Getting started with Vue.js

04.02.2021 Ricky Elfner
Mobile vuejs foss javascript frontend framework handson tutorial howto

What is Vue.js?

Vue.js is another JavaScript framework. However with that big difference that you can start very simply, but still have the opportunity to gradually add more tools and features. Thus it is possible for you to build simple widgets or else whole applications. Vue.js focuses on component-oriented development, as it is already the case with Angular or React. The developers describe their own open source framework as a very accessible, versatile and powerful web framework with which maintainable and testable applications can be written.

Entry into VueJS

Before you can start coding with Vue.js, you must have NodeJS installed. Once you have this, you can You install the vue-cli helper. This helps you to create and manage Vue.js applications.

  npm install -g @vue/cli

When the installation is complete, you can switch to the folder within the terminal in which you want to create your Vue.js app. You can start the creation process as follows:

  vue create meine-vue-app

You then have to decide between features that you want to install. Either take that standard settings of Vue.js or choose yourself from a given list.

As soon as the creation of the project is complete, you can switch to the folder provided and the start local server.

  npm run serve

As a result, you can access the application via the following IP address as standard: http://localhost:8080/ As soon as you have created an application, you can use the command code . to open your project folder directly in VS code.

Structure of a component

A component in Vue.js is usually divided into three parts. The first section is formed by a <template> area. The structure of the component is shown using HTML tags.

    <template>
        <div>
    
        </div>
    </template>

The next area is identified by a <script> field. The import statements can be found within it instead, as does the export definition for the component itself.

    <script>
    import { } from " ";
    
    export default {
    
    }
    </script>

The last part is for styling the component. As known from HTML, this area becomes described by the <stlye> tag.

    <style>
    
    </style>

Using a component

If you have created your own component, it must have at least the two parts <script> and <template> included. In any case, you must determine the name of the component when exporting so that you can import and use the component in another component. However, we will see in the next steps how this export will be filled with further information.

export default {
  name: 'MeineButtons'
}

If you now want to use this component in the standard App.vue component, for example, you have to import the component MeineButtons.vue and also specify it as a component in the export statement.

    <script>
        import MeineButtons from "./components/MeineButtons";
        
        export default {
          name: 'App',
          components: {
            MeineButtons
          },
          data() {
          }
        }
    </script>

You can then use the newly imported components in the <template> section above, as follows:

    <template>
      <div id="app">
          <MeineButtons />
      </div>
    </template>

Event handling - v-on

If you want to react to different DOM events, you need the v-on: directive. This is how you can run JavaScript code as soon as the event is triggered. After the colon, you must first determine the desired event. The example below is a click event. After this you can either specify the desired JavaScript code directly or call a method using the equals sign. Instead of v-on: there is the shorthand version with an @ sign.

    <button @click="zaehler += 1" >+ 1</button>
        <p>{{ zaehler }}</p>
    <button v-on:click="minusEins">- 1</button>

In this example the first button uses the shorthand version @click and JavaScript code directly behind it. The second button uses the standard variant with v-on:. The method minus1 is used here for this purpose.

Applying methods

As you can see in the previous example, both functions use a variable zaehler. You define the variable in the data() part, but you have to define the method to subdivide it within the methods area. If you have defined the method as shown below, you can now do so as in the above example can be called.

export default {
  name: 'MeineButtons',
  components: {
  },
  data() {
    return {
        zaehler: 0,
    }
  },
  methods: {
    minusEins(){
      this.counter -= 1;
    }
  }
}

Custom Events

You will certainly often have the case that you want to give values from a child component to a parent component. To do this, you need the ability to react to an event and, in addition, the functionality $emit().

In this example it is the button within the component MeineButtons.vue. You still have a new @click event, which calls the method meinCustomEvent. The method takes additionally the variable zaehler as a parameter.

    <button @click="minusEins" @click="meinCustomEvent(zaehler)">- 1</button>

Now you can see the implementation of the previously mentioned method in the section methods. Here the special feature of the method is called with this.$emit(). As the first parameter you have to enter the name via which can be accessed from the parent class. The second parameter is the variable that you want to pass on "up".

    methods: {
        meinCustomEvent(zaehler) {
          this.$emit('callMeinCustomEvent', zaehler);
        }
      }

Now all you have to do is implement the application in the parent class (App.vue). For this you use the imported component named <MeineButtons>. You can then use the event defined in the previous step called callMeinCustomEvent. As soon as this event is triggered, the method meinCustomEventAusfuehren will be called.

    <MeineButtons @callMeinCustomEvent="meinCustomEventAusfuehren"/>

Next, of course, you'll also need to create the meinCustomEventAusfuehren method. This needs a parameter which you pass "up" in from the MeineButtons component. In this case, it's supposed to be a message on the screen. In this example this is the zaheler variable from MeineButtons.vue.

    methods: {
        meinCustomEventAusfuehren(meineNachricht) {
          alert(meineNachricht)
        }   
      }

bindings

For example, would you like a button, a component or any other element to have a class or a style added, which should change depending on the situation of an attribute. There is also the v-bind: directive. In other frameworks this is also known as 2-way data binding. Using the example, you can see that a class negativ has been added to one of the buttons and a class positv has been added to the other button. Depending on whether the counter variable is greater than or less than zero, this is determined using true or false. Here, too, there is a shorter notation, you can simply omit v-bind and only write :class.

    <button @click="zaehler += 1"  v-bind:class="{'positiv' :  zaehler > 0} ">+ 1</button>
        <p>{{ zaehler }}</p>
    <button v-on:click="minusEins"  :class="{'negativ' :  zaehler < 0}">- 1</button>

Now the classes should get a separate style, you can do this in the style section, create a class for both and determine the changes you want.

<style>
    .positiv {
    background-color: green;
}
    .negativ {
    background-color: red;
}
</style>

Other directives from VueJS are v-if and v-for.

If this blog post has piqued your interest, there is a tutorial with which helps you zo create a to-do list.


This text was automatically translated with our golang markdown translator.

Ricky Elfner - thinker, survivor, gadget collector. He is always on the lookout for new innovational potentials, as well as tech news, so that he can always write about current topics.

Erste Schritte mit Vue.js

04.02.2021 Ricky Elfner
Mobile vuejs foss javascript frontend framework handson tutorial howto

Was ist Vue.js?

Vue.js ist ein weiteres JavaScript Framework. Jedoch mit dem grossen Unterschied, dass man sehr simpel beginnen kann, jedoch immer noch die Möglichkeit hat, sich nach und nach weitere Tools und Features hinzuzufügen. Somit ist es Ihnen möglich, einfache Widgets zu bauen oder aber auch ganze Applikationen. Dabei wird bei Vue.js auf komponentenorientierte Entwicklung gesetzt, wie es bereits bei Angular oder React bekannt ist. Die Entwickler beschreiben ihr eigenes OpenSource Framework selbst als ein sehr zugängliches, vielseitiges und leistungsfähiges Web-Framework, mit welchem wartbare und testbare Anwendungen geschrieben werden können.

Einstieg in VueJS

Bevor Sie mit dem Coden mit Vue.js beginnen können, müssen Sie NodeJS installiert haben. Sobald Sie dies haben, können Sie den vue-cli Helfer installieren. Dieser hilft Ihnen beim Erstellen und Verwalten von Vue.js Applikationen.

  npm install -g @vue/cli

Wenn die Installation abgeschlossen ist, können Sie innerhalb des Terminals in den Ordner wechseln, in dem Sie Ihre Vue.js App erstellen möchten. Den Erstellungsvorgang können Sie wie folgt starten:

  vue create meine-vue-app

Dabei müssen Sie anschliessend zwischen Features entscheiden, die Sie installieren möchten. Entweder nehmen Sie die Standardeinstellungen von Vue.js oder wählen selbst aus einer gegebenen Liste aus.

Sobald die Erstellung des Projekts abgeschlossen ist, können Sie in den dadurch bereitgestellten Ordner wechseln und den lokalen Server starten.

  npm run serve

In Folge dessen können Sie standardmässig über folgende IP-Adresse auf die Applikation zugreifen: http://localhost:8080/ Sobald Sie eine Applikation erstellt haben, können Sie Ihr Projekt-Ordner mit dem Befehl code . direkt in VS Code öffnen.

Aufbau einer Komponente

Eine Komponente in Vue.js ist meist in drei Teile unterteilt. Der erste Abschnitt wird durch eine <template>-Area gebildet. Darin wird der Aufbau der Komponente mithilfe von HTML-Tags vorgenommen.

    <template>
        <div>
    
        </div>
    </template>

Der nächste Bereich wird durch ein <script> Feld gekennzeichnet. Innerhalb davon finden die Import-Statements statt, ebenso wie die export Definition für die Komponente selbst.

    <script>
    import { } from " ";
    
    export default {
    
    }
    </script>

Der letzte Bestandteil ist für das Styling der Komponente vorgesehen. Wie von HTML bekannt, wird dieser Bereich durch das <stlye> Tag beschrieben.

    <style>
    
    </style>

Verwenden einer Komponente

Wenn Sie eine eigene Komponente erstellt haben, muss diese mindestens die beiden Teile <script> und <template> enthalten. Dabei müssen Sie auf jeden Fall beim Export den Namen der Komponente bestimmen, damit Sie die Komponente in einer anderen Komponente importieren und verwenden können. Sie werden jedoch in den nächsten Schritten sehen, wie sich dieser Export mit weiteren Informationen füllen wird.

export default {
  name: 'MeineButtons'
}

Möchte Sie nun diese Komponente beispielsweise in der Standard App.vue Komponente verwenden, müssen Sie die Komponente MeineButtons.vue importieren und zusätzlich im Export-Statement als Komponente angeben.

    <script>
        import MeineButtons from "./components/MeineButtons";
        
        export default {
          name: 'App',
          components: {
            MeineButtons
          },
          data() {
          }
        }
    </script>

Anschliessend können Sie die neu importierte Komponenten in dem darüber liegenden <template>-Abschnitt, wie folgt verwenden:

    <template>
      <div id="app">
          <MeineButtons />
      </div>
    </template>

Event-Handling - v-on

Möchten Sie auf verschiedene DOM Events reagieren, benötigen Sie hierfür die v-on: Direktive. Dadurch ist es Ihnen möglich, JavaScript Code laufen zu lassen, sobald das Event getriggert wird. Nach dem Doppelpunkt müssen Sie zunächst das gewünschte Event bestimmen. In dem unteren Beispiel handelt es sich um ein click-Event. Nach dem Gleichheitszeichen können Sie entweder direkt den gewünschten JavaScriptCode angeben oder einen Methodenaufruf ausführen. Anstatt v-on: gibt es noch die Shorthand Version mit einem @-Zeichen.

    <button @click="zaehler += 1" >+ 1</button>
        <p>{{ zaehler }}</p>
    <button v-on:click="minusEins">- 1</button>

In diesem Beispiel verwendet der erste Button die Shorthand-Version @click und JavaScript Code direkt dahinter. Bei dem zweiten Button wird die Standardvariante mit v-on: verwendet. Dafür wird hier die Methode minus1 aufgerufen.

Anwenden von Methoden

Wie Sie in dem vorherigen Beispiel sehen können, wird bei beiden Funktionen ein Variable zaehler genutzt. Die Variable definieren sie in dem Teil data(), die Methode dagegen müssen Sie zur Unterteilung innerhalb des methods-Bereich definieren. Wenn Sie die Methode wie unten gezeigt definiert haben, können diese nun wie im oberen Beispiel aufgerufen werden.

export default {
  name: 'MeineButtons',
  components: {
  },
  data() {
    return {
        zaehler: 0,
    }
  },
  methods: {
    minusEins(){
      this.counter -= 1;
    }
  }
}

Custom Events

Sie werden bestimmt öfters den Fall haben, dass Sie Werte von einer Child-Komponente zu einer Parent-Komponente geben wollen. Dafür benötigen Sie die Möglichkeit, auf ein Event zu reagieren und zusätzlich die Funktionalität $emit().

In diesem Beispiel handelt es sich um den Button innerhalb der Komponente MeineButtons.vue. Des Weiteren sehen Sie aber noch eine neues @click-Event, welcher die Methode meinCustomEventaufruft. Die Methode nimmt zusätzlich noch die Variable zaehler als Parameter entgegen.

    <button @click="minusEins" @click="meinCustomEvent(zaehler)">- 1</button>

Nun können Sie in dem Abschnitt methods die dazugehörige Implementierung der zuvor erwähnten Methode sehen. Hier ist das Besondere der Methoden-Aufruf mit this.$emit(). Als ersten Parameter müssen Sie den Namen angeben, über den aus der Parent-Klasse darauf zugegriffen werden kann. Der zweite Parameter ist die Variable, die Sie nach "oben" weitergeben wollen.

    methods: {
        meinCustomEvent(zaehler) {
          this.$emit('callMeinCustomEvent', zaehler);
        }
      }

Nun müssen Sie nur noch die Anwendung in der Parent-Klasse (App.vue) implementieren. Dafür nutzen Sie die importierte Komponente namens <MeineButtons>. Anschliessend können Sie das im vorherigen Schritt definierte Event callMeinCustomEvent angeben. Sobald dieses Event getriggert wird, soll die Methode meinCustomEventAusfuehren aufgerufen werden.

    <MeineButtons @callMeinCustomEvent="meinCustomEventAusfuehren"/>

Als Nächstes müssen Sie natürlich auch noch die Methode meinCustomEventAusfuehren erstellen. Diese benötigt einen Parameter, welchen Sie in aus der MeineButtons Komponente nach "oben" reichen. In diesem Fall soll es als Nachricht auf dem Bildschirm ausgegeben werden. Dieser ist in diesem Beispiel die zaheler Variable aus MeineButtons.vue.

    methods: {
        meinCustomEventAusfuehren(meineNachricht) {
          alert(meineNachricht)
        }   
      }

Bindings

Möchten Sie beispielsweise einem Button, einer Komponente oder sonst irgend einem Element eine Klasse oder ein Style hinzufügen, welches sich je nach Situation ändern soll, macht man die am besten über ein Attribut. Dazu gibt es die Direktive v-bind:. In anderen Frameworks ist dies auch als 2-Way-Data-Binding bekannt. Anhand des Beispiels können Sie sehen, dass dem einen Button eine Klasse negativ und dem anderen Button eine Klasse positv hinzugefügt werden. Je nachdem, ob die Zähler Variable grösser oder kleiner Null ist, wird diese anhand von true oder false gesetzt. Auch hier gibt es eine kürzere Schreibweise, Sie können einfach v-bind weglassen und nur :class schreiben.

    <button @click="zaehler += 1"  v-bind:class="{'positiv' :  zaehler > 0} ">+ 1</button>
        <p>{{ zaehler }}</p>
    <button v-on:click="minusEins"  :class="{'negativ' :  zaehler < 0}">- 1</button>

Nun sollen die Klassen einen separaten Style bekommen, dazu können Sie in dem Style-Abschnitt die beiden Klasse anlegen und die gewünschten Änderungen bestimmen.

<style>
    .positiv {
    background-color: green;
}
    .negativ {
    background-color: red;
}
</style>

Weitere Direktiven von VueJS währen noch v-if und v-for.

Falls dieser Blog-Beitrag Ihr Interesse geweckt hat, gibt es ein Tutorial, mit welchen Sie eine ToDo-Liste erstellen können

Ricky Elfner – Denker, Überlebenskünstler, Gadget-Sammler. Dabei ist er immer auf der Suche nach neuen Innovationen, sowie Tech News, um immer über aktuelle Themen schreiben zu können.