This is how headless CMS works with JAMstack

05.05.2021 Raffael Schneider
CMS Cloud Tech headless api arch microservices handson

We at b-nova are already using a headless CMS solution and have already roughly described its architecture in our article Headless CMS by Stefan. The basic idea of a headless CMS is the decoupling of the content from the content-managing application. On the one hand, the content is produced and managed in a predefined form; on the other hand, one or more applications consume the content and bring it into the appropriate format for the respective use case.

Nowadays, content is placed on a wide variety of platforms such as LinkedIn, Twitter or digital advertising space, with a decoupled Headless CMS \ solution, the content is then recorded once. This shifts the role of the CMS software and its requirements. Today we look at a new implementation of a headless CMS and dare to look forward to the so-called JAMstack, an infrastructure paradigm that further thinks the idea of headless CMS.

Git-based headless CMS

The b-nova blog already uses a Git-based headless CMS. The content you are currently reading is versioned in a Git repository in Markdown format. Via an API we can synchronize the content on the Git repo according to Magnolia CMS (our CMS of choice). Magnolia CMS acts as a front end that provides the content to the end user. But there are other, more consistent ways of implementing a headless CMS.

A distinction is made between API-based and Git-based implementation of a headless CMS.

Git-based solutions have the advantage that the application code and the content are managed in a Git repository and are accordingly versioned. This allows you to use all the advantages of a version management. This not only makes the entire application, including its content, more transparent, but it is also relatively easy to roll out an older version. This gives you better control over the administrative process over the entire development and maintenance cycles.

Static Site Generators

An optimal format for content maintenance is Markdown. Markdown allows you to write texts with an easily understandable markup syntax and to provide them with rudimentary formatting elements. Markdown looks like this as an example:

# An h1 header

Paragraphs are separated by a blank line.

2nd paragraph. *Italic*, **bold**, and `monospace`. Itemized lists
look like:

  * this one
  * that one
  * the other one

Note that --- not considering the asterisk --- the actual text
content starts at 4-columns in.

> Block quotes are
> written like so.
>
> They can span multiple paragraphs,
> if you like.

Use 3 dashes for an em-dash. Use 2 dashes for ranges (ex., "it's all
in chapters 12--14"). Three dots ... will be converted to an ellipsis.
Unicode is supported. ☺

To get markdown content in an appropriate web-compatible format there are Static Site Generators, SSG for short. These enable individual HTML / CSS duos or full-fledged websites to be generated. In an SSG you can still use dynamic variables in the content, which replace these with the corresponding value when the static website is generated. In fact, all the pages that are needed are created statically. SSG also support front-end JavaScript frameworks, which enable a dynamic website despite static content.

We're looking at two of these Static Site Generators: Hugo and Gatsby.

Hugo

Hugo is one of these static site generators. Hugo is - as the name suggests - written in Go and thus assembles the static resources in a very time-efficient manner. Since this is just a simple binary, the whole process is correspondingly transparent. Accordingly, Hugo is also easy to install. On macOS it is easy to do with Brew as follows:

$ ❯ brew install hugo

To illustrate, you can check out a Quickstart \ repo locally and have it built with Hugo. A simple execution of the hugo \ command in the corresponding project directory would be sufficient. But here we will expose the generated resources locally with the flag server -D.

$ ❯ https://github.com/b-nova-techhub/hugo-quickstart.git
$ ❯ hugo server -D

You can then call up the locally hosted website under http://localhost:1313/. A simple black and white landing page should be visible. The generated resources are in the project directory under public/.

With hugo new we can easily generate another empty content page, here my-second-post.md.

$ ❯ hugo new posts/my-second-post.md

This new page is in Markdown format. You can adjust this directly under posts/ and have it rebuilt using the hugo \ command. If the page is exposed via server -D, the page will be rebuilt and reloaded immediately if changes are made.

The first post under posts/ looks like this. Please note the header, which defines the metadata of the content. At Hugo, this header can be expanded as required.

---
title: "My First Post"
date: 2021-03-15T14:10:23+01:00
draft: true
---
Lorem Ipsum

Gatsby

Gatsby is just like Hugo also another static content generator. In contrast to Hugo, Gatsby offers React a full-fledged frontend stack. There is also a separate command for Gatsby which can be installed with npm:

$ ❯ npm install -g gatsby-cli

Here, too, you can have a sample repo checked out quickly and easily in order to be able to build something quickly:

$ ❯ git checkout https://github.com/b-nova-techhub/gatsby-starter-netlify-cms
$ ❯ npm install
$ ❯ gatsby build
$ ❯ gatsby develop

Because Gatsby includes a full-fledged front-end stack, the project directory is correspondingly more complex.

JAMstack

JAMstack is a new software architecture that is suitable for e-commerce, SaaS, or pure CMS sites. It was Matt Biilmann from Netlify who made the serverless concept and the architecture of JAMstack suitable for the masses.

The idea is that websites make more efficient use of the new cloud and CDN possibilities in order to ensure higher performance, availability, scalability and transparency. The focus is on the Git workflow of application code and content and the roll-out of static, prefabricated resources on CDNs. The server-less infrastructure is supplemented by the smallest possible APIs that provide dynamic functionalities. The JAM in JAMstack stands for JavaScript, APIs and Markup and can be defined as follows:

  • JavaScript:
  • APIs:
  • Markup:

The basic architecture

A JAMstack basically has the following components:

  • Git repository for content

  • Git repositories for the application codebases (microservices, API connection, SSG configuration)

  • Git-enabled CMS editor

  • SSG with / without frontend framework

  • Microservices, Lambdas, API connections (in the cloud)

  • external APIs (checkout, authentication, schedulers)

  • CDN or ADN (Application Delivery Network)

The interaction results in a JAMstack that manages the entire life cycle of content elements efficiently and in a cloud-compatible manner and makes it available to the end user with modern technologies. A generic implementation of a JAMstack can look like the one shown in the diagram below.

Key concepts required for the successful implementation of a JAMstack are listed as follows, among others:

  • Overall project on the CDN / CDA

  • Modern build tools

  • Automated Builds

  • Atomic Deployments

  • Instant Cache Invalidation

It goes without saying that the technologies used in the JAMstack are decisive for success. There are now a large number of individual components that can be used with one another as required. You quickly lose track of things if you don't know the technical properties of the individual components and the requirements for the entire JAMstack-enabled infrastructure.

Netlify

Netlify is a cloud service provider that specializes in the development of & deployment of web applications with static content. Matt Biilmann also co-designed the idea of the JAMstack. With Netlify CMS Netlify offers a complete solution of a Git-based headless CMS.

The content can be maintained with the CMS editor. This is managed in a versioned manner via a Git repository (you can choose from GitHub, Bitbucket or other repo hosters) and, in the event of changes, triggers the entire build process according to modern CI / CD in order to roll out the entire web application.

I have set up a test account to look at the functionalities of Netlify. Here you can see the dashboard on which you manage the endpoint of the application and the deployments.

The content editor, called the Netlify CMS Editor, looks like this here. Preconfigured fields are titled and the content is saved in the repository with Markdown.

Next steps

There's a lot more to say about Headless CMS and JAMstack. If we have piqued your interest, please let us know. With a JAMstack you are not only leaner and more cost-efficient on the go, you also offer the user a better UX experience. Stay tuned!

Additional links and resources

https://jamstack.org/

https://jamstackconf.com/

https://www.netlify.com/blog/


This text was automatically translated with our golang markdown translator.

Raffael Schneider – crafter, disruptor, free spirit. As a fervent software craftsmanship, Raffael likes to write about programming languages and software resilience in modern distributed systems. Be it DevOps, SRE or systems architecture, he always got a new way of approaching things.

So geht Headless-CMS mit JAMstack

05.05.2021 Raffael Schneider
CMS Cloud Tech Headless API Architecture Microservices Hands-on

Wir bei b-nova haben bereits eine Headless CMS-Lösung im Einsatz und haben dessen Architektur in unserem Beitrag Headless CMS von Stefan bereits grob umschrieben. Die Grundidee bei einem Headless CMS ist es dabei die Entkoppelung des Contents von der Content-verwaltenden Applikation. Einerseits wird der Content in einer vordefinierten Form produziert und verwaltet, andererseits konsumieren eine oder mehrere Applikationen den Content und bringen diesen in das entsprechende Format des jeweiligen Use-Cases.

Content wird heutzutage auf unterschiedlichsten Plattformen wie beispielsweise LinkedIn, Twitter oder digitalen Werbeflächen platziert, bei einem entkoppelter Headless CMS-Lösung wird dann einmalig der Content erfasst. Somit verschiebt sich die Rolle der CMS-Software und deren Anforderungen. Heute schauen wir uns eine neuartige Implementation eines Headless CMS an und wagen einen Ausblick auf den sogenannten JAMstack, ein Infrastruktur-Paradigma das die Idee von Headless CMS weiterdenkt.

Git-based headless CMS

Der b-nova-Blog nutzt bereits eine Git-basierendes Headless CMS. Der Inhalt den Sie gerade lesen ist in einer Git-Repository im Markdown-Format versioniert abgelegt. Über eine API lösen können wir die Synchronisierung des Contents auf der Git-Repo nach Magnolia CMS (unseres CMS der Wahl) vornehmen. Dabei fungiert Magnolia CMS als Frontend, das den Content dem Endnutzer bereitstellt. Es gibt aber weitere, konsequentere Arten wie man ein Headless CMS umsetzen kann.

Man unterscheidet zwischen API-basierenden und Git-basierenden Implementation von einem Headless CMS.

Git-basierende Lösungen haben den Vorteil, dass der Applikationscode, sowie der Content in einer Git-Repository verwaltet werden und dementsprechend versioniert sind. Dadurch kann man all die Vorteile einer Versionsverwaltung nutzt. Somit wird die ganze Anwendung inklusive Inhalt nicht nur transparenter, sondern man kann mit relativ bequem einen älteren Stand wieder ausrollen lassen. Dabei hat man eine bessere Kontrolle über den Verwaltungsprozess über den ganzen Entwicklungs- und Pflegezyklen.

Static Site Generators

Ein optimales Format für Content-Pflege ist Markdown. Markdown erlaubt mit einer einfachverständlichem Markup-Syntax Texte zu verfassen und diese mit rudimentären Formatierungselemente zu versehen. Markdown sieht beispielhaft wie folgt aus:

An h1 header
============

Paragraphs are separated by a blank line.

2nd paragraph. *Italic*, **bold**, and `monospace`. Itemized lists
look like:

  * this one
  * that one
  * the other one

Note that --- not considering the asterisk --- the actual text
content starts at 4-columns in.

> Block quotes are
> written like so.
>
> They can span multiple paragraphs,
> if you like.

Use 3 dashes for an em-dash. Use 2 dashes for ranges (ex., "it's all
in chapters 12--14"). Three dots ... will be converted to an ellipsis.
Unicode is supported. ☺

Um Markdown-Content in ein entsprechendes Web-fähiges Format zu bekommen gibt es Static Site Generators, kurz SSG. Diese ermöglichen es einzelne HTML/CSS-Duos oder vollwertige Webseiten mit zu erzeugen. In einem SSG kann man weiterhin dynamische Variablen in den Content verwenden, die bei der Generierung der statische Webseite diese durch den entsprechenden Wert ersetzen. Tatsächlich werden alle Seiten statisch erstellt, die gebraucht werden. SSG unterstützen auch Frontend-seitige JavaScript-Frameworks, die eine dynamische Webseite trotz statischem Content ermöglichen.

Wir schauen uns zwei dieser Static Site Generators an: Hugo und Gatsby.

Hugo

Hugo ist einer dieser Static Site Generators. Hugo ist –wie der Namen bereits vermuten lässt– in Go geschrieben und baut dadurch sehr zeiteffizient die statischen Ressourcen zusammen. Da es sich dabei um nur eine einfach Binary handelt, ist der ganze Vorgang entsprechend transparent. Hugo ist dementsprechend auch einfach zu installieren. Auf Mac OS geht das einfach mit Brew wie folgt:

$ ❯ brew install hugo

Zur Veranschaulichung kann man sich eine Quickstart-Repo lokal auschecken und mit Hugo bauen lassen. Dabei würde ein einfaches Ausführen des hugo-Befehls im entsprechenden Projektverzeichnis genügen. Wir werden hier aber mit dem Flag server -D die generierten Ressourcen lokal exponieren.

$ ❯ https://github.com/raffaelschneider/hugo-quickstart.git
$ ❯ hugo server -D

Unter http://localhost:1313/ kann man sich dann die lokal gehostete Webseite aufrufen. Eine einfache schwarzweisse Landing Page sollte dabei ersichtlich sein. Die generierten Ressources liegen im Projektverzeichnis unter public/.

Mit hugo new können wir uns ganz bequem eine weitere leere Content-Seite, hier my-second-post.md, generieren lassen.

$ ❯ hugo new posts/my-second-post.md

Diese neue Seite liegt im Markdown-Format vor. Man kann diese direkt unter posts/ anpassen und per hugo-Befehl neu bauen lassen. Falls die Seite per server -D exponiert wird, wird bei Änderungen die Seite direkt neu gebaut und geladen.

Der erste Post unter posts/ sieht wie folgt aus. Zu beachten gilt der Header, der die Metadaten des Contents definieren. Dieser Header ist bei Hugo beliebig erweiterbar.

---
title: "My First Post"
date: 2021-03-15T14:10:23+01:00
draft: true
---
Lorem Ipsum

Gatsby

Gatsby ist genau wie Hugo auch ein weiterer Static Content Generator. Gatsby bietet aber im Gegensatz zu Hugo mit React einen vollwertigen Frontend-Stack. Auch für Gatsby gibt es ein eigenes Befehl welcher mit npm installiert werden kann:

$ ❯ npm install -g gatsby-cli

Auch hierfür kann man sich ganz schnell und einfach eine Beispiels-Repo auschecken lassen um schnell was bauen zu können:

$ ❯ git checkout https://github.com/raffaelschneider/gatsby-starter-netlify-cms
$ ❯ npm install
$ ❯ gatsby build
$ ❯ gatsby develop

Weil Gatsby einen vollwertigen Frontend-Stack mitliefert ist auch das Projektverzeichnis entsprechend komplexer.

JAMstack

JAMstack ist eine neuwertige Software-Architektur, die sich für e-Commerce, SaaS-, oder reine CMS-Seiten eignet. Es war Matt Biilmann von Netlify, der das serverlose Konzept und die dazupassende Architektur von JAMstack massentauglich machte.

Die Idee dabei ist, dass Webseiten die neuen Cloud- und CDN-Möglichkeiten effizienter ausschöpfen um mit für höhere Performance, Verfügbarkeit, Skalierbarkeit und Transparenz zu sorgen. Dabei steht der Git-Workflow von Applikationscode und Content und das Ausrollen von statischem, vorgefertigten Ressourcen auf CDNs im Vordergrund. Ergänzt wird die Server-lose Infrastruktur durch kleinstmögliche APIs, die dynamische Funktionalitäten zur Verfügung stellen. Das JAM in JAMstack steht für JavaScript, APIs und Markup und kann wie folgt definiert werden:

  • JavaScript :

  • APIs :

  • Markup :

Die Grundarchitektur

Ein JAMstack hat grundsätzlich folgende Komponenten:

  • Git-Repository für Content

  • Git-Repositories für die Applikations-Codebases (Microservices, API-Anbindungen, SSG-Konfigurationen)

  • Git-fähiger CMS-Editor

  • SSG mit/ohne Frontend-Framework

  • Microservices, Lambdas, API-Anbindungen (in der Cloud)

  • externe APIs (Checkout, Authentifizierung, Schedulers)

  • CDN oder ADN (Application Delivery Network)

Im Zusammenspiel ergibt sich ein JAMstack, der den ganzen Lebenszyklus von Inhaltselementen effizient und Cloud-fähig verwaltet und dem Endnutzer mit modernen Technologien zur Verfügung stellt. Eine generische Implementierung eines JAMstack kann wie unten im Diagram dargestellt aussehen.

Schlüsselkonzepte die für die erfolgreiche Implementierung eines JAMstacks erforderlich sind unter anderem wie folgt aufgelistet:

  • Gesamtprojekt auf der CDN / CDA

  • Moderne Build-Tools

  • Automatisierte Builds

  • Atomische Deployments

  • Instant Cache Invalidation

Selbstverständlich ist es erfolgsentscheidend welche Technologien im JAMstack eingesetzt werden. Es gibt mittlerweile eine Vielzahl von Einzelkomponenten die beliebig miteinander genutzt werden können. Man verliert dabei schnell den Überblick wenn man nicht die technischen Eigenschaften der einzelnen Komponenten sowie die Anforderungen an die ganze JAMstack-fähige Infrastruktur kennt.

Netlify

Netifly ist ein Cloud-Service Provider, der sich auf das Development & Deployment von Web-Applikationen mit statischen Content spezialisiert hat. Matt Biilmann hat auch die Idee vom JAMstack mitkonzipiert. Netifly bietet mit Netifly CMS eine Komplettlösung eines Git-basierendenes Headless CMS.

Mit dem CMS Editor kann man den Content pflegen. Dieser wird über eine Git-Repository (die man wahlweise bei GitHub, Bitbucket oder anderen Repositories) versioniert verwaltet und stösst bei Änderungen den ganzen Build-Prozess gemäss modernem CI/CD an, um die ganze Webapplikationen auszurollen zu lassen.

Ich habe mir einen Versuchsaccount eingerichtet um mir die Funktionalitäten von Netifly anzuschauen. Hier sieht man das Dashboard worauf man den Endpunkt der Applikation, sowie die Deployments verwaltet.

Der Content-Editor, genannt Netifly CMS Editor sieht hier wie folgt aus. Dabei werden vorkonfigurierte Felder betitelt und der Inhalt mit Markdown in die Repository gespeichert.

Nächste Schritte

Es gibt noch viel mehr über Headless CMS und JAMstack zu berichten. Falls wir ihr Interesse geweckt haben, so lassen Sie es uns doch wissen. Mit einer JAMstack ist man nicht nur schlanker und kosteneffizienter unterwegs, man bietet dem Nutzer auch eine besseres UX-Erlebnis. Stay tuned !

Weiterführende Links und Ressourcen

https://jamstack.org/

https://jamstackconf.com/

https://www.netlify.com/blog/

Raffael Schneider – Crafter, Disruptor, Freigeist. Als begeisteter GitOps-Enthusiast schreibt Raffael gerne über Programmiersprachen, Themen rund um DevOps und hat ein Faible für die neusten IT-Hypes aller Art.