dieses Feldes wird mit dem Key des Empfängers verschlüsselt.

JWE initialization vector

Dabei handelt es sich um eine zufällig erstellte Zahl, welche mit dem Secret Key verwendet wird, um die Daten zu verschlüsseln.

JWE Ciphertext

Dies ist der eigentlich verschlüsselte Payload. Dieser wird erstellt mittels des Content Encryption Key (CEK), JWE initialization vector und dem Additional Authentication Data (AAD) Wert. Der Verschlüsselung Algorithmus ist dabei durch den im Header Definierten enc festgelegt.

JWE Authentication Tag

Für eine Integritätsprüfung wird das Authentication Tag verwendet.

Fazit

Da JWT mittlerweile sehr verbreitet ist und eine bevorzugte Variante gegenüber der traditionellen Session ID Cookies bietet, sollte man sich auf jeden Fall mit diesem Thema auseinandersetzten. Da aber JWT durch die unterschiedlichen Varianten doch sehr vielseitig sein kann, ist es wichtig, die Unterschiede zu kennen.

Ricky Elfner – Denker, Überlebenskünstler, Gadget-Sammler. Dabei ist er immer auf der Suche nach neuen Innovationen, sowie Tech News, um immer über aktuelle Themen schreiben zu können.