Jenkins Console Navigation Plugin

18.03.2019 Stefan Welsch
Tech jenkins inhouse cicd devops

Jenkins Console is now a bit more user-friendly

b-nova releases its first Jenkins plugin. This plugin is very simple, but extremely practical.

The problem

Whenever a Jenkins build should have failed, the first point of contact is the good old Jenkins console. Once in the console, you can now start looking for the actual error. The first thing to do is scroll typically all the way down, since experience has shown that the error message is hidden there.

After you have found the error and now want to fix it, you scroll all the way in the console again to the top, as the menu is located there. In the long run, this whole scrolling is quite annoying and also costs a few seconds each time.

The solution

b-nova has taken on the problem according to the mission 'Additional value through innovation' and created a plug-in, which offers a small navigation area for the console. In the first version it will be the first time to have a Back to Top button. The second version will appear soon and also offers a Scroll to Bottom and a Scroll to error button.

Stay tuned!

How can I install the plugin?

The plugin is available in the official Jenkins Plugin Store and can be downloaded directly from there can be installed via Jenkins management.

Link to our plugin repo: https://github.com/jenkinsci/console-navigation-plugin


This text was automatically translated with our golang markdown translator.

Stefan Welsch - pioneer, stuntman, mentor. As the founder of b-nova, Stefan is always looking for new and promising fields of development. He is a pragmatist through and through and therefore prefers to write articles that are as close as possible to real-world scenarios.

Jenkins Console Navigation Plugin

18.03.2019 Stefan Welsch
Tech Jenkins Inhouse CI/CD DevOps

Jenkins Console nun etwas benutzerfreundlicher

b-nova veröffentlicht ihr erstes Jenkins-Plugin. Dieses Plugin ist sehr einfach, aber äusserst praktisch.

Das Problem

Wann immer mal ein Jenkins-Build fehlgeschlagen sein sollte, ist der erste Anlaufspunkt die gute alte Jenkins-Console. In der Console angekommen, beginnt man nun mit der Suche des eigentlichen Fehlers. Als erstes scrollt man typischerweise ganz nach unten, da sich dort erfahrungsgemäss die Fehlermeldung versteckt.

Nachdem man den Fehler nun gefunden hat und diesen nun beheben will, scrollt man in der Console erst mal wieder ganz nach oben, da sich dort das Menu befindet. Auf Dauer ist dieses ganze Scrolling doch recht nervig und kostet auch jedes Mal ein paar Sekunden.

Die Lösung

b-nova hat sich dem Problem ganz nach dem Motto 'Mehrwert durch Innovation' angenommen und ein Plugin geschrieben, welches für die Console eine kleine Navigationsfläche anbietet. In der ersten Version wird es erstmal einen Back to Top-Button geben. Die zweite Version wird bald erscheinen und bietet zusätzlich einen Scroll to Bottom-, sowie einen Scroll to error-Button an.

Stay tuned!

Wie kann ich das Plugin installieren?

Das Plugin ist im offiziellen Jenkins Plugin Store verfügbar und kann direkt von dort über das Jenkins-Management installiert werden.

Link zu unserer Plugin-Repo: https://github.com/jenkinsci/console-navigation-plugin

Stefan Welsch – Pionier, Stuntman, Mentor. Als Gründer von b-nova ist Stefan immer auf der Suche nach neuen und vielversprechenden Entwicklungsfeldern. Er ist durch und durch Pragmatiker und schreibt daher auch am liebsten Beiträge die sich möglichst nahe an 'real-world' Szenarien anlehnen.