Does the Service Mesh Platform Istio solve all my problems?

12.05.2021 Tom Trapp
Cloud DevOps service-mesh istio handson

In this TechUp we want to move in the Cloud Dev Ops direction and take a closer look at the Service Mesh Provider Istio. At the beginning we analyze an underlying problem and how the service mesh principle should help us.

The problem to be solved

Let's assume we have an online shop with different microservices, which all communicate with each other and are therefore dependent on each other. For example, a product can only be placed in the shopping cart if the cart MS, the inventory MS and the price MS respond correctly.

In the current implementation there are many moving parts, all of which are rigidly interdependent. The individual microservices communicate with each other directly and unsecured via Urls or even IP addresses, there is no load balancing and there is no failure safety. Each of these microservices is implemented independently, the following things are implemented directly in the microservice:

  • Communication Configs (Endpoints, Ports etc.)
  • Security Handling (Authorization, Authentication)
  • Retry Logic
  • Logging
  • Metrics & tracing

The big problem behind this architecture is obvious, everything is implemented in-house and the microservices are no longer lean, but contain a lot of overhead. Microservices developers can no longer concentrate on the pure business logic, but have to implement things that logging, tracing, etc.

Of course you could use frameworks that offer all these functionalities, but you would still not be technology and language independent.

The solution - Service Mesh

Service mesh is a pattern or paradigm that is used in complex microservice architectures.

In general, the pattern describes that all communication happens via a dedicated, fully integrated infrastructure layer. For example, you can control traffic, implement load balancing or analyze precise monitoring metrics. These implementations are now part of the infrastructure layer of the cluster, so our microservices are now also technology and language independent.

A second big advantage of this paradigm is that the microservices are very lean, only contain business logic and developers no longer have to worry about non-business-relevant implementations.

In a service mesh, a so-called sidecar container is started for each microservice, which communicates with the actual container via localhost. Both containers run in the same pod, all network traffic (incoming & outgoing) runs through the sidecar proxy.

Wie funktioniert Service Mesh

As can be seen in the graphic above, a service mesh can be divided into three parts:

  • Control Plane - the management and configuration layer of the service mesh architecture, deploy and configure the sidecar proxies and collect all data
  • Data Plane - the proxy layer, where intelligent sidecar proxies take over the communication between microservices
  • Applications - the application layer where the actual microservices run

But what are the exact advantages of a service mesh in practice?

  • Canary Releasing - with new versions only direct part of the users to the new version in order to test new functionalities in isolation, for example only a certain browser version
  • A / B-Testing - simple routing of certain users in certain cases to another version, routing can be done on basic from Urls or even HTTP headers
  • Security - all traffic in the cluster is encrypted, everyone is correctly authenticated and authorized
  • Transparency - extensive monitoring, logging and tracing of all calls in the cluster as well as communication between microservices (keyword identify bottleneck)
  • Robustness - timeout handling, retry mechanism, circuit breaking etc.

Of course, the service mesh pattern is not the only approach to solving the problem. For example an API gateway could be another solution but do not follow the decentralized approach of microservices.

Istio

Istio is an open source service mesh platform that controls how microservices share data with each other.

The foundation stone was laid with the first commit on November 19, 2016, in cooperation with Google, IBM and Lyft (Uber competitor). Today, more than 15,000 commits later, version 1.9 of Istio has been released and is constantly being further developed by a broad community. If you take a look under the hood, you can see that Istio itself is almost exclusively written in Go.

There are currently many different Service Mesh implementations or platforms, with Istio becoming more and more popular and known as the most popular Service Mesh platform.

What exactly is Istio doing?

Simply put, Istio attaches a small sidecar container to each microservice, which takes care of topics such as communication, security, metrics & logging, etc. Istio itself can not only be used with Kubernetes, for example Istio can also be used in combination with Nomad and Consul or even with on-premise systems such as VMs.

The platform basically consists of two components, the istiod control plan and the Envoy proxy. However, the complete structure offers numerous integration options, for example a monitoring system such as Prometheus, a dashboard such as Grafana or a tracing system such as Jaeger can be integrated.

#Istio in practice Now we dare to do the 'Deep Dive' in practice and install the Istio sample project, we are using the latest Istio version 1.9.4

If we follow the steps on the getting started page from Istio itself, we have an Istio Service Mesh 'up and running' within a few minutes. We used our Kubernetes playground on a digital ocean cluster for this.

In this example we use the 'bookinfo' example from Istio itself, this is a good example to get to know Istio with all its components.

In principle, every Kubernetes microservice project can be converted into an Istio Service Mesh. This is done via a specific label on the namespace so that Istio knows that Envoy Sidecar proxies should be injected. Here in the example we activate the Istio injection for the default namespace:

kubectl label namespace default istio-injection=enabled

In general, there is no need to adapt to the actual K8s resources or the application. It only has to be ensured that the K8s resources can always be identified via the label app.

As soon as the complete 'bookinfo' example is running, let's take a closer look at two Istio resources:

  • Gateway: the entry point from the outside into the service mesh, more precisely this is the Istio-Ingress Gateway
  • VirtualService: - responsible for the routing within the service mesh

In the bookinfo example we find these two resources in the file samples/bookinfo/networking/bookinfo-gateway.yaml, a gateway to the outside on port 80 is opened there by default. With the VirtualService, certain routes are forwarded to our K8s productpage service on port 9080. We now want to adapt this example and achieve that our sample application can only be called from a specific host and only with a specific cookie.

For this we only have to adapt the virtual service definition, our match clause makes a new regex matching on the HTTP header cookie. We also restrict the hosts so that only a certain host can call the application.

# samples/bookinfo/networking/bookinfo-gateway.yaml
apiVersion: networking.istio.io/v1alpha3
kind: VirtualService
metadata:
  name: bookinfo
spec:
  hosts:
    - "test.techup.xy"
  gateways:
    - bookinfo-gateway
  http:
    - match:
        - headers:
            cookie:
              regex: "^(.*;?)?(user=b-nova)(;.*)?"
      route:
        - destination:
            host: productpage
            port:
              number: 9080

After applying the new configuration with kubectl apply -f samples/bookinfo/networking/bookinfo-gateway.yaml, our sample application can only be called via a special command. We use an HTTP scratch file in IntelliJ, it looks like this:

GET http://<external IP>/productpage
Host: test.techup.xy
Cookie: user=b-nova

With this we meet both conditions of our virtual service and are correctly forwarded to our productpage application.

If there are any errors here, the Kiali dashboard of the example will help us to see more detailed logs, traces, etc. We can start this dashboard after the rollout with:

istioctl dashboard kiali

Another useful feature of Istio is the analyze function, which shows us errors or problems in our configuration:

istioctl analyze

#Is there a catch? It sounds great, installs quickly and looks very practical - what's the catch?

The catch with every service mesh implementation is the additional mental, physical and logical effort, which is caused by the use of e.g. Istio is created. Also not to be ignored is the fact that the performance will deteriorate and the cluster will need more resources. It is important to understand why and, above all, whether you really need a service mesh architecture.

In general, a service mesh makes sense in growing, increasingly complex microservice architectures. What is certain is that Istio makes the analysis a lot easier and accelerates it in the event of an error.

Do you need help with your Service Mesh implementation or do you have further questions? Contact us!


This text was automatically translated with our golang markdown translator.

Tom Trapp - problem solver, innovator, athlete. Tom prefers to work on modern software all day long and attaches great importance to objectively clean, lean code.

Löst die Service Mesh Platform Istio all meine Probleme?

12.05.2021 Tom Trapp
Cloud DevOps Service Mesh Istio Hands-on

In diesem TechUp wollen wir uns in die Cloud Dev Ops Richtung bewegen und den Service Mesh Provider Istio genauer unter die Lupe nehmen. Zu Beginn analysieren wir ein zugrundeliegendes Problem und wie uns das Service Mesh Prinzip helfen soll.

Das zu lösende Problem

Nehmen wir an, wir haben einen Onlineshop mit unterschiedlichen MicroServices, welche alle miteinander kommunizieren und so voneinander abhängig sind. Beispielsweise kann ein Produkt nur in den Warenkorb gelegt werden, wenn der Cart MS, der Inventory MS und den Price MS korrekt antworten.

In der aktuellen Implementation gibt es viele bewegliche Teile, die alle starr voneinander abhängig sind. Die einzelnen MicroServices kommunizieren direkt und ungesichert per Urls oder gar IP-Adresse miteinander, es besteht kein Loadbalancing und es herrscht keine Ausfallsicherheit. Jeder dieser MicroServices ist eigen implementiert, folgende Dinge sind direkt im Microservice implementiert:

  • Communication Configs (Endpoints, Ports etc.)
  • Security Handling (Authorization, Authentication)
  • Retry Logic
  • Logging
  • Metrics & Tracing

Das grosse Problem hinter dieser Architektur liegt auf der Hand, alles ist eigen implementiert und die MicroServices sind nicht mehr schlank, sondern beinhalten viel Overhead. Entwickler von MicroServices können sich nicht mehr auf die reine Businesslogik konzentrieren, sondern müssen Sachen die Logging, Tracing usw. implementieren.

Selbstverständlich konnte man hier Frameworks einsetzen, die alle diese Funktionalitäten bieten, man wäre dann aber weiterhin nicht Technologie und Sprachen unabhängig.

Der Lösungsansatz – Service Mesh

Service Mesh ist ein Pattern bzw. ein Paradigma welches in komplexen Microservice Architekturen zum Einsatz kommt.

Generell beschreibt das Pattern, dass sämtliche Kommunikation über eine dedizierte, voll integrierte Infrastruktur-Schicht kommunizieren. So kann man beispielsweise Traffic steuern, Loadbalancing implementieren oder genaue Überwachungsmetriken analysieren. Diese Implementation sind neu Teil der Infrastruktur-Schicht des Clusters, somit sind neu unsere Microservices auch Technologie und Sprachen unabhängig.

Ein zweiter grosser Vorteil dieses Paradigmas ist, dass die MicroServices sehr schlank sind, nur Business Logik enthalten und Entwickler sich nicht mehr um nicht business relevante Implementationen kümmern müssen.

In einem Service Mesh wird zu jedem Microservice ein sogenannter Sidecar (dt. Beiwagen) Container gestartet, welcher mit dem eigentlichen Container über localhost kommuniziert. So laufen beide Container im gleichen Pod, jeglicher Netzwerktraffic (Incoming & outgoing) läuft über den Sidecar Proxy.

Wie funktioniert Service Mesh

Wie in der oberen Grafik zu sehen ist, lässt sich ein Service Mesh in drei Teile aufteilen:

  • Control Plane – die Management- und Konfigurationsschicht der Service Mesh Architektur, deployed und konfiguriert die Sidecar Proxies und sammelt alle Daten
  • Data Plane – die Proxy Schicht, wo intelligenten Sidecar Proxies die Kommunikation zwischen MicroServices übernehmen
  • Anwendungen – die Anwendungsschicht, wo die eigentlichen Microservices laufen

Welche genauen Vorteile bietet ein Service Mesh aber nun in der Praxis?

  • Canary Releasing – bei neuen Versionen nur einen Teil der Benutzer auf die neue Version leiten, um neue Funktionalitäten isoliert zu testen, beispielsweise nur eine bestimmte Browserversion
  • A/B-Testing – einfaches Routing von bestimmten Benutzern in bestimmten Fällen zu einer anderen Version, Routing kann auf Basic von Urls oder gar HTTP Headern gemacht werden
  • Sicherheit – sämtlicher Datenverkehr im Cluster ist verschlüsselt, jeder ist korrekt authentifiziert und autorisiert
  • Transparenz – umfangreiches Monitoring, Logging und Tracing aller Calls im Cluster sowie der Kommunikation zwischen Microservices (Stichwort Bottleneck erkennen)
  • Robustheit – Timeout Handling, Retry Mechanismus, Circuit Breaking etc.

Selbstverständlich ist das Service Mesh Pattern nicht der einzige Ansatz zur Lösung des Problems, andere Ansätze wie z. B. ein API Gateway verfolgen aber nicht den dezentralisierten Ansatz von Microservices.

Istio

Istio ist eine Open Source Service Mesh Plattform, welche steuern, wie Microservices Daten miteinander teilen.

Der Grundstein wurde mit dem ersten Commit am 19.11.2016 im Zusammenspiel von Google, IBM und Lyft (Uber Konkurrent) gelegt. Heute, über 15'000 Commits später ist Istio in der Version 1.9 veröffentlicht und wird von einer breiten Community stetig weiterentwickelt. Riskiert man einen Blick unter die Haube sieht man, das Istio selbst fast ausschliesslich in Go geschrieben ist.

Aktuell gibt es viele unterschiedliche Service Mesh-Implementationen bzw. Plattformen, wobei Istio sich immer mehr durchsetzt und als beliebteste Service Mesh-Platform bekannt ist.

Was macht Istio genau?

Einfach gesagt hängt Istio an jeden MicroService einen kleinen Sidecar Container an, welcher sich um Themen wie Kommunikation, Sicherheit, Metriken & Logging usw. kümmern. Istio selbst ist nicht nur mit Kubernetes nutzbar, beispielsweise kann Istio auch in kombination mit Nomad und Consul bzw. sogar mit on-premise Systemen wie VMs genutzt werden.

Die Platform besteht im Grund aus zwei Komponenten, dem istiod Control Plan und dem Envoy Proxy. Das komplette Konstrukt bietet aber zahlreiche Integrationsmöglichkeiten, so kann beispielsweise ein Monitoring-System wie Prometheus, ein Dashboard wie Grafana oder ein Tracing System wie Jaeger eingebunden werden.

#Istio in der Praxis Nun wagen wir den 'Deep Dive' in die Praxis und installieren uns das Beispielprojekt von Istio, wir nutzen hier die latest Istio Version 1.9.4

Folgen wir den Steps auf der Getting Started Page von Istio selbst haben wir innerhalb weniger Minuten ein Istio Service Mesh 'up and running'. Wir haben hierfür unsere Kubernetes Spielwiese auf einem Digital Ocean Cluster verwendet.

In diesem Beispiel nutzen wir das 'bookinfo' Example von Istio selbst, dies ist ein gutes Beispiel um Istio mit all seinen Komponenten kennenzulernen.

Grundsätzlich kann jedes Kubernetes Microservice Projekt in ein Istio Service Mesh umgewandelt werden. Dies geschieht über ein bestimmtes Label auf dem Namespace, damit Istio weiss, dass Envoy Sidecar Proxies injected werden sollen. Hier im Beispiel aktivieren wir die Istio-Injection für den default Namespace :

kubectl label namespace default istio-injection=enabled

Generell muss hier nicht an den eigentlichen K8s Ressourcen bzw. der Applikation angepasst werden. Es muss lediglich sichergestellt werden, dass die K8s Ressourcen immer über das Label app identifizierbar sind.

Sobald nun das komplette 'bookinfo'-Beispiel läuft, wollen wir uns zwei Istio-Ressourcen genauer anschauen:

  • Gateway: der Einstiegspunkt von Aussen in den Service Mesh, genauer gesagt ist dies der Istio-Ingress Gateway
  • VirtualService: – zuständig für das Routing innerhalb des Service Meshes

Im bookinfo Beispiel finden wir diese beiden Ressourcen in der Datei samples/bookinfo/networking/bookinfo-gateway.yaml wieder, standardmässig wird dort ein Gateway nach Aussen auf Port 80 geöffnet. Mit dem VirtualService werden bestimmte Routen an unseren K8s productpage Service auf Port 9080 weitergeleitet. Dieses Beispiel wollen wir nun anpassen und erreichen, das unsere Beispielanwendung nur von einem bestimmten Host und nur mit einem bestimmten Cookie aufgerufen werden darf.

Hierfür müssen wir lediglich die Virtual Service Definition anpassen, unsere match Clause macht neu ein Regex Matching auf den HTTP Header cookie. Ausserdem schränken wir die hosts ein, dass nur ein bestimmter Host die Anwendung aufrufen kann.

# samples/bookinfo/networking/bookinfo-gateway.yaml
apiVersion: networking.istio.io/v1alpha3
kind: VirtualService
metadata:
  name: bookinfo
spec:
  hosts:
    - "test.techup.xy"
  gateways:
    - bookinfo-gateway
  http:
    - match:
        - headers:
            cookie:
              regex: "^(.*;?)?(user=b-nova)(;.*)?"
      route:
        - destination:
            host: productpage
            port:
              number: 9080

Nachdem die neue Konfiguration mit kubectl apply -f samples/bookinfo/networking/bookinfo-gateway.yaml applied haben ist unsere Beispielanwendung nur noch über einen speziellen Command aufrufbar. Wir nutzen hier ein HTTP Scratch File in IntelliJ, dies sieht wie folgt aus:

GET http://<external IP>/productpage
Host: test.techup.xy
Cookie: user=b-nova

Damit erfüllen wir beide Bedingungen unseres VirtualServices und werden korrekt zu unserer productpage Anwendung weitergeleitet.

Sollte es hier Fehler geben hilft uns das Kiali-Dashboard des Beispiels weiter, um genauere Logs, Traces o. ä. einsehen zu können. Dieses Dashboard können wir nach dem Rollout starten mit:

istioctl dashboard kiali

Ein weiteres nützliches Feature von Istio ist die Analyze Funktion, welche uns Fehler oder Probleme in unsere Konfiguration aufzeigt:

istioctl analyze

#Gibt es einen Haken? Es klingt super, ist schnell installiert und sieht sehr praktisch aus – wo ist der Haken?

Der Haken bei jeder Service Mesh Implementation ist der mentale, physische und logische Mehraufwand, welcher durch den Einsatz von z. B. Istio entsteht. Nicht ausser Acht zu lassen ist ebenfalls der Fakt, dass sich die Performance verschlechtern wird und das Cluster mehr Ressourcen brauchen wird. Hier ist wichtig zu verstehen, wieso und vor allem, ob man eine Service Mesh Architektur wirklich benötigt.

Generell macht ein Service Mesh sicher in wachsenden, komplexer werdenden Microservice Architekturen Sinn. Fest steht, dass Istio im Fehlerfall die Analyse um einiges einfacher macht und beschleunigt.

Sie benötigten Hilfe bei Ihrer Service Mesh-Implementation oder haben weitere Fragen? Kontaktieren Sie uns!

Tom Trapp – Problemlöser, Innovator, Sportler. Am liebsten feilt Tom den ganzen Tag an der moderner Software und legt viel Wert auf objektiv sauberen, leanen Code.