DevOps with GitOps

09.11.2020 Raffael Schneider
DevOps Cloud gitops cicd cloud-native headless goodtoknow

GitOps is a way of practicing DevOps. GitOps makes it possible to use versioned sets of declarative specifications to bring continuity to the entire development and commissioning process. This gives the whole development team a better view of the integration and rollout of your application(s).

Components from GitOps

At GitOps there are the following established components that you must understand before setting up a GitOps infrastructure:

  • Infrastructure-as-Code (IaC) GitOps uses Git Repositories as the only instance of truth claims,'single source of truth'. That means that everything that is versioned via a Repository also corresponds to what is actually used. In reverse, it means that all relevant information and configurations must be stored in a Repository. Not only the source code of applications, but also of entire infrastructures and application environments should thus be fixed in a declarative way.

  • Merge Requests (MRs) GitOps makes great use of so-called Merge Requests. A Merge Request is a Git mechanism that merges development branches (Branches) (merged). Thus there is a control and administration instance which checks natively via Git when and how a development status may change. Every change to the components of an infrastructure can thus be tracked and accordingly managed more efficiently.

  • Continuous Integration & Continuous Delivery (CI/CD) Finally, GitOps uses the automation mechanisms of classic CI / CD. As soon as new declarative code has been accepted via Merge Request and was merged, an automated process can trigger the descriptive state of a pipeline that adapts the infrastructure accordingly. Manual adjustments are therefore always overwritten by the GitOps automatism and have the minimum possible effect.

Tools for the implementation of GitOps

GitOps makes particular sense with infrastructures in the cloud, since many machine-related operations are already abstracted or even automated in some way. So there is already a certain Awareness of CI / CD. Nevertheless, we would like to briefly show what is important for optimally lived GitOps.

Pipeline

In addition to the use of Git Repositories, a dedicated pipeline is required. This can be, for example, Jenkins, CircleCi or Tekton. The pipeline takes care of the gap between the Git-based Pull Request and the orchestration of the infrastructure. Via so-called Hooks, as soon as a Merge Request is accepted, the corresponding pipeline is immediately triggered, which builds the status and rolls it out directly to the infrastructure.

Best Practices
  • Declarative description of the infrastructure (IaC)
  • Immutable rollout
  • Versioning and control of code and configuration
  • Rollback functionality
  • Operational change only through Pull Requests
  • Each build artifact should only exist once, the update mechanism is best in a declarative and automated manner
  • Monitoring of the whole process as well as the infrastructure
  • Fully automated delivery pipeline

Conclusion

GitOps is not just a hype word of the last few years, but a solid concept of how DevOps can be lived in a company. As a developer, it is easily possible to push yaml files into a Git repository and attach them to a pipeline such as Jenkins or Tekton. This then makes any changes to a container cluster such as Kubernetes. The logic is that simple.

We at b-nova are convinced of the concept and will stay on the trail that leads to a tried and tested understanding of GitOps and hope to introduce the first GitOps-capable concepts to you as well.


This text was automatically translated with our golang markdown translator.

Raffael Schneider – crafter, disruptor, free spirit. As a fervent software craftsmanship, Raffael likes to write about programming languages and software resilience in modern distributed systems. Be it DevOps, SRE or systems architecture, he always got a new way of approaching things.

DevOps mit GitOps

09.11.2020 Raffael Schneider
DevOps Cloud gitops cicd cloud-native headless goodtoknow

GitOps ist eine Art und Weise DevOps zu praktizieren. GitOps ermöglicht über versionierte Sets von deklarativen Spezifikationen eine Kontinuität in den ganzen Entwicklung- und Inbetriebssetzungsprozess zu bringen. Dadurch hat das ganze Entwicklungsteam ein besseren Durchblick bei der Integration und dem Ausrollen ihrer Applikation(en).

Komponenten von GitOps

Bei GitOps gibt es folgende etablierte Komponenten die man sicherlich vor dem Aufsetzen einer GitOps-Infrastruktur verstehen muss:

  • Infrastructure-as-Code (IaC) GitOps nutzt Git Repositories als die einzige Instanz von Wahrheitsanspruch, auf Englisch 'single source of truth'. Das heisst das alles was über eine Repository versioniert ist, entspricht auch dem was tatsächlich genutzt wird. Im Umkehrsatz heisst, dass das alle relevante Informationen und Konfigurationen in einer Repository abgelegt sein müssen. Nicht nur Quellcode von Applikationen, sondern eben auch von ganzen Infrastrukturen und Applikationsumgebungen soll somit auf eine deklaritive Weise festgemacht werden.

  • Merge Requests (MRs) GitOps macht starken Nutzen von sogenannten Merge Requests. Ein Merge Request ist ein Git-Mechanismus der Entwicklungsverzweigungen (Branches) zusammenführt (merged). Somit ist eine Kontroll- und Verwaltungsinstanz vorhanden welche nativ per Git prüft wann und wie sich ein Entiwcklungszustand ändern darf. Jede Veränderung an den Bestandteilen einer Infrastruktur kann somit getracked und entsprechend effizienter verwaltet werden.

  • Continous Integration & Continous Delivery (CI/CD) Schliesslich nutzt GitOps die Automatisierungsmechanismen von klassischem CI/CD. Sobald neuer deklarativer Code per Merge Request akzeptiert und gemerged wurde, kann ein automatisierter Vorgang den beschreibenden Zustand eine Pipeline anstossen die die Infrastruktur entsprechend anpasst. Manuelle Anpassungen werden somit stets durch den GitOps-Automatismus überschrieben und haben minimal möglichsten Effekt.

Tools zur Umsetzung von GitOps

GitOps macht bei Infrastrukturen in der Cloud besonders Sinn, da dort viele machinennahe Operationen bereits auf eine Art und Weise abstrahiert oder gar automatisiert sind. Somit ist bereits ein gewisse Awareness von CI/CD vorhanden. Trotzdem möchten wir kurz aufzeigen worauf es bei optimal gelebtem GitOps ankommt.

Pipeline

Neben der Nutzung von Git Repisitories braucht es eine dedizierte Pipeline. Dies kann beispielsweise Jenkins, CircleCi oder Tekton sein. Die Pipeline sorgt für den Gap zwischen dem Git-basierten Pull Request und der Orchestrierung der Infrastruktur. Über sogenannte Hooks werden sobald ein Merge Request akzeptiert werden sogleich die entsprechende Pipeline angestossen welchen den Zustand baut und direkt auf die Infrastruktur ausrollt.

Best Practices
  • Deklarative Beschreibung der Infrastruktur (IaC)
  • Immutable Ausrollen
  • Versionierung und Kontrolle von Code und Konfiguration
  • Funktionalität für Rollback
  • Operationale Veränderung nur durch Pull Requests
  • Jedes Build-Artefakt soll es nur einmal geben, Update-Mechanismus am besten deklarativ und automatisiert
  • Monitoring des ganzen Prozesses sowie der Infrastruktur
  • Komplett automatisierte Delivery Pipeline

Fazit

GitOps ist nicht nur ein Hype-Wort der letzten Jahre, sondern ein solides Konzept wie man DevOps in einem Unternehmen leben kann. Als Entwickler ist es problemlos möglich, yaml-Files in ein Git-Repository zu pushen und diese an einer Pipeline wie Jenkins oder Tekton anzufügen. Diese nimmt anschliessend jegliche Änderungen an einem Container-Cluster wie Kubernetes vor. So einfach die Logik. Wir bei b-nova sind von dem Konzept überzeugt und werden die Spur die an ein erprobtes Verstädnis von GitOps führen dran bleiben und hoffen auch bei Ihnen die ersten GitOps-fähigen Konzepte einführen zu dürfen.

Raffael Schneider – Crafter, Disruptor, Freethinker. Als leidenschaftlicher Software-Crafter schreibt Raffael gerne über Programmiersprachen und Resilienz in modernen verteilten Systemen. Ob DevOps, SRE oder Systemarchitektur, Raffael weiss stets wie man diese Dinge auf eine neue Weise betrachten kann.