GraphQL - API for your interface

28.04.2021 Raffael Schneider
Mobile Cloud Tech api arch golang k8s microservices handson

The interface is everything

Interfaces are sometimes one of the most important aspects in the development of software systems. Classically, data from one service is exposed to another via a REST interface. In one of us recently published blog posts we looked at how to implement an interface with gRPC. Here, gRPC relies on the variant of a remote procedure call, whereby the interface was predefined with Protobuf and thus enables typed function calls on target systems. This has certain advantages over a REST interface, since the interface was declared explicitly and the way in which a function call is made is comparatively faster.

If not REST or gRPC, then GraphQL!

There is another way in which one can alternatively expose data from a service; namely as a query language. The idea is that the search query, also called wuery, behaves identically to a query to a database or to a search engine such as Apache Solr. The search query only contains the search terms that are required for the respective case. One of the prerequisites for the target system is that it already knows and provides all possible search terms. This is exactly what GraphQL does - the query language for your future searchable API.

I beg you again?

GraphQL describes the structure of the interface in the following steps:

  1. Describe your data
type Project {
 name: String
 tagline: String
 contributors: [User] 
}

Here a data type Project with 3 entries, the latter an array of type User. The entirety of all defined data types is called a schema and is explained again later.

  1. Search for what you want
{
 project(name: "GraphQL") {
   tagline
 }
}

This is a query. It looks for the tagline within the type project with the unique name “GraphQL”.

  1. Get understandable search results
{
 "project": {
   "tagline": "A query language for APIs"
 }
}

The search result is structured exactly like Query and contains an existing tagline.

This is the simplest and fastest description of how a GraphQL interface should behave.

Advantages of a GraphQL interface

So, software systems require data exchange between the individual system components. Service A gets certain data from Service B. Often not all data exposed by Service B is actually needed in the business logic. Thus, the preparation and exposure of ready-made data structures - as is typically the case with a REST interface - is not always efficient. Sure, you can give the REST endpoint a certain number of parameters in order to get the desired result, but you are very limited and inflexible.

GraphQL offers an intermediate step in the form of a GraphQL server that aggregates all data sources and makes them available to the client.

Typed graph with the GraphQL schema

The main part of a GraphQL implementation is the GraphQL schema, from here on it is simply called the schema. The schema is the domain definition of all fields connected in the graph. With every GraphQL interface there is a scheme that defines in advance what is available and thus determines what you can search for.

For example, the scheme for a blog post interface can look like this:

type Query {
  getAllBlogs(): [BlogPost]
  getBlogPost(id: ID!): BlogPost
}

type Mutation {
  addBlogPost(title: String!, content: String!, authorID: ID!): BlogPost!
}

type BlogPost {
  id: ID!
  title: String!
  content: String!
  hasAuthor: Author!
}

type Author {
  id: ID!
  name: String!
  hasBlog: [BlogPost]
}

We can already see that there are different type definitions:

  • Query The type Query denotes a callable, ready-made query. In this case you can display all blog posts with getAllBlogs() or a single blog post with getBlogPost() whereby you can use an id parameter to give the unique identifier.

    Note: the Bang ! means that this value must be available.

  • Mutation The type Mutation denotes a callable, ready-made function that can modify values in the interface. In the example you can create a new blog post via addBlogPost(). The parameter title, the content and the unique author identifier authorID must be given.

  • Object An object is any structured type within the graph. In the example above with the blog interface, an object BlogPost with the fields id, title, content and hasAuthor and a second object Author with the fields id, name and hasBlog are defined. This can also be parsed and evaluated without a ready-made Query \ function.

  • scalar A scalar type is any field within a structured object. In this case, title and content can be a scalar field with type String which must not be zero. A scalar field can also be an array of individual scalar values.

    Note: The basic types for GraphQL are Int (32-bit), Float (UTF-8), String, Boolean, and the ID (serialized like a String).

For the sake of completeness, it should be noted that there are other types. These include Enums, Listen, Union, Interfaces, and Input Types. You can look them up in the official documentation about schema and types.

Underfetching and Overfetching

A second important advantage of GraphQL is the adequate resolution of the actually required data. Not too much, called Overfetching, but also not too little, called Underfetching, is delivered. Thus, the interface is efficient and, if implemented correctly, always better performing.

  • Underfetching is when not all data are delivered in a response. Often not all resources are output and only references to other resources are given, which requires further requests.

    A REST API can, for example, provide CMS data. When calling the API end point /cms/getAllBlogPosts?published=yes, not all the desired values, but references that would require further REST calls, would come back from the BlogPosts as a response.

  • Overfetching is when more than the desired data is delivered in a response. This is the exact opposite of underfetching. This means that when a REST API is called, there are too many values in the response than desired and thus the interface would not be as efficient.

A quick word about caching

Of course, the question quickly arises whether GraphQL can also take over the caching of queries. The GraphQL server, which aggregates the data sets, does not save them. Therefore, client-side caching or even server-side caching must be implemented and taken into account separately.

Test a few queries with GraphiQL

GraphiQL is the official reference implementation of a GraphQL IDE. With it, you can write, test and analyze queries. The IDE can thus be made available for your own interface to provide a graphical user interface.

As you can see very nicely above, there is also a live demo of it, with which you can dare to take the first steps with GraphQL. With GraphiQL all possible queries can be tested and the schema can also be displayed in full. The scheme can be viewed in the window on the right. It looks something like this here:

For the sake of experimentation I wrote the following query, which should output its name name, its identifier id, its name designation and its language language as the result for the species with speciesID:1.

query {
  species(speciesID:1) {
    name
    id
    designation
    language
  }
}

The query, if executed correctly, delivers the following rather funny result:

{
  "data": {
    "species": {
      "name": "Human",
      "id": "c3BlY2llczox",
      "designation": "sentient",
      "language": "Galactic Basic"
    }
  }
}

The species with name “Human”, identifier “c3BlY2llczox“, description “sentient“ and language “Galactic Basic“ is the result self-explanatory. So you always get exactly the data that you initially want to get via the query, no more and no less.

GraphQL is only a specification

You still have to implement GraphQL yourself. Fortunately, there are already established libraries that you can use, but basically the interface still has to be written by yourself.

The white paper of specifications is available on the official website and contains the complete definition of what a full-fledged GraphQL implementation must have. The first paragraph of the introduction reads as follows:

  • “GraphQL is a query language designed to build client applications by providing an intuitive and flexible syntax and system for describing their data requirements and interactions.”

Implementation of a GraphQL interface

Write query resolvers

A resolver is a piece of code that resolves the values for a GraphQL object. In Java, a resolver is a Java class that inherits from a GraphQL resolver class and assembles the desired objects via the data connections (Connectors).

The schema definition

Let's take a scheme that is supposed to expose blog posts via a GraphQL interface. The scheme would include a BlogPost object with at least a title and a field for the content. We want to have all blog posts aggregated via a query. It could look something like this:

type BlogPost {
  title: String!
  content: String!
}

type Query {
  getAllBlogPosts: [BlogPost]
}

schema {
  query: Query
}

So, we have the GraphQL schema and thus the domain definition. Now we want to provide our Java-based GraphQL server with resolvers in order to aggregate all this data. First we need to recreate the BlogPost object in Java. The best we can do is make a POJO class with the same name and fields:

public class BlogPost {
    
    private final String title;
    private final String description;

    public BlogPost(String title, String content) {
        this.title = title;
        this.content = content;
    }

    public String getTitle() {
        return title;
    }

    public String getcontent() {
        return content;
    }
}

Now we have to build an aggregation class that provides all BlogPosts. This class is necessary because we will not use a database connection for the example and only provide the data as an example. Let's call the BlogPostRepository. It manages all BlogPosts and can output them using a corresponding method getAllBlogPosts() and adds new BlogPosts using a method addNewBlogPost().

public class BlogPostRepository {
    
    private final List<BlogPost> blogPosts;

    public BlogPostRepository() {
        blogPosts = new ArrayList<>();
        blogPosts.add(new BlogPost("Mein erster Blogpost", "Lorem Ipsum"));
        blogPosts.add(new BlogPost("Mein zweiter Blogpost", "Dolor Sit Amet"));
    }

    public List<BlogPost> getAllBlogPosts() {
        return blogPosts;
    }
    
    public void addNewBlogPost(BlogPost blogPost) {
        blogPosts.add(blogPost);
    }
}

Now we have, so to speak, our data and its connection is mocked. The next step is the resolver for the BlogPosts. This implements GraphQLRootResolver (graphql-java) and bears the class name of the blogPostResolver object to be resolved. This class implements our getAllBlogPost() query.

public class BlogPostResolver implements GraphQLRootResolver {
    
    private final BlogPostRepository blogPostRepository;

    public BlogPostResolver(BlogPostRepository blogPostRepository) {
        this.BlogPostRepository = blogPostRepository;
    }

    public List<BlogPost> getAllBlogPosts() {
        return blogPostRepository.getAllBlogPosts();
    }
}

Now we can integrate this resolver in our interface. For this we build a servlet that implements the SimpleGraphQLServlet class. The targeted endpoint is /graphql. We have to create an object of the type GraphQLSchema which has the Schema - file and knows the corresponding Resolvers, here the BlogPostResolver. It looks like this:

@WebServlet(urlPatterns = "/graphql")
public class GraphQLEndpoint extends SimpleGraphQLServlet {

    public GraphQLEndpoint() {
        super(buildSchema());
    }

    private static GraphQLSchema buildSchema() {
        BlogPostRepository BlogPostRepository = new BlogPostRepository();
        return SchemaParser.newParser()
                .file("schema.graphqls")
                .resolvers(new BlogPostResolver(blogPostRepository))
                .build()
                .makeExecutableSchema();
    }
}

Connect data sources

Usually you want to connect several data sources. To do this, you have to write a corresponding connector for each data source. The connector then transfers the necessary values to the respective resolver. The values are already known in advance via the domain definition of the GraphQL interface schema.

Finished implementations and tools

GraphQL was originally developed by Facebook. The story of its origins can be admired in an informative 30-minute documentary movie. The bottom line is that due to the complex requirements of the well-known Facebook wall, a more flexible and efficient interface to the actual data was required and a solution, now known as GraphQL, was worked on internally. In 2015 the implementation was made open source and the further development was shifted to its own GraphQL foundation. As for the Cloud Native Foundation, there is also a landscape for the GraphQL Foundation.

Since GraphQL is actually just a white paper, a specification, there are numerous implementations. Over time, certain libraries and implementations have proven themselves. Here is a small list of the ecosystem around GraphQL:

GraphQL ecosystem

There is a lot more to write about GraphQL, but here we have explained the basics of how to use GraphQL and how to use it to design the appropriate interface for your next project.

Stay tuned!

Further links and resources

So what’s this GraphQL thing I keep hearing about? | freeCodeCamp

GraphQL concepts I wish someone explained to me a year ago | Naresh Bhatia @ Medium

GraphQL Explained in 100 Seconds | Fireship

Building Modern APIs with GraphQL | AWS Summit 2019

GraphQL: The Documentary | Honeypot


This text was automatically translated with our golang markdown translator.

Raffael Schneider – crafter, disruptor, free spirit. As a fervent software craftsmanship, Raffael likes to write about programming languages and software resilience in modern distributed systems. Be it DevOps, SRE or systems architecture, he always got a new way of approaching things.

GraphQL – API für Ihre Schnittstelle

28.04.2021 Raffael Schneider
Mobile Cloud Tech api arch golang k8s microservices handson

Die Schnittstelle ist Alles

Schnittstellen sind mitunter eines der wichtigsten Aspekten bei der Entwicklung von Software-Systemen. Klassisch wird über eine REST-Schnittstelle Daten eines Services an zweite exponiert. In einem von uns kürzlich erschienenen Beitrag hatten wir uns angeschaut wie man eine Schnittstelle mit gRPC implementieren kann. Dabei setzt gRPC auf die Variante von einer Remote Procedure Call wobei die Schnittstelle mit Protobuf vordefiniert wurde und somit typisiert Funktionsaufrufe auf Zielsystemen ermöglicht. Dies bringt gewisse Vorteile gegenüber einer REST-Schnittstelle, da die Schnittstelle explizit deklariert wurde und die Art und Weise wie ein Funktionsaufruf gemacht wird im Verhältnis schneller ist.

Wenn nicht REST oder gRPC, dann GraphQL !

Es gibt eine weitere Art wie man Daten eines Services alternativ exponieren kann; nämlich als Suchanfrage, zu Englisch als Query Language. Die Idee dabei ist, dass die Suchanfrage, oder auch Query genannt, sich identisch wie eine Query an eine Datenbank oder an eine Suchmaschine wie Apache Solr verhält. Die Suchanfrage beinhaltet nur die Suchbegriffe, die auch für den jeweiligen Fall benötigt werden. Eines der Vorraussetzungen an das Zielsystem ist dass dieses bereits alle möglichen Suchbegriffe kennt und bereitstellt. Genau dies macht GraphQL – die Query Language für Ihre zukünftige such-fähige API.

Wie bitte nochmal ?

GraphQL beschreibt den Aufbau der Schnittstelle in folgenden Schritten:

  1. Beschreibe deine Daten
type Project {
 name: String
 tagline: String
 contributors: [User] 
}

Hier ein Datentyp Project mit 3 Einträgen, das letzere ein Array von Typ User. Die Gesamtheit aller definierten Datentypen wird Schema genannt und wird später nochmals erklärt.

  1. Suche nach dem was du haben möchtest
{
 project(name: "GraphQL") {
   tagline
 }
}

Das ist eine Query. Sie sucht nach der Tagline innerhalb des Typs project mit eindeutigen Namen “GraphQL”.

  1. Erhalte verständliche Suchresultate
{
 "project": {
   "tagline": "A query language for APIs"
 }
}

Das Suchergebniss ist genau wie Query strukturiert und enthält hier einen vorhandene Tagline.

Das ist die einfachste und schnellste Beschreibung wie sich eine GraphQL-Schnittstelle verhalten soll.

Vorteile einer GraphQL-Schnittstelle

Also, Software-System erfordern Datenaustausch der einzelnen Systemkomponenten. Service A holt sich von Service B gewisse Daten. Oft werden in der Business-Logik nicht immer alle Daten die von Service B exponiert werden auch tatsächlich gebraucht. Somit ist das Aufbereiten und Exponieren von vorgefertigten Datenstrukturen –wie typischerweise bei einer REST-Schnittstelle– nicht immer effizient. Klar, man kann dem REST-Endpunkt eine gewisse Anzahl Parametern mitgeben um sodass gewünschte Resultat zu bekommen, aber man ist sehr eingeschränkt und unflexibel.

GraphQL bietet einen Zwischenschritt in Form eines GraphQL-Server, der alle Datenquellen aggregiert und diese dem Client bereitstellt.

Typisierter Graph mit dem GraphQL-Schema

Das Hauptstück einer GraphQL-Implementation ist das GraphQL-Schema, ab hier einfach nur Schema genannt. Das Schema ist die Domain-Definition aller Felder die in dem Graph verbunden sind. Bei jeder GraphQL-Schnittstelle gibt es ein Schema, welches bereits im voraus definiert was alles vorhanden ist und somit bestimmt wonach man suchen kann.

Das Schema kann zum Beispiel für eine Blogpost-Schnittstelle wie folgt aussehen:

type Query {
  getAllBlogs(): [BlogPost]
  getBlogPost(id: ID!): BlogPost
}

type Mutation {
  addBlogPost(title: String!, content: String!, authorID: ID!): BlogPost!
}

type BlogPost {
  id: ID!
  title: String!
  content: String!
  hasAuthor: Author!
}

type Author {
  id: ID!
  name: String!
  hasBlog: [BlogPost]
}

Wir sehen bereits, dass es unterschiedliche Typendefintionen gibt:

  • Query
    Der type Query bezeichnet ein aufrufbare, vorgefertige Query. In diesem Fall kann man alle Blogposts mit getAllBlogs() oder einen einzelnen Blogpost mit getBlogPost() anzeigen lassen wobei man mit einen id-Parameter den eindeutigen Identifiert mitgeben kann.

    Merke: das Bang ! beudeutet dass dieser Wert vorhanden sein muss.

  • Mutation
    Der type Mutation bezeichnet eine aufrufbare, vorgefertigte Funktion, die Werte in der Schnittstelle modifizieren kann. Im Beispiel kann man über addBlogPost() einen neuen Blogpost anlegen. Dabei muss zwingend der Parameter Titel title, den Inhalt content und den eindeutigen Autoren-Identifier authorID mitgegeben werden.

  • Objekt
    Ein Objekt ist jedes strukturierter Typ innerhalb des Graphs. In obigen Beispiel mit der Blog-Schnittstelle wird ein Objekt BlogPost mit den Feldern id, title, content und hasAuthor und ein zweites Objekt Author mit den Feldern id, name und hasBlog definiert. Diese kann man auch ohne eine vorgefertigte Query-Funktion parsen und auswerten.

  • Skalar
    Ein Skalar-Typ ist jegliches Feld innerhalb eines strukturierten Objektes. In diesem Falle kann ist title und content beispielsweise ein Skalar-Feld mit Typ String welches nicht null sein darf. Ein Skalar-Feld kann auch ein Array von einzelnen Skalar-Werten.

    Merke: Die Grundtypen sind für GraphQL Int (32-bit), Float (UTF-8), String, Boolean, und die ID (wie String serialisiert).

Zur Vollständigkeit sei angemerkt, dass es noch weitere Typen gibt. Darunter gehören Enums, Listen, Union, Interfaces, un Input Types. Diese können Sie in der offiziellen Dokumentation zum Schema und Typen nachschauen.

Underfetching und Overfetching

Ein zweiter gewichtiger Vorteil von GraphQL ist das adequate Auflösen der eigentlich geforderten Daten. Es wird nicht zu viel, genannt Overfetching, aber auch nicht zu wenig, genannt Underfetching, geliefert. Somit ist die Schnittstellen effizient und, falls richtig implementiert, stets performanter.

  • Underfetching ist wenn man nicht alle Daten in einer Response geliefert werden. Oft werden nicht alle Resources ausgegeben und nur Referenzen zu weiteren Resources angeben was weitere Requests erfordert.

    Eine REST-API könne beispielsweise CMS-Daten bereitstellen. Dabei würde beim Aufruf des API-Endpunkt /cms/getAllBlogPosts?published=yes nicht alle gewünschten Werte, sondern Referenzen die weitere REST-Aufrufe erfordern würden, der BlogPosts als Response zurückkommen.

  • Overfetching ist wenn mehr als die gewollten Daten in einer Response geliefert werden. Das ist das genaue Gegenteil von Underfetching. Das heisst, dass bei einem Aufruf einer REST-API zuviele Werte in der Response stehen als gewünscht und somit die Schnittstelle nicht so effizient wäre.

Ein kurzes Wort zu Caching

Natürlich stellt sich schnell die Frage ob GraphQL auch das Caching von Abfragen übernehmen kann. Der GraphQL-Server, welcher die Datensätze aggregiert speichert nicht diese aber nicht. Deswegen ist Client-seitiges Caching oder gar Server-seitiges Caching separat zu implementieren und zu berücksichtigen.

Mit GraphiQL ein paar Queries testen

GraphiQL ist die offizielle Referenz-Implementation einer GraphQL-IDE. Damit kann man Queries schreiben, testen und analysieren. Die IDE kann man somit für die eigene Schnittstelle zur Verfügung stellen um eine graphische Oberfläche zu bieten.

Wie man oben sehr schön sehen kann, gibt es auch eine Live-Demo davon, womit man sehr gut die ersten Schritte mit GraphQL wagen kann. Mit GraphiQL lassen sich alle möglichen Queries testen und man kann auch das Schema komplett darstellen. Das Schema lässt sich in Fenster rechts betrachten. Das sieht hier etwa so aus:

Versuchshalber habe ich folgende Query geschrieben, welche für die Spezies mit speciesID:1 dessen Namen name, dessen Identifier id, dessen Bezeichnung designation und dessen Sprache language als Resultat ausgeben soll.

query {
  species(speciesID:1) {
    name
    id
    designation
    language
  }
}

Die Query, falls korrekt ausgeführt, liefert folgendes eher spassiges Ergebnis:

{
  "data": {
    "species": {
      "name": "Human",
      "id": "c3BlY2llczox",
      "designation": "sentient",
      "language": "Galactic Basic"
    }
  }
}

Die Spezies mit Name “Human”, Identifier “c3BlY2llczox“, Bezeichnung “sentient“ und Sprache “Galactic Basic“ ist das Resultat selbsterklärend. Man bekommt somit immer genau die Daten, die man initial über die Query auch bekommen will, nicht mehr und nicht weniger.

GraphQL ist nur eine Spezifikation

Implementieren müssen Sie GraphQL immer noch selber. Zum Glück gibt es bereits etablierte Libraries, die man nutzen kann, aber grundsätzlich muss die Schnittstelle immer noch selber geschrieben werden.

Das White Paper der Spezifikation ist auf der offiziellen Webseite abrufbar und beinhaltet die komplette Definition was eine vollwertige GraphQL-Implementation aufweisen muss. Der erste Paragraph der Einleitung liest sich wie folgt:

“GraphQL is a query language designed to build client applications by providing an intuitive and flexible syntax and system for describing their data requirements and interactions.”

Implementierung einer GraphQL-Schnittstelle

Query-Resolvers schreiben

Ein Resolver ist ein Code-Baustein, dass die Werte für ein GraphQL-Objekt auflöst. In Java ist ein Resolver eine Java-Klasse, die von einer GraphQL-Resolver-Klasse erbt und die gewünschten Objekte über die Daten-Anbindungen (Connectors) zusammenbaut.

Die Schema-Definition

Nehmen wir ein Schema, dass über eine GraphQL-Schnittstelle Blog-Posts exponieren soll. Das Schema würde ein Objekt BlogPost mit mindestens einem Titel und ein Feld für den Content beinhalten. Dabei wollen wir über eine Query alle Blog-Posts aggregiert bekommen. Das könnte dann etwa so aussehen:

type BlogPost {
  title: String!
  content: String!
}

type Query {
  getAllBlogPosts: [BlogPost]
}

schema {
  query: Query
}

So, das GraphQL-Schema und somit die Domain-Definition haben wir. Jetzt wollen wir unseren Java-basierten GraphQL-Server mit Resolvern versehen, um diese Daten alle zu aggregieren. Zuerst müssen wir das Objekt BlogPost in Java nachbilden. Am besten machen wir eine POJO-Klasse mit dem gleichen Namen und Feldern:

public class BlogPost {
    
    private final String title;
    private final String description;

    public BlogPost(String title, String content) {
        this.title = title;
        this.content = content;
    }

    public String getTitle() {
        return title;
    }

    public String getcontent() {
        return content;
    }
}

Jetzt müssen wir eine Aggregationsklasse bauen, welche alle BlogPosts zur Verfügung stellt. Diese Klasse ist notwendig, da wir für das Beispiel keine Datenbank-Anbindung verwenden werden und nur exemplarisch die Daten bereitstellen. Nennen wir die BlogPostRepository. Sie verwaltet alle BlogPosts und kann diese über eine entsprechende Methode getAllBlogPosts() ausgeben und fügt neue BlogPosts über eine Methode addNewBlogPost() hinzu.

public class BlogPostRepository {
    
    private final List<BlogPost> blogPosts;

    public BlogPostRepository() {
        blogPosts = new ArrayList<>();
        blogPosts.add(new BlogPost("Mein erster Blogpost", "Lorem Ipsum"));
        blogPosts.add(new BlogPost("Mein zweiter Blogpost", "Dolor Sit Amet"));
    }

    public List<BlogPost> getAllBlogPosts() {
        return blogPosts;
    }
    
    public void addNewBlogPost(BlogPost blogPost) {
        blogPosts.add(blogPost);
    }
}

Jetzt haben wir sozusagen unsere Daten, sowie dessen Anbindung gemocked. Der nächste Schritt ist der Resolver für die BlogPosts. Dieser implementiert hier GraphQLRootResolver (graphql-java) und trägt den Klassennamen des aufzulösenden Objektes BlogPostResolver. Diese Klasse implementiert unsere getAllBlogPost()-Query.

public class BlogPostResolver implements GraphQLRootResolver {
    
    private final BlogPostRepository blogPostRepository;

    public BlogPostResolver(BlogPostRepository blogPostRepository) {
        this.BlogPostRepository = blogPostRepository;
    }

    public List<BlogPost> getAllBlogPosts() {
        return blogPostRepository.getAllBlogPosts();
    }
}

Jetzt können wir diesen Resolver in unserer Schnittstelle einbinden. Dazu bauen wir ein Servlet, welches die SimpleGraphQLServlet-Klasse implementiert. Der angestrebte Endpunkt ist /graphql. Wir müssen uns ein Objekt von Typ GraphQLSchema erstellen welches über das Schema-File verfügt, sowie die entsprechenden Resolvern, hier der BlogPostResolver, kennt. Das sieht wie folgt aus:

@WebServlet(urlPatterns = "/graphql")
public class GraphQLEndpoint extends SimpleGraphQLServlet {

    public GraphQLEndpoint() {
        super(buildSchema());
    }

    private static GraphQLSchema buildSchema() {
        BlogPostRepository BlogPostRepository = new BlogPostRepository();
        return SchemaParser.newParser()
                .file("schema.graphqls")
                .resolvers(new BlogPostResolver(blogPostRepository))
                .build()
                .makeExecutableSchema();
    }
}

Datasources anbinden

Normalerweise möchte man mehrere Datenquellen, sogenannte Datasources anbinden. Dazu muss man für jede Datenquelle einen entsprechenden Connector schreiben. Der Connector übergibt dann dem jeweiligen Resolver die nötigen Werte. Die Werte ist über die Domain-Definition vom Schema der GraphQL-Schnittstelle bereits im voraus bekannt.

Fertige Implementationen und Tools

GraphQL wurde ursprünglich von Facebook entwickelt. Die Entstehungsgeschichte kann in einem aufschlussreichen 30-Minütigen Dokumentarfilm bestaunt werden. Die Quintessenz ist die, dass durch das komplexen Requirements der bekannten Facebook-Wall einer flexibleren und effizienteren Schnittstelle zu den eigentlichen Daten erforderlich war und dadurch intern an einer Lösung, heute bekannt als GraphQL, gearbeitet wurde. 2015 wurde die Implementation Open-Source gemacht und die Weiterentwicklung in eine eigene GraphQL Foundation verlagert. Es gibt wie für die Cloud Native Foundation auch für die GraphQL Foundation eine Landscape.

Da GraphQL eigentlich nur ein White Paper, eine Spezifikation ist, gibt es zahlreiche Implementationen. Mit der Zeit haben sich gewisse Libraries und Implementation bewährt. Hier eine kleine Auflistung des Ökosystems rund um GraphQL:

GraphQL Ökosystem

Es gibt noch viel mehr über GraphQL zu schreiben, aber hier haben wir die Grundlagen erläutert wie man GraphQL nutzen kann und wie man damit die adäquate Schnittstelle für ihr nächstes Projekt konzipieren kann.

Stay tuned!

Weiterführende Links und Ressourcen

So what’s this GraphQL thing I keep hearing about? | freeCodeCamp

GraphQL concepts I wish someone explained to me a year ago | Naresh Bhatia @ Medium

GraphQL Explained in 100 Seconds | Fireship

Building Modern APIs with GraphQL | AWS Summit 2019

GraphQL: The Documentary | Honeypot

Raffael Schneider – Crafter, Disruptor, Freethinker. Als leidenschaftlicher Software-Crafter schreibt Raffael gerne über Programmiersprachen und Resilienz in modernen verteilten Systemen. Ob DevOps, SRE oder Systemarchitektur, Raffael weiss stets wie man diese Dinge auf eine neue Weise betrachten kann.