eBPF-based networking with Cilium - What is it and what can it do?

20.10.2021 Tom Trapp
Cloud DevOps k8s devops framework handson

Cilium is an open-source eBPF-based networking, security, and observability plugin for Kubernetes and other container orchestration tools. Cilium is mainly written in Golang. Behind Cilium is the company Isovalent; the first commit at Cilium is now 6 years ago. Before we take a closer look at Cilium, let's understand together what eBPF is and exactly what makes it so special.

eBPF

Nowadays, the Linux system is very widespread and deep in the cloud landscape. Almost every container is based on a Linux kernel. Topics and tools such as observability & security must always be installed and configured 'on top' in the so-called User space of the system. Unfortunately, in this User Space you have no or only limited access to system and kernel resources. Certain control mechanisms must always be implemented additionally - for example as a sidecar proxy. This often results in higher complexity and higher latency. There is already a way to add functionality to the kernel: Kernel Modules. However, these are usually difficult to implement and represent a major risk during the operating system's runtime. If something goes wrong in the code, the entire kernel crashed and thus also the container to be operated.

eBPF (extended Berkeley Packet Filter) represents a new way to run code in the kernel. It is also often described as a General purpose execution engine. This gives you the opportunity to teach the kernel new functionalities without endangering the running system.

From a technical point of view, the bytecode of a program or tool in user space is imported into eBPF using bdf() system call. A JIT-compiler (JIT stands for Just In Time) then compiles this bytecode to a very system-near native machine code. The program is then bound to specific hooks and events in kernel space and executed there. You can then bind your own function to each of these hooks and, for example, ban all IPv4 Traffic, or collect constant metrics about running processes.

The so-called Verifier ensures security and stability. Here Infinite Loops, Crashes, etc. are intercepted and traded. Thus, the actual kernel is not affected by errors in the code. In addition, it ensures safety with timely scheduling and other, further methods; so that no memory with sensitive data is released.

Another benefit is access to different kernel helper functions and data types. There is also a Kernel memory area which can be used to share different key/value data with other eBPF programs or even User Space programs.

Source: 09.10.2021 - https://ebpf.io/what-is-ebpf

The areas of application are wide-ranging here, mostly you will find eBPF in topics such as networking, tracing, monitoring & security because you have direct access to the resources.

Big players such as Facebook, Netflix or Google are already using eBPF. Not least because of this, eBPF has become one of the fastest growing subsystems of the GNU/Linux operating system.

Tooling

The tooling in eBPF is very diverse and there are different compilers and toolchains that can, for example, generate ePBF-capable bytecode from a normal C program. Toolchains and compiler targets for other languages such as Python, Golang, Rust are also offered here.

eBPF itself provides a large number of helper functions and programs as interfaces to almost all native components such as storage, hardware, network, and more. The currently available tools can be found at ebpf.io/projects. The number of tools shows very well that the whole system is still very young and is still in a growth phase.

eBPF in Cloud Native Environments

Since, as already mentioned, the Linux kernel is anchored very deeply in the cloud landscape, eBPF is ideal for use in cloud native applications and environments. For example, we ePBF can replace the well-known IP tables, which are slow and sluggish in contrast to eBPF. Likewise, when using a proxy sidecar container with Envoy, for example, the network process can be simplified enormously.

Both allow almost identical functionality, when using eBPF there are 'under the hood' much fewer self-implemented processes and complex architectures. The areas of application and use cases are very diverse, since you can create and implement your own functionalities in the kernel (doesn't matter of on a node or in a container).

Cilium

Cilium is one of the first and most advanced use cases of eBPF, which aims to bring the benefits of eBPF to the Kubernetes world. It addresses the new needs for scalability, security, and visibility that container workloads have today. Basically, the field of application of Cilium can be divided into three large areas:

  • Networking
  • Observability
  • Security

Networking

Cilium acts as a CNI implementation (CNI stands for Cluster Network Interface) which specializes in scalable, very large container workloads. Here we find the classic control, data plane structure again. eBPF (instead of IP-Tables) is used here for load balancing, tracing and ingress/egress rules. Another feature is the service-based local balancing, which also fully relies on eBPF.

Several clusters can be connected with Cilium's Cluster Mesh: This is used, for example, in the case of failover, recovery or geo-splitting and can be operated without additional gateways or proxies. Technologies such as tunneling or routing are used here.

Observability

Cilium provides network monitoring which, according to its own statements, is Identify Aware. This means information can be logged and tracked far more than just IP. By using eBPF, all Kubernetes labels for internal traffic as well as DNS names or similar can be used. for external traffic. This is especially useful when troubleshooting or analyzing connectivity issues.

In addition, all layer 3, 4 or 7 metrics are also delivered in a Prometheus-compatible format. Additional information about Network Policies is provided here. You can see directly from the Traffic Entry whether something was blocked and by which Network Policy.

Another big advantage is the so-called Api-Award Network Observability. Traditional firewalls are limited to the IP and TCP layers, while Cilium can provide Layer 7 API-based information on protocols such as HTTP, gRPC and Kafka. This data is also available for Huddle and Prometheus. HTTP(S) traffic can also be examined closely using TLS Interception.

Security

Cilium fundamentally implements and expands the Kubernetes Network Policy and also offers, in addition to label and CIDR matching, DNS and API-aware matching. For example, access to certain API paths can be controlled and, if necessary, prevented via Cilium's Network Policy. This allows only certain services to be released in a real-world scenario, for example monitoring or maintenance endpoints.

The information about all network traffic already described in the previous section can be stored permanently and for a long time for audit or long-term analysis, e.g. in the event of an attack.

Using the so-called Transparent Encyption, Cilium ensures permanent encryption of the traffic within or between the cluster(s). Here, the kernel's own feature IP Sec is used, it only requires a one-time configuration in Cilium, no sidecar proxies or application changes.

Hands on

Cilium

Now let's install Cilium and get to know it a little better, for the sake of simplicity we'll use a locally installed K8s cluster with minikube.

If Minikube is not already installed, we can install it on macOS as follows:

brew install minikube

Then we start Minikube and install the Cilium CLI. This CLI allows us to install the actual part of Cilium, check the current status of the installation and enable or disable numerous features.

minikube start --network-plugin=cni

curl -L --remote-name-all https://github.com/cilium/cilium-cli/releases/latest/download/cilium-darwin-amd64.tar.gz{,.sha256sum}
shasum -a 256 -c cilium-darwin-amd64.tar.gz.sha256sum
sudo tar xzvfC cilium-darwin-amd64.tar.gz /usr/local/bin
rm cilium-darwin-amd64.tar.gz{,.sha256sum}

Now the Cilium CLI is ready and we can install Cilium ourselves in our Kubernetes cluster. The CLI recognizes our locally installed minikube and uses the best possible configuration for it.

cilium install

Via cilium status we can see the status of our installation and validate whether everything was installed correctly.

Fortunately, Cilium offers us a command for automated testing of our cluster installation:

cilium connectivity test

Hubble

Now we want to enable Hubble, Cilium's observability layer, and get cluster-wide information about the network and security layer. Additionally, here we enable the UI option to have a graphical interface.

In this step, we then install the Hubble client and forward the traffic to Huddle accordingly.

cilium hubble enable --ui

export HUBBLE_VERSION=$(curl -s https://raw.githubusercontent.com/cilium/hubble/master/stable.txt)
curl -L --remote-name-all https://github.com/cilium/hubble/releases/download/$HUBBLE_VERSION/hubble-darwin-amd64.tar.gz{,.sha256sum}
shasum -a 256 -c hubble-darwin-amd64.tar.gz.sha256sum
sudo tar xzvfC hubble-darwin-amd64.tar.gz /usr/local/bin
rm hubble-darwin-amd64.tar.gz{,.sha256sum}

cilium hubble port-forward&

Now we can check our installation with hubble status and query the so-called flow API with hubble observe to get information about the network traffic.

In addition, we can start the UI with cilium hubble ui, which can then be called up under http://localhost:12000/. Here we can now generate some traffic with cilium connectivity test and take a closer look at it in the UI.

Here we can see at a glance the connections between the individual pods, which calls were successful and other network information.

Now let's install a demo project and take a closer look at Network Policies and traffic. We can import and start this directly via kubectl.

kubectl create -f https://raw.githubusercontent.com/cilium/cilium/1.10.4/examples/minikube/http-sw-app.yaml

With the following command we can elicit certain information from the Cilium pod, for example, here we get all endpoints back. In Cilium, each pod corresponds to an endpoint.

kubectl -n kube-system exec <cilium-pod-name> -- cilium endpoint list

The output shows that no ingress or egress policy is currently applied.

This means that all our calls are allowed in the network and we can successfully execute the following two commands.

kubectl exec xwing -- curl -s -XPOST deathstar.default.svc.cluster.local/v1/request-landing
kubectl exec tiefighter -- curl -s -XPOST deathstar.default.svc.cluster.local/v1/request-landing

Now we get to know Cilium's first own object, the CiliumNetworkPolicy. As described above, this can be used to set additional matchings in contrast to the K8s standard NetworkPolicy.

This is how we restrict traffic to the 'deathstar' service on Layer 3 & 4.

cat <<EOF | kubectl apply -f -
apiVersion: "cilium.io/v2"
kind: CiliumNetworkPolicy
metadata:
  name: "rule1"
spec:
  description: "L3-L4 policy to restrict deathstar access to empire ships only"
  endpointSelector:
    matchLabels:
      org: empire
      class: deathstar
  ingress:
  - fromEndpoints:
    - matchLabels:
        org: empire
    toPorts:
    - ports:
      - port: "80"
        protocol: TCP
EOF

We then see that our first call from the 'xwing' service to the 'deathstar' service now fails with a timeout. In the Endpoint listing, we see that the Ingress policy is now enabled.

In addition to the layer 3 & 4 network policies, layer 7 network policies can also be used to block specific paths.

Conclusion

So what makes Cilium different from other network and observability providers? Unfortunately, this question is difficult to answer because the similar/same functionalities are also offered by other tools such as Istio, Ambassador, etc.

However, Cilium does its job under the hood in a different way, and this is exactly where the big advantage lies: the actual functionality here is much closer to the kernel, faster and the general process is lighter. Whether and when the use of Cilium makes sense or is appropriate compared to other players can certainly be discussed.


This text was automatically translated with our golang markdown translator.

Tom Trapp - problem solver, innovator, athlete. Tom prefers to work on modern software all day long and attaches great importance to objectively clean, lean code.

eBPF-basiertes Networking mit Cilium - Was ist das und was kann es?

20.10.2021 Tom Trapp
Cloud DevOps k8s devops framework handson

Cilium ist ein Open-Source eBPF-basiertes Networking, Security und Observability Plugin für Kubernetes und weitere Container-Orchestrierungs-Tools. Cilium ist hauptsächlich in Golang geschrieben ist. Hinter Cilium steckt die Firma Isovalent; der erste Commit bei Cilium ist nun bereits 6 Jahre her. Bevor wir uns Cilium genauer anschauen wollen wir gemeinsam verstehen, was eBPF ist und was es genau so besonders macht.

eBPF

Heutzutage ist das Linux System sehr weit und tief in der Cloud-Landschaft verbreitet. Nahezu jeder Container setzt auf einem Linux-Kernel auf. Dabei müssen Themen und Tools wie Observability & Security immer 'on top' im sogenannten User space des Systems installiert und konfiguriert werden. In diesem User Space hat man leider keinen oder nur limitierten Zugriff auf System- und Kernel-Ressourcen. Somit müssen bestimmte Kontrollmechanismen immer zusätzlich -beispielsweise als Sidecar Proxy- implementiert werden. Dies sorgt oft für eine höhere Komplexität und eine höhere Latenz. Es gibt zwar bereits eine Möglichkeit, den Kernel um gewünschte Funktionalitäten zu erweitern: Kernel Modules. Diese sind aber meist schwer zu implementieren und stellen ein grosses Risiko zur Laufzeit des Betriebssystems dar. Wenn im Code etwas schiefläuft, crashed direkt der ganze Kernel und somit auch der zu betreibende Container.

eBPF (extended Berkeley Packet Filter) stellt hier eine neue Möglichkeit dar, Code im Kernel auszuführen. Es wird oft auch als Ggeneral purpose execution engine beschrieben. So hat man die Möglichkeit, dem Kernel neue Funktionalitäten beizubringen ohne dabei das laufende System zu gefährden.

Technisch gesehen wird Bytecode eines Programms oder Tools im User Space per bdf() system call in eBPF eingespielt. Ein JIT-compiler (JIT steht für Just In Time) kompiliert diesen Bytecode dann zu einem sehr System-nahen nativen Maschinencode. Das Programm wird dann auf bestimmte Hooks und Events im Kernel Space gebunden und dort ausgeführt. Auf jeden dieser Hooks kann man dann seine eigene Funktion binden und beispielsweise sämtlichen IPv4-Traffic verbieten, oder auch ständige Metriken über laufende Prozesse sammeln.

Der sogenannte Verifier sorgt dabei für Sicherheit und Stabilität. Hier werden Infinite Loops, Crashes, o.ä. abgefangen und gehandelt. Somit ist der eigentliche Kernel von Fehlern im Code nicht betroffen. Ausserdem sorgt es mit dem rechtzeitigem Terminieren und anderen, weiteren Methoden für Sicherheit; damit kein Memory mit sensiblen Daten freigegeben wird.

Ein weiterer Vorteil ist der Zugriff auf unterschiedliche, Kernel-Helper-Funktionen und Datentypen. Ausserdem gibt es eine Kernel memory area, welche zum Teilen unterschiedlicher Key/Value-Daten mit anderen eBPF-Programmen oder gar _ User Space_-Programmen genutzt werden kann.

Quelle: 09.10.2021 - https://ebpf.io/what-is-ebpf

Die Einsatzgebiete sind hier breit gefächert, meist findet man eBPF im Themen wie Networking, Tracing, Monitoring & Security da man direkten Zugriff auf die Ressourcen hat.

Grosse Player wie beispielsweise Facebook, Netflix oder Google haben eBPF bereits im Einsatz. Nicht zuletzt dadurch ist eBPF eines der am schnellsten wachsenden Subsystemen des GNU/Linux-Betriebssystems geworden.

Tooling

Das Tooling in eBPF ist sehr breit gefächert und es gibt unterschiedliche Compiler und Toolchains, welche beispielsweise aus einem normalen C-Programm ePBF-fähigen Bytecode generieren können. Auch hier werden Toolchains und Compiler-Targets für weitere Sprachen wie Python, Golang, Rust angeboten.

eBPF selbst liefert eine grosse Menge an Helper-Funktionen und Programmen als Schnittstellen zu nahezu allen nativen Komponente wie Storage, Hardware, Network, und mehr. Die aktuell verfügbaren Tools findet man unter ebpf.io/projects. An der Anzahl der Tools sieht man sehr gut, dass das ganze System noch sehr jung ist und sich noch in einer Wachstumsphase befindet.

eBPF in Cloud Native Environments

Da wie bereits erwähnt der Linux Kernel sehr tief in der Cloud-Landschaft verankert ist, ist eBPF wie gemacht für den Einsatz in Cloud native Applikationen und Umgebungen. Beispielsweise können wir ePBF die altbekannten IP-Tables, welche im Gegensatz zu eBPF langsam und träge sind, abgelöst werden. Ebenso kann beispielweise beim Einsatz eines Proxy-Sidecar-Containers mit Envoy der Netzwerkprozess enorm vereinfacht werden.

Beides erlaubt nahezu die identische Funktionalität, beim Einsatz von eBPF gibt es 'under the hood' viel weniger eigen implementiere Prozesse und komplexe Architekturen. Die Einsatzgebiete und Use Cases sind sehr breit gefächert, da man seine komplett eigenen Funktionalitäten im Kernel (egal ob Node oder Container) erstellen und implementieren kann.

Cilium

Cilium ist eines der ersten und am meist fortgeschrittensten Use-Cases von eBPF, welches das Ziel verfolgt, die Vorteile von eBPF in die Kubernetes-Welt zu lüpfen. Es adressiert die neuartigen Anforderungen in Bezug auf Skalierbarkeit, Sicherheit und Visibilität, welche Container-Workloads heutzutage haben. Grundlegend kann man das Einsatzgebiet von Cilium in drei grosse Bereiche aufteilen:

  • Networking
  • Observability
  • Security

Networking

Cilium fungiert als CNI-Implementation (CNI steht für Cluster Network Interface) welches auf skalierbare, sehr grosse Container Workloads spezialisiert ist. Hierbei finden wir wieder den klassischen Control-, Data-Plane Aufbau. Für Loadbalancing, Tracing und Ingress/Egress-Rules wird hier eBPF (statt IP-Tables) verwendet. Ein weiteres Feature ist das Service-basierte LocalBalancing, welches ebenfalls vollwertig auf eBPF setzt.

Mit Ciliums Cluster Mesh lassen sich mehrere Cluster miteinander verbinden: Dies kommt beispielsweise im Fall von Failover-, Recovery- oder Geo-Splitting zum Einsatz und lässt sich ohne zusätzliche Gateways oder Proxies betreiben. Hier kommen Technologien wie Tunneling oder Routing zum Einsatz.

Observability

Cilium liefert ein Network-Monitoring, welches laut eigenen Angaben Identify Aware ist. Das bedeutet, dass Informationen weit mehr wie nur die IP geloggt und verfolgt werden können. Durch den Einsatz von eBPF können sämtliche Kubernetes Labels für internen Traffic sowie DNS Namen o.ä. für externen Traffic eingesehen werden. Dies ist speziell beim Troubleshooting oder beim Analysieren von Konnektivitätsproblemen sehr hilfreich.

Zusätzlich werden sämtliche Layer 3, 4 oder 7 Metriken auch in einem Prometheus-kompatiblen Format ausgeliefert. Hier werden zusätzliche Informationen über Network Policies mitgeliefert. So kann man direkt am Traffic Entry erkennen, ob und von welcher Network Policy etwas unterbunden wurde.

Ein weiterer grosser Vorteil ist die sogenannte Api-Award Network Observability. Traditionelle Firewalls sind auf den IP und TCP Layer limitiert, wobei Cilium auf Layer 7 API-basierte Informationen zu Protokollen wie HTTP, gRPC und Kafka bereitstellen kann. Auch diese Daten sind für Huddle und Prometheus verfügbar. Mittels TLS Interception kann auch HTTP(S)-Traffic genau unter die Lupe genommen werden.

Security

Grundlegend implementiert und erweiter Cilium die Kubernetes Network Policy und bietet zusätzlich, neben Label- und CIDR-Matching, noch ein DNS- und API-bewusstes Matching. So kann beispielsweise per Ciliums Network Policy der Zugriff auf bestimmte API-Pfade gesteuert und wenn nötig unterbunden werden. Dies erlaubt es, in einem Real-World-Szenario, beispielsweise Monitoring- oder Maintenance-Endpoints nur bestimmten Services freizugeben.

Die bereits im vorherigen Abschnitt beschrieben Informationen über sämtlichen Netzwerkverkehr können für Audit oder Langzeitanalysen z.B. im Angriffsfall dauerhaft und lange gespeichert werden.

Mittels der sogenannten Transparent Encyption sorgt Cilium für eine dauerhafte Verschlüsslung des Traffics innerhalb oder zwischen den Cluster(n). Hierbei wird das Kernel-eigene Feature IP Sec verwendet, es bedarf nur einer einmaligen Konfiguration in Cilium, keiner Sidecar-Proxies oder applikatorischen Changes.

Hands on

Cilium

Nun wollen wir Cilium installieren und es etwas genauer kennenlernen, der Einfachheit halber nutzen wir hierfür ein lokal installiertes K8s-Cluster mit minikube.

Falls Minikube noch nicht installiert ist, können wir dies auf macOS wie folgt installieren:

brew install minikube

Anschliessend starten wir Minicube und installieren die Cilium-CLI. Diese CLI erlaubt es uns, den eigentlichen Teil von Cilium zu installieren, den aktuellen Status der Installation zu prüfen und zahlreiche Features zu aktivieren oder deaktivieren.

minikube start --network-plugin=cni

curl -L --remote-name-all https://github.com/cilium/cilium-cli/releases/latest/download/cilium-darwin-amd64.tar.gz{,.sha256sum}
shasum -a 256 -c cilium-darwin-amd64.tar.gz.sha256sum
sudo tar xzvfC cilium-darwin-amd64.tar.gz /usr/local/bin
rm cilium-darwin-amd64.tar.gz{,.sha256sum}

Nun ist die Cilium CLI parat und wir können Cilium selbst in unser Kubernetes-Cluster installieren. Die CLI erkennt hierbei unser lokal installiertes minicube und nutzt die bestmögliche Konfiguration hierfür.

cilium install

Via cilium status können wir den Status unsere Installation einsehen und validieren, ob alles korrekt installiert wurde.

Glücklicherweise bietet Cilium uns ein Kommando für automatisierte Tests unsere Cluster-Installation:

cilium connectivity test

Hubble

Nun wollen wir Hubble, den Observability Layer von Cilium aktivieren und Cluster-weite Informationen über den Network- und Security-Layer zu erhalten. Zusätzlich aktivieren wir hier die UI-Option, um ein grafisches Interface zu haben.

Hierfür installieren wir in diesem Schritt dann noch den Hubble-Client und leiten den Traffic entsprechend an Huddle weiter.

cilium hubble enable --ui

export HUBBLE_VERSION=$(curl -s https://raw.githubusercontent.com/cilium/hubble/master/stable.txt)
curl -L --remote-name-all https://github.com/cilium/hubble/releases/download/$HUBBLE_VERSION/hubble-darwin-amd64.tar.gz{,.sha256sum}
shasum -a 256 -c hubble-darwin-amd64.tar.gz.sha256sum
sudo tar xzvfC hubble-darwin-amd64.tar.gz /usr/local/bin
rm hubble-darwin-amd64.tar.gz{,.sha256sum}

cilium hubble port-forward&

Nun können wir mit hubble status unsere Installation prüfen und mit hubble observe die sogenannte Flow-API abfragen, um Informationen über den Netzwerkverkehr zu bekommen.

Zusätzlich können wir mit cilium hubble ui die UI starten, welche dann unter http://localhost:12000/ aufrufbar ist. Hier können wir nun mit cilium connectivity test etwas Traffic generieren und diesen genauer in der UI unter die Lupe nehmen.

Hier sehen wir direkt auf einen Blick die Verbindungen zwischen den einzelnen Pods, welche Calls erfolgreich waren und weitere Netzwerkinformationen.

Nun wollen wir ein Demo-Projekt installieren und Network Policies und Traffic genauer unter die Lupe nehmen. Dies können wir direkt via kubectl einlesen und starten.

kubectl create -f https://raw.githubusercontent.com/cilium/cilium/1.10.4/examples/minikube/http-sw-app.yaml

Mit folgendem Command können wir dem Cilium-Pod bestimmte Informationen entlocken, hier bekommen wir beispielsweise alle Endpoints zurück. In Cilium entspricht jeder Pod einem Endpunkt.

kubectl -n kube-system exec <cilium-pod-name> -- cilium endpoint list

In der Ausgabe ist zu sehen, dass aktuell keine Ingress- oder Egress-Policy angewandt ist.

Dies bedeutet, dass all unsere Calls im Netzwerk erlaubt sind und wir folgende zwei Kommandos erfolgreich ausführen können.

kubectl exec xwing -- curl -s -XPOST deathstar.default.svc.cluster.local/v1/request-landing
kubectl exec tiefighter -- curl -s -XPOST deathstar.default.svc.cluster.local/v1/request-landing

Nun lernen wir das erste eigene Objekt von Cilium, die CiliumNetworkPolicy kennen. Hiermit lassen sich, wie oben beschrieben, weitere Matchings im Gegensatz zur K8s-Standard-NetworkPolicy einstellen.

So schränken wir auf Layer 3 & 4 den Traffic zum 'deathstar'-Service ein.

cat <<EOF | kubectl apply -f -
apiVersion: "cilium.io/v2"
kind: CiliumNetworkPolicy
metadata:
  name: "rule1"
spec:
  description: "L3-L4 policy to restrict deathstar access to empire ships only"
  endpointSelector:
    matchLabels:
      org: empire
      class: deathstar
  ingress:
  - fromEndpoints:
    - matchLabels:
        org: empire
    toPorts:
    - ports:
      - port: "80"
        protocol: TCP
EOF

Anschliessend sehen wir, dass unser erster Call vom 'xwing'-Service auf den 'deathstar'-Service nun mit einem Timout fehlschlägt. In der Auflistung der Endpoint sehen wir, dass die Ingress-Policy nun Enabled ist.

Neben den Layer 3 & 4 Network-Policies können auch Layer 7 Network-Policies zum Blocken bestimmter Pfade verwendet werden.

Fazit

Was macht Cilium nun anders als andere Network- und Observability-Provider? Diese Frage ist leider schwer zu beantworten, da die ähnliche/gleiche Funktionalitäten auch von anderen Tools wie Istio, Ambassador usw. angeboten werden.

Cilium macht seine Aufgaben aber unter der Haube auf eine andere Art und Weise, genau hier liegt auch der grosse Vorteil: Die eigentliche Funktionalität ist hier viel näher am Kernel, schneller und der allgemeine Prozess ist leichtgewichtiger. Ob und wann der Einsatz von Cilium gegenüber anderen Playern sinnvoll oder angebracht ist lässt sich sicher ausdiskutieren.

Tom Trapp – Problemlöser, Innovator, Sportler. Am liebsten feilt Tom den ganzen Tag an der moderner Software und legt viel Wert auf objektiv sauberen, leanen Code.