Practically on the go with Kotlin

13.12.2019 Raffael Schneider
Tech kotlin jvm foss handson goodtoknow

Kotlin is a cross-platform, statically typed programming language. From the beginning, Kotlin was geared towards being completely interoperable with Java and its JVM. Kotlin was developed by the multinational software company JetBrains, the makers of the established IDE IntelliJ. In 2019, Google declared Kotlin as the official developer language (preferred language) for Android app development. Using today's development knowledge in programming languages, to offer a more comfortable and pragmatic alternative to Java that remains 100% compatible with the previous Java ecosystem.

Here is a small list of all the advantages that Kotlin has over Java and similar languages:

  • Smaller footprint Kotlin’s compiler generates bytecode of similar size compared to Java
  • Interoperability Thanks to full compatibility with the Java stack, Kotlin classes can be written and maintained together with Java classes in one project
  • Scalability Kotlin has native coordination and thus allows the development of scalable solutions
  • Learning curve: Although Kotlin has a slightly different syntax, keywords and functionalities, the jump from Java to Kotlin is quite feasible for everyone thanks to intuitive design features
  • Readability / maintainability Syntactic sugar and other language properties make the code more manageable and thus more maintainable
  • Not only for Android: Through native support of Spring Framework 5 <a href="https://spring.io/blog/2017/01/04/introducing-kotlin-support-in-spring-framework-5-0 "target="_ blank ">since the beginning of 2017 Kotlin has also become justifiable in the development of entire backend systems.

And this is what Kotlin looks like

zero check

Before we dive into real world Kotlin code together, let's first consider a simple Java class as a reference. The callIfMatch() method takes a string parameter nullableString. This value could be null when passed to the method, hence the name nullable String. The very first thing the method does is tries to write the value of nullableString to the log output. It is checked whether its value is null, if yes, the value of nullableString is transferred, if not a default value of "defaultString". Then a if loop is used to check whether the value of the method parameter matches "matchMe". If so, a generic call() is called. It is checked again for null in the loop. This redundancy is intentional for comparison purposes and not necessarily unusual.

Java
public void callIfMatch(String nullableString) {
    Log.callerClass("callerClass", nullableString != null ? nullableString, "defaultString");    

    if (nullableString != null && nullableString.contains("matchMe"){
        call();
    }
}

Next up is the Kotlin counterpart to the Java class above with identical functionality. We immediately notice that fewer characters are needed for equivalent business logic. The method callIfMatch() also accepts a string parameter nullableString and explicitly declares when determining its type String? that the value could be null with a question mark. Incidentally, the type declaration for Java connoisseurs comes after the parameter / variable name, so the question mark keyword is intuitive. This tells the compiler in advance that this value must be handled differently and can be null at runtime. When the value is called, the question mark keyword is also added to the variable name in order to explicitly declare this possibility. The compiler then knows how to handle it at runtime.

Kotlin
fun callIfMatch(nullableString: String?) {
    Log.callerClass("callerClass", nullableString ?: "defaultString")

    when(nullableString?.contains("matchMe")){
        true -> { call() }
    }
}

multiple branches

Another typical case in the real world are case distinctions using if/else or switch. Here we look at the first case for illustration. The following showStatusText() method returns a string value. This is filled with technically different values using a if/else. The instance type of the someState object is decisive for the case distinction. This can either be Connected, Connecting, Disconnected. The instance type is checked in Java with instanceof. Depending on the value of text, there is a different return value of "Status: {Connected | Connecting | Disconnected}. Please take note!".

Java
public String showStatusText() {
    String text = null;

    // Expecting only 3 different states
    if (someState instanceOf Connected) {
        text = "Client connected.";
    } else if (someState instanceOf Connecting){
        text = "Connecting..."
    } else if (someState instanceOf Disconnected){
        text = "Not Connected."
    }

    return "Status: " + text + ".
Please take note!"
}

Just like in the previous example, you notice that fewer characters are needed for the equivalent logic and the whole code is thus leaner. In Kotlin, other Keywords are used for this case and a slightly different variable assignment is used. The variable text is assigned a value that corresponds to the return value of when. This when expression checks the status of someState and thus decides on the case distinction which value can be assigned to text. It is also interesting how the whole string is put together at the end. Instead of concatenating several strings via +, the value of the variable in the string can be displayed directly via $.

Kotlin
fun showStatusText() {
    val text = when(someState) {
        is Connected -> "Client connected."
        is Connecting -> "Connecting..."
        is Disconnected -> "Not Connected."
    }

    return "Status: $text Please take note!"
}

We hope that with these two concrete examples we could illustrate the leanness and intuitive use of best practices of modern programming languages like Kotlin. Such features make writing, reading and especially the maintenance of a codebase much easier.

Try it out for yourself

If we have managed to bring you closer to Kotlin and you feel the need to lend a hand yourself, it should be said that there are a variety of online environments in which Kotlin can be written and tried out right away. One of these online environments is the Kotlin Playground. The code is compiled and executed via the web application:

Kotlin Playground

If you have any further questions about Kotlin, we at b-nova value innovation through new technologies and are not afraid to use new programming languages such as Kotlin and use them in your project.

Further Links:

Ktor Framework | Build Asynchronous Servers and Clients in Kotlin

Spring Boot | Building web applications with Spring Boot and Kotlin


This text was automatically translated with our golang markdown translator.

Raffael Schneider – crafter, disruptor, free spirit. As a fervent software craftsmanship, Raffael likes to write about programming languages and software resilience in modern distributed systems. Be it DevOps, SRE or systems architecture, he always got a new way of approaching things.

Praktisch mit Kotlin unterwegs

13.12.2019 Raffael Schneider
Tech Kotlin JVM Open source Hands-on Good-to-know

Kotlin ist eine plattformübergreifende, statisch typisierte Programmiersprache. Von Anfang an war Kotlin daraus ausgerichtet komplett interoperabel mit Java und dessen JVM zu sein. Kotlin wurde durch die multinationale Software-Unternehmen JetBrains, den Machern des etablierten IDE IntelliJ, entwickelt. In 2019 hat Google Kotlin als offizielle Entwicklersprache (preferred language) von Android-App-Entwicklung deklariert. Durch den Einsatz von heutigen Entwicklungserkenntnissen in Programmiersprachen eine komfortablere und pragmatischere Alternative zu Java zu bieten, die weiterhin zu 100%-kompatibel mit dem bisherigen Java-Ökosystem bleibt.

Hier eine kleine Auflistung aller Vorteile die Kotlin gegenüber Java und ähnlichen Sprachen birgt:

  • Kleinerer Footprint Kotlin’s Compiler erzeugt im Vergleich zu Java ähnlich grosse Bytecode
  • Interoperabilität Durch vollständige Kompatibilität mit dem Java-Stack lassen sich Kotlin-Klassen zusammen mit Java-Klassen in einem Projekt schreiben und warten
  • Skalierbarkeit Kotlin verfügt über native Koroutinierung und erlaubt somit die Entwicklung von skalierbaren Lösungen
  • Lernkurves: Obwohl Kotlin einen leicht anderen Syntax, Keywords und Funktionalitäten aufweist, so ist der Sprung von Java auf Kotlin durch intuitive Design-Features eine durchaus für Alle machbar
  • Lesbarkeit / Wartbarkeit Syntaktischer Zucker und sonstige Spracheigenschaften lassen den Code überschaubarer und somit wartbarer
  • Nicht nur für Android: Durch native Unterstützung von Spring Framework 5 seit Anfang 2017 ist Kotlin auch in der Entwicklung von ganzen Backend-Systemen vertretbar geworden.

Und so sieht Kotlin aus

Null-Check

Bevor wir uns zusammen in Real-World Kotlin-Code stürzen, lass uns zuerst als Vergleichsvorlage eine einfache Java-Klasse zu Betracht ziehen. Die callIfMatch()-Methode nimmt einen String-Parameter nullableString entgegen. Dieser Wert könnte bei der Übergabe an die Methode null sein, darum der Name nullableString. Das allererste, was die Methode tut, ist den Wert von nullableString in den Log-Output zu schreiben versucht. Dabei wird geprüft ob dessen Wert null ist, falls ja, wird der Wert von nullableString übergeben, falls nein einen Default-Wert von "defaultString". Danach wird über eine if-Schlaufe geprüft, ob der Wert von dem Methodenparameter mit "matchMe" übereinstimmt. Falls ja wird eine generischer call() aufgeruft. Dabei wird in der Schleife nochmals auf null geprüft. Diese Redundanz ist zu Vergleichszwecken so gewollt und nicht zwingend ungewöhnlich.

#####Java

public void callIfMatch(String nullableString) {
    Log.callerClass("callerClass", nullableString != null ? nullableString, "defaultString");    

    if (nullableString != null && nullableString.contains("matchMe"){
        call();
    }
}

Als Nächstes das Kotlin-Pendant zur obigen Java-Klasse mit identischer Funktionalität. Dabei merken wir sogleich, dass weniger Zeichen für äquivalente Business-Logik gebraucht wird. Die Methode callIfMatch() nimmt auch hier einen String-Parameter nullableString entgegen und deklariert explizit bei dessen Typenbestimmung String?, dass der Wert null sein könnte mit einem Fragezeichen. Nebenbei, dass die Typendeklaration für Java-Kenner ungewohnt nach dem Parameter-/Variablennamen kommt, so ist das Fragezeichen-Keyword intuitiv. Das sagt dem Compiler im Voraus, dass dieser Wert anders gehandhabt werden muss und während der Laufzeit null sein kann. Beim Aufruf des Wertes wird auch das Fragezeichen-Keyword dem Variablennamen hinzugefügt, um genau diese Möglichkeit explizit zu deklarieren. Der Compiler weiss dann zur Laufzeit wie damit umzugehen ist.

Kotlin
fun callIfMatch(nullableString: String?) {
    Log.callerClass("callerClass", nullableString ?: "defaultString")

    when(nullableString?.contains("matchMe")){
        true -> { call() }
    }
}

Mehrfachverzweigungen

Ein weiterer typischer Fall in der Real-World sind Fallunterscheidungen per if/else oder switch. Hier schauen wir uns den ersten Fall zur Veranschaulichung an. Die folgende showStatusText()-Methode gibt einen String-Wert zurück. Dieser wird anhand einer if/else mit fachlich unterschiedlichen Werten befüllt. Ausschlaggebend für die Fallunterscheidung ist des Instanztyps des someState-Objekts. Dieser kann hier wahlweise Connected, Connecting, Disconnected sein. Auf den Instanztyp wird in Java mit instanceof geprüft. Je nach Wert von text ergibt sich am Schluss einen anderen Rückgabewert von "Status: {Connected|Connecting|Disconnected}. Please take note!" .

Java
public String showStatusText() {
    String text = null;

    // Expecting only 3 different states
    if (someState instanceOf Connected) {
        text = "Client connected.";
    } else if (someState instanceOf Connecting){
        text = "Connecting..."
    } else if (someState instanceOf Disconnected){
        text = "Not Connected."
    }

    return "Status: " + text + ". Please take note!"
}

Genau wie beim vorherigen Beispiel merkt man, dass für die äquivalente Logik weniger Zeichen gebraucht werden und der ganze Code somit leaner wirkt. In Kotlin werden für diesen Fall andere Keywords genutzt und von einer leicht anderen Variablenzuweisung Gebrauch macht. Der Variable text wird direkt einen Wert zugewiesen, der dem Rückgabewert von when entspricht. Dieser when-Ausdruck prüft den Zustand von someState und entscheiden somit über die Fallunterscheidung welcher Wert an text zugewiesen werden kann. Zudem interessant ist wie der ganze String am Ende zusammengesetzt wird. Anstatt mehrere Strings per + zu konkatenieren kann über $ direkt der Wert der Variable im String ausgespielt werden.

Kotlin
fun showStatusText() {
    val text = when(someState) {
        is Connected -> "Client connected."
        is Connecting -> "Connecting..."
        is Disconnected -> "Not Connected."
    }

    return "Status: $text Please take note!"
}

Wir hoffen, dass wir mit diesen zwei konkreten Beispielen die Schlankheit und intuitive Nutzung von Best Practices von modernen Programmiersprachen wie Kotlin veranschaulicht werden konnte. Solche Features erleichtern das Schreiben, das Lesen und besonderes das Warten von einer Codebase immens.

Probieren Sie es gleich selber aus

Falls wir es geschafft haben Ihnen Kotlin näherzubringen und Sie das Bedürfnis haben gleich selber Hand anzulegen, so sei gesagt dass es eine Vielzahl von Online-Umgebungen gibt worin Kotlin gleich geschrieben und ausprobiert werden kann. Einer dieser Online-Umgebungen ist die Kotlin Spielwiese, auf Englisch Kotlin Playground genannt. Dabei wird gleich per Web-Applikation der Code kompiliert und ausgeführt:

Kotlin Playground

Falls Sie weitere Fragen zu Kotlin haben sollten, wir bei b-nova setzen Wert auf Innovation durch neue Technologien und scheuen uns nicht neue Programmiersprachen wie Kotlin anzuwenden und in Ihrem Projekt einzusetzen.

Weiterführende Links:

Ktor Framework | Build Asynchronous Servers and Clients in Kotlin

Spring Boot | Building web applications with Spring Boot and Kotlin

Raffael Schneider – Crafter, Disruptor, Freigeist. Als begeisteter GitOps-Enthusiast schreibt Raffael gerne über Programmiersprachen, Themen rund um DevOps und hat ein Faible für die neusten IT-Hypes aller Art.