Responsive durch amp.dev

23.11.2020 Ricky Elfner
Mobile Tech amp cdn responsive

What is amp.dev?

Since more and more accesses take place via a mobile device these days, Google in particular has dealt with develop a standard for mobile website formats. It is in the foreground that websites do so provided that they are clear and also load smoothly. Of course, this should also be the case happen without delay. In order to be able to guarantee this, AMP pages are very lean HTML The code and the CSS are set directly in the <head>. However, with these specifications, the free design is a Website also restricted.

Since the JavaScript is loaded asynchronously, it can be ensured that the content of a page is loaded first and the user sees relevant content first. By caching AMP pages, the loading time can be improved tremendously. For this purpose, Google, for example, provides certain AMP caches. However, this leads to the fact that the URL for AMP pages is changed to a Google URL. It doesn't matter which was the original url.

The first requirements

If you build websites with amp.dev, you have to make sure that HTTPS is used as the default. Otherwise, the full range of functions is not guaranteed. This includes, for example, videos or iFrames that have a Request access via HTTPS.

First we take a closer look at the first part of a amp.dev page.

<!doctype html>
<html amp lang="en">
<head>
    <meta charset="utf-8">
    <script async src="https://cdn.ampproject.org/v0.js"></script>
    <title>Hello, AMPs</title>
    <link rel="canonical" href="https://amp.dev/documentation/guides-and-tutorials/start/create/basic_markup/">
    <meta name="viewport" content="width=device-width,minimum-scale=1,initial-scale=1">
    <script type="application/ld+json">
        {
            "@context": "http://schema.org",
            "@type": "NewsArticle",
            "headline": "Open-source framework for publishing content",
            "datePublished": "2015-10-07T12:02:41Z",
            "image": [
                "logo.jpg"
            ]
        }
    </script>
    <style amp-boilerplate>body{-webkit-animation:-amp-start 8s steps(1,end) 0s 1 normal both;-moz-animation:-amp-start 8s steps(1,end) 0s 1 normal both;-ms-animation:-amp-start 8s steps(1,end) 0s 1 normal both;animation:-amp-start 8s steps(1,end) 0s 1 normal both}@-webkit-keyframes -amp-start{from{visibility:hidden}to{visibility:visible}}@-moz-keyframes -amp-start{from{visibility:hidden}to{visibility:visible}}@-ms-keyframes -amp-start{from{visibility:hidden}to{visibility:visible}}@-o-keyframes -amp-start{from{visibility:hidden}to{visibility:visible}}@keyframes -amp-start{from{visibility:hidden}to{visibility:visible}}</style><noscript><style amp-boilerplate>body{-webkit-animation:none;-moz-animation:none;-ms-animation:none;animation:none}</style></noscript>
</head>

At first glance it looks like a normal HTML page. However, if you take a closer look, there are some differences. The document type is defined by default like an HTML page.

The following tag <html amp lang="en"> defines that this is amp.dev content. While <head> and <body> are optional on a pure HTML page, they are required on an amp.dev page. Furthermore, the AMP JavaScript library is specified within the <script>.

In the event that you are using an HTML page with AMP and one without, we use the <link> to create a link to the appropriated page. This is necessary in this case, for example, so that Google knows which page should be loaded. <meta name="viewport" content="#""> is a responsive viewport for displaying the page content certainly.

Finally, a amp-boilerplate is determined, which hides the content until AMP-JS is completely loaded. You have now seen all the necessary requirements for a AMP page.

Of course, you can add additional elements. As seen above, there is also a <script> with integrated Schema.org. This enables you to display your content in different places, for example in the Google Search Top Stories Carousel. On the non- AMP page you must also insert a link so that the two pages are connected.

<link rel="amphtml" href="https://www.example.com/url/to/amp/document.html">

However, if you are only using a AMP version of your site, you still have to insert the link <link rel="canonical"...> and link it to your site yourself.

The use of tags

Most of the time you can use the standard HTML tags. However, there are also cases where the tags are just similar and have been adjusted a little. This includes, for example, the image tag. There is also a list in which you see can see which tags have been changed or even tags which you are not allowed to use on a AMP page.

<amp-img src="welcome.jpg" alt="Welcome" height="400" width="800"></amp-img>

The styling

When it comes to styling, a AMP page is based on the HTML standards and uses CSS for this. The CSS styling is specified within the <head>. Here you can use class or element selectors do the styling as usual.

A AMP page may only have a single embedded style sheet and inline style, which is located directly in <head>. When it comes to styling, you also have to pay attention if the CSS properties are allowed. You can find them in this list. The styling in your <head> could look like this.

<style amp-custom>
  /* any custom style goes here */
  body {
    background-color: white;
  }
  amp-img {
    background-color: gray;
    border: 1px solid black;
  }
</style>

While you typically use CSS to lay out some of the elements on the page, the AMP has stricter rules that must be followed. Because for performance reasons, all elements on a AMP page need a fixed size from the beginning.

Preview and validation

You can easily open a AMP page from your file system via a web browser. Here, however, it is does not guarantee that all elements will work. Therefore, the better option is to open the site via a local web server.

You can have your newly created page validated directly within the browser. To do this, go to your page and add #development=1 after the URL. You can now see validation errors in the Chrome DevTools console if you should have some.

You have now successfully created your first AMP page. Congratulations!


This text was automatically translated with our golang markdown translator.

Ricky Elfner - thinker, survivor, gadget collector. He is always on the lookout for new innovational potentials, as well as tech news, so that he can always write about current topics.

Responsive durch amp.dev

23.11.2020 Ricky Elfner
Mobile Tech amp cdn responsive

Was ist amp.dev?

Da heutzutage immer mehr Zugriffe über ein mobiles Endgerät stattfinden, hat sich vor allem Google damit befasst, einen Standard für mobile Webseite Formate zu entwickeln. Dabei steht im Vordergrund, dass Webseiten so bereitgestellt werden, dass sie anschaulich sind und auch flüssig laden. Dies sollte natürlich auch noch verzögerungsfrei geschehen. Um dies gewährleisten zu können, handelt es sich bei AMP Seiten um sehr schlanken HTML Code und auch das CSS wird direkt im <head> festgelegt. Jedoch ist durch diese Vorgaben die freie Gestaltung einer Webseite auch eingeschränkt.

Da das JavaScript asynchron geladen wird, kann sichergestellt werden, dass zuerst der Inhalt einer Seite geladen wird und der User zuerst relevanten Inhalt sieht. Indem AMP-Seiten zwischen gespeichert werden, kann die Ladezeit enorm verbessert werden. Hierfür stellt beispielsweise Google gewisse AMP Caches zur Verfügung. Dies führt jedoch dazu, dass bei AMP-Seiten die URL auf eine Google URL abgeändert wird. Dabei ist es egal, welches die ursprüngliche URL war.

Die ersten Anforderungen

Wenn Sie Webseiten mit amp.dev bauen, müssen Sie sichergehen, dass HTTPS als Standard genutzt wird. Ansonsten ist nicht der volle Funktionsumfang gewährleistet. Hier zu gehört zum Beispiel Videos oder iFrames, die einen Zugriff über HTTPS fordern.

Als ersten schauen wir uns den ersten Teil einer amp.dev Seite einmal genauer an.

<!doctype html>
<html amp lang="en">
<head>
    <meta charset="utf-8">
    <script async src="https://cdn.ampproject.org/v0.js"></script>
    <title>Hello, AMPs</title>
    <link rel="canonical" href="https://amp.dev/documentation/guides-and-tutorials/start/create/basic_markup/">
    <meta name="viewport" content="width=device-width,minimum-scale=1,initial-scale=1">
    <script type="application/ld+json">
        {
            "@context": "http://schema.org",
            "@type": "NewsArticle",
            "headline": "Open-source framework for publishing content",
            "datePublished": "2015-10-07T12:02:41Z",
            "image": [
                "logo.jpg"
            ]
        }
    </script>
    <style amp-boilerplate>body{-webkit-animation:-amp-start 8s steps(1,end) 0s 1 normal both;-moz-animation:-amp-start 8s steps(1,end) 0s 1 normal both;-ms-animation:-amp-start 8s steps(1,end) 0s 1 normal both;animation:-amp-start 8s steps(1,end) 0s 1 normal both}@-webkit-keyframes -amp-start{from{visibility:hidden}to{visibility:visible}}@-moz-keyframes -amp-start{from{visibility:hidden}to{visibility:visible}}@-ms-keyframes -amp-start{from{visibility:hidden}to{visibility:visible}}@-o-keyframes -amp-start{from{visibility:hidden}to{visibility:visible}}@keyframes -amp-start{from{visibility:hidden}to{visibility:visible}}</style><noscript><style amp-boilerplate>body{-webkit-animation:none;-moz-animation:none;-ms-animation:none;animation:none}</style></noscript>
</head>

Auf den ersten Blick sieht es wie eine normale HTML-Seite aus. Jedoch bei genauerem Hinschauen sind einige Unterschiede zu erkennen. Der Dokumententyp wird standardmässig wie eine HTML-Seite definiert.

Im darauf folgenden Tag <html amp lang="en"> wird definiert, das es sich um amp.dev Inhalte handelt. Während in einer reinen HTML-Page <head> und <body> optional sind, werden sie bei einer amp.dev Seite benötigt. Des weiteren wird innerhalb des <script> die AMP-JavaScript Library festgelegt.

Für den Fall, dass Sie eine HTML-Seite mit AMP und eine ohne verwenden, wir mit dem <link> die entsprechende Seite verlinkt. Dies ist zum Beispiel in dem Fall notwendig, damit Google weiss, welche Seite geladen werden soll. Mit <meta name="viewport" content="#""> wird eine Responsive Viewport für die Darstellung des Seiteninhalts bestimmt.

Zum Schluss wird noch ein amp-boilerplate bestimmt, der den Inhalt so lange ausblendet, bis AMP-JS vollständig geladen ist. Nun haben Sie alle notwendigen Anforderungen für eine AMP-Seite gesehen.

Natürlich können Sie aber noch zusätzliche Elemente hinzufügen. Wie oben zu sehen wird noch ein <script> mit angegeben, welches Schema.org einbindet. Dies ermöglicht Ihnen Ihren Inhalt an verschiedenen Stellen anzuzeigen, beispielsweise in dem Google Search Top Stories Carousel. Auf der Nicht-AMP Seite müssen Sie ebenfalls einen Link einfügen, damit die beiden Seite miteinander verbunden sind.

<link rel="amphtml" href="https://www.example.com/url/to/amp/document.html">

Sollten Sie jedoch nur eine AMP-Version Ihrer Seite verwenden, müssen Sie dennoch den Link <link rel="canonical"...> einfügen und auf Ihre Seite selbst linken.

Die Verwendung von Tags

Meist können Sie die standardmässigen HTML Tags verwenden. Es gibt jedoch auch Fälle, in denen die Tags nur ähnlich sind und ein wenig angepasst wurden. Dazu gehört beispielsweise das Image-Tag. Es gibt hierfür auch eine Liste, in der Sie sehen können, welche Tags abgeändert wurden oder sogar Tags, welche Sie nicht auf einer AMP Seite verwenden dürfen.

<amp-img src="welcome.jpg" alt="Welcome" height="400" width="800"></amp-img>

Das Styling

Auch beim Styling richtet sich eine AMP Seite nach dem HTML Standards und nutzt hierfür CSS. Dabei wird das CSS Styling innerhalb des <head> angegeben. Hier für können Sie wie üblich in mithilfe von Klassen- oder Element Selektoren das Styling vornehmen.

Dabei darf eine AMP Seite jedoch nur ein einziges eingebettetes Style Sheet und Inline-Style haben, welches sich direkt im <head> befindet. Auch beim Styling müssen Sie darauf achten, welche CSS Eigenschaften zu Verwendung erlaubt sind. Diese können Sie in dieser Liste finden. Das Styling in ihrem <head> könnte folgendermasse aussehen.

<style amp-custom>
  /* any custom style goes here */
  body {
    background-color: white;
  }
  amp-img {
    background-color: gray;
    border: 1px solid black;
  }
</style>

Während Sie normalerweise CSS nutzen, um die Elemente auf der Seite in ein gewisses Layout zu bringen, gibt es in AMP strengere Regeln, welche zu befolgen sind. Denn aus Performance Gründen benötigen alle Elemente einer AMP Seite von Anfang an eine festgelegte Grösse.

Preview und Validierung

Eine AMP-Seite können Sie ganz einfach aus ihrem Filesystem über einen Webbrowser öffnen. Hierbei ist jedoch nicht gewährleistet, dass alle Elemente funktionieren. Deshalb ist die bessere Variante, die Seite über einen lokalen Webserver zu öffnen.

Ihre neu erstelle Seite können Sie direkt innerhalb des Browser validieren lassen. Dazu rufen Sie Ihre Seite auf und fügen hinter der URL noch #development=1 an. In der Chrome DevTools Konsole können sie nun Validierungsfehler erkennen, wenn Sie welche haben sollten.

Nun haben Sie erfolgreich Ihre erste AMP Seite erstellt. Herzlichen Glückwunsch!

Ricky Elfner – Denker, Überlebenskünstler, Gadget-Sammler. Dabei ist er immer auf der Suche nach neuen Innovationen, sowie Tech News, um immer über aktuelle Themen schreiben zu können.