Clientzertifikate vs. Serverzertifikate

13.07.2022 Stefan Welsch
DevOps Cloud certificates cloud-computing security devsecops cipher-suites public-key-infrastructure

In times of DevOps, developers are dealing more and more with certificates. In my career as a consultant, I have noticed that this often leads to the greatest confusion. I'd therefore like to dedicate today's TechUp to this topic.

First a few basic terms ūüĒź

SSL (Secure Socket Layer)

SSL is an encryption protocol developed by Netscape, which first appeared in version 1.0 in 1994. In 1995 SSL 2.0 was released, and just a year later SSL 3.0. However, all of these versions are no longer permitted today. In 1996, Netscape passed version control to the IETF (Internet Engineering Task Force), for the development of an Internet standard.

TLS (Transport Layer Socket)

After the handover, the IETF developed the improved protocol TLS in version 1.0 on the basis of SSL 3.0, which appeared in 1999. However, this is no longer supported because, among other things, it no longer conforms to the payment transaction standard (PCI DSS). In 2006, version 1.1 of TLS was released. However, since SHA-1 is used here to create the signature, its use is not recommended. In 2008, TLS 1.2, which is still valid today, was released. Since 2018 there has also been TLS 1.3 which contains new requirements for TLS 1.2.

Cipher Suites

A Cipher is simply an algorithm, or collection of steps, to perform mathematical calculations (RSA). Messages are encrypted using this algorithm. There are currently 37 ciphers for TLS 1.2 and five ciphers for TLS 1.3. Cipher Suite is a combination of ciphers. There are four different types of ciphers:

  • Key Exchange Algorithms (RSA, DH, ECDH, DHE, ECDHE, PSK)

  • Authentication/Digital Signature Algorithm (RSA, ECDSA, DSA)

  • Bulk Encryption Algorithms (AES, CHACHA20, Camellia, ARIA)

  • Message Authentication Code Algorithms (SHA-256, POLY1305)

Here's an example of what a cipher might look like:

TLS_ECDHE_RSA_WITH_AES_128_GCM_SHA256

  • TLS is the protocol.
  • ECDHE (Elliptic Curve Diffie Hellman) is a cipher with which the keys are exchanged during the handshake.
  • RSA is the authentication mechanism.
  • AES_128_GCM Is the bulk encryption mechanism (so the actual data encryption).
  • SHA256 is the hashing algorithm.

X.509

X.509 is a public key infrastructure standard for creating digital certificates. X.509 certificates apply to TLS versions of various transmission protocols (HTTPS, S/MIME).

What do you need certificates for?

On one hand, certificates are there to take care of user/client identification, and on the other hand they are responsible for encrypted communication. A distinction is made between two types of certificates; the client certificate (PKI) and the server certificate (SSL-Certificate).

Encryption

There are several ways to encrypt information. The simplest is to encrypt the message with a key and send it to the recipient. Since the recipient has the same key, he can decrypt this message again.

However, this method cannot really be used on the Internet, because otherwise you would have to know the key of every website with which you want to communicate securely. This is of course not possible, because the key could only be obtained in an unencrypted way. For this reason there is the so-called Public Key Procedure. In order for this process to work, however, an infrastructure is first required.

Public Key Infrastructure

We've all heard of PKI, or Public Key Infrastructure when it comes to certificates. In cryptology, a PKI is a system that can issue, distribute and check digital certificates. The most important components of a PKI are:

  • Certificate Authority (CA)
  • Registration Authority (RA)
  • Validation service (VA)
  • X.509 Digital Certificates
  • Directory services for certificates
  • Certificate Revocation Lists

The way a PKI works is as follows:

Chain of Trust

Let's take a look at how a PKI is used in practice. The greatest asset of a PKI is the root CA (Root Certificate Authority). This serves as a "trust anchor" and must be specially protected. If the root CA is hacked, the entire PKI is no longer trustworthy and all certificates issued by it must be revoked. For this reason, only a few people have access to the root CA, which by the way must ONLY be kept offline.

This is why there are CA hierarchies. Let's look at which CA's are in this hierarchy.

Root Certificates

The heart of a PKI. Each CA has only a few root certificates. The public key of a root certificate, for example, is also stored in the browser so that all certificates issued by the root CA are trusted (Chrome CA’s).

Intermediate certificates

An intermediate certificate is issued by a root certificate. After the intermediate certificate has been signed by the root certificate, the root certificate is no longer needed to issue further certificates.

Server Certificates

This certificate is signed by an intermediate certificate. It is issued specifically for a user or domain name.

Example of validation

We now know the three levels of hierarchy. Now let's look at a small example of how a server is validated.

A user views the page https://b-nova.com in the Chrome browser. We can see from the lock next to the address that the connection is secure and our certificate is valid.

Now let's look at the certificate in detail.

The certificate for the website was issued by LetsEncrypt. This in turn was issued by ISRG Root X1. The root certificate was stored in the browser and the connection is therefore considered secure. In order for the website to be trusted in the browser, the server must deliver both the domain certificate and the intermediate certificate.

If the server were to only deliver the server certificate (b-nova.com), we would receive a certificate error because the entire chain could not be validated.

Server Certificates

Server certificates are used to authenticate a server. An SSL/TLS certificate (or Server Certificate - we'll call it SSL certificate for simplicity) is also the basis for encrypted communication with a website. For example, phishing attacks (faking an identity) are prevented.

The name SSL certificate is misleading in this context. Based on the name, one might think that the certificates are tied to a specific protocol, which is not the case. Rather, a certificate is only used to implement SSL or TSL.

Structure of an SSL certificate

An SSL certificate contains the following information, among other things:

  • Unique serial number

  • Holder of certificate (Company)

  • Certified domain

  • Validity

  • Algorithms used

  • Exhibitor (CA = Certificate Authority)

  • Signature of the CA

  • Fingerprint

  • Public key

How SSL works

To establish a secure connection, an SSL/TLS handshake is performed. We'll look at this using the example of an HTTPS connection between a browser and a server.

Let's say you visit the page b-nova.com.

  1. Browser and server say "hello" and agree on the cipher suite to be used for encryption.

  2. The server sends its SSL certificate (Public Key included) to the browser.

  3. The browser checks the SSL certificate using the root certificate stored in the browser. If this check is correct, the browser creates a session key and encrypts it with the public key of the server and then sends it back to the server.

  4. The server decrypts the session key with its private key. If this decryption is successful, the handshake is complete. Up to this point, asymmetric encryption took place because servers and browsers encrypt and decrypt their messages with different keys.

  5. From this point on, browser and server only communicate via the session key, which is encrypted symmetrically.

Client Certificates

A client certificate is used to authenticate a user or "client". However, it is not used to encrypt the communication. For this reason, a client certificate only makes sense if a server certificate is used at the same time, since this encrypts the data. Like server certificates, client certificates are based on PKI.

If you want to use a client certificate, the server requests the certificate from the client as an additional step. The client sends the certificate and checks it against the issuer certificate stored with it.

We see in the graphic that the server makes a "Certificate Request". It requests the client certificate from the client. The counterpart to this is then stored on the server itself so that it can authenticate the client.

Conclusion

Hopefully, I've been able to give you a little more insight into how certificates work in general, and what differentiates server and client certificates. Here you will find more exciting b-nova TechUps. Check it out!

Stefan Welsch - pioneer, stuntman, mentor. As the founder of b-nova, Stefan is always looking for new and promising fields of development. He is a pragmatist through and through and therefore prefers to write articles that are as close as possible to real-world scenarios.

Clientzertifikate vs. Serverzertifikate

13.07.2022 Stefan Welsch
DevOps Cloud certificates cloud-computing security devsecops cipher-suites public-key-infrastructure

In Zeiten von DevOps hat man als Entwickler immer mehr mit Zertifikaten zu tun. In meiner Laufbahn als Consultant habe ich bemerkt, dass es hierbei immer wieder zu den grössten Verwirrungen kommt. Ich möchte daher mein heutiges TechUp diesem Thema widmen.

Zuerst ein paar Grundbegriffe 🔐

SSL (Secure Socket Layer)

SSL ist ein von Netscape entwickeltes Verschlüsselungsprotokoll, welches 1994 in der Version 1.0 erstmalig erschien. 1995 wurde SSL 2.0, und nur ein Jahr später SSL 3.0 veröffentlich. Alle diese Versionen sind aber heute nicht mehr zulässig. 1996 hat Netscape die Versionskontrolle zur Entwicklung eines Internet-Standards an die IETF (Internet Engineering Task Force), übergeben.

TLS (Transport Layer Socket)

Nach der Übergabe entwickelte die IETF auf Basis von SSL 3.0 das verbessertes Protokoll TLS in der Version 1.0, welches 1999 erschien. Auch dieses wird mittlerweile aber nicht mehr unterstützt, weil es unter anderem nicht mehr dem Zahlungsverkehr-Standard (PCI DSS) entspricht. 2006 wurde die Version 1.1 von TLS herausgebracht. Da hier aber SHA-1 für die Signaturerstelllung verwendet wird, wird von der Nutzung abgeraten. 2008 wurde dann die noch heute gültige TLS 1.2 veröffentlicht. Seit 2018 gibt es aber mittlerweile auch schon TLS 1.3 welche neue Anforderungen für TLS 1.2 enthält.

Cipher Suites

Eine Cipher (Chiffre) ist einfach ein Algorithmus, oder eine Sammlung von Schritten, um mathematische Berechnungen durchzuführen (RSA). Anhand dieses Algorithmus werden die Nachrichten verschlüsselt. Es gibt für TLS 1.2 derzeit 37 Ciphers und für TLS 1.3 fünf Ciphers. Als Cipher Suite bezeichnet man eine Kombination von Chiffren. Es gibt vier verschiedene Arten von Chiffren:

  • Key Exchange Algorithms (RSA, DH, ECDH, DHE, ECDHE, PSK)

  • Authentication/Digital Signature Algorithm (RSA, ECDSA, DSA)

  • Bulk Encryption Algorithms (AES, CHACHA20, Camellia, ARIA)

  • Message Authentication Code Algorithms (SHA-256, POLY1305)

Eine Cipher Suite sieht nun beispielsweise so aus:

TLS_ECDHE_RSA_WITH_AES_128_GCM_SHA256

  • TLS ist das Protokoll.
  • ECDHE (Elliptic Curve Diffie Hellman) ist eine Chiffre, mit welcher während des Handshake die Keys ausgetauscht werden.
  • RSA ist der Authentifizierungsmechanismus.
  • AES_128_GCM Ist der Bulk-Verschlüsselungsmechanismus (also die Verschlüsselung der Daten).
  • SHA256 ist der Hashing Algorithmus.

X.509

X.509 ist ein Standard für eine Public-Key-Infrastruktur zur Erstellung digitaler Zertifikate. X.509 Zertifikate finden Anwendung bei TLS-Versionen verschiedener Übertragungsprotokolle (HTTPS, S/MIME).

Für was braucht es Zertifakte?

Zertifikate sind einerseits dazu da, sich um die Identifizierung von Benutzern oder Clients zu kümmern, und zusätzlich sind sie dafür verantwortlich, diese Kommunikation zu verschlüsseln. Man unterscheidet dabei zwischen zwei Arten von Zertifikaten; dem Client-Zertifikat (auch PKI) und dem Serverzertifikat (auch SSL-Zertifikat).

Verschlüsselung

Es gibt mehrere Wege, wie man Informationen verschlüsseln kann. Das einfachste ist, die Nachricht mit einem Schlüssel zu verschlüsseln und diese an den Empfänger zu schicken. Da dem Empfänger der gleiche Schlüssel vorliegt, kann er diese Nachricht wieder entschlüsseln.

Im Netz ist diese Methode aber nicht wirklich anwendbar, denn sonst müsste man von jeder Webseite, mit der man sicher kommunizieren möchte, den Schlüssel kennen. Dies ist natürlich nicht möglich, denn man könnte den Schlüssel nur auf unverschlüsseltem Weg erhalten. Aus diesem Grund gibt es das Public-Key-Verfahren. Damit dieses Verfahren funktionieren kann, braucht es aber erstmals eine Infrastruktur.

Public Key Infrastructure

Wir alle haben im Zuge von Zertifikaten schon von PKI, oder Public Key Infrastructure gehört. Als PKI bezeichnet man in der Kryptologie ein System, welches digitale Zertifikate ausstellen, verteilen und prüfen kann. Die wichtigsten Bestandteile einer PKI sind:

  • Zertifizierungsstelle (Certificate Authority, CA)

  • Registrierungsstelle (Registration Authority, RA)

  • Validierungsdienst (Valdiation Authority, VA)

  • X.509 Digitale Zertifikate

  • Verzeichnisdienste für Zertifikate

  • Zertifikatssperrlisten

Die Funktionsweise einer PKI ist nun folgende:

Chain of Trust (Vertrauenskette)

Schauen wir uns an, wie in der Praxis mit einer PKI gearbeitet wird. Das höchste Gut einer PKI ist die Root-CA (Root Certificate Authority). Diese dient als “Vertrauensanker” und muss besonders geschützt werden. Wird die Root-CA gehackt, so ist die gesamte PKI nicht mehr vertrauenswürdig und alle von ihr ausgestellten Zertifikate müssen widerrufen werden. Aus diesem Grund haben auch nur wenige Personen Zugriff auf die Root-CA, welche übrigens NUR offline gehalten werden darf.

Aus diesem Grund gibt es CA-Hierarchien. Schauen wir uns an, welche CA’s es in dieser Hierarchie gibt.

Root-Zertifikate

Das Herzstück einer PKI. Jede CA hat nur wenige Root-Zertifikate. Der Public Key eines Root-Zertifikats wird beispielsweise auch im Browser hinterlegt, damit allen von der Root-CA ausgestellten Zertifikaten vertraut wird (Chrome CA’s).

Intermediate-Zertifikate

Ein Intermediate-Zertifkat (dt. Zwischenzertifikat) wird von einem Root-Zertifikat ausgestellt. Nachdem das Intermediate-Zertifkat durch das Root-Zertifikat signiert wurde, wird das Root Zertifikat zum Ausstellen weiterer Zertifikate nicht mehr gebraucht.

Serverzertifikate

Dieses Zertifikat wird von einem Intermediate-Zertifkat signiert. Es wird spezifisch für einen Benutzer oder Domainnamen ausgestellt.

Beispiel einer Validierung

Wir kennen jetzt die drei Ebenen der Hierarchie. Schauen wir uns nun an einem kleinen Beispiel an, wie ein Server validiert wird:

Ein Benutzer ruft die Seite https://b-nova.com im Chrome Browser auf. Wir sehen am Schloss neben der Adresse, dass die Verbindung sicher und unser Zertifikat gültig ist.

Schauen wir uns jetzt das Zertifikat im Detail an.

Das Zertifikat für die Webseite wurde von der Intermediate CA Amazon ausgestellt. Diese widerum wurde von der Amazon Root CA 1 ausgestellt. Das Root-Zertifikat wurde im Browser hinterlegt und somit gilt die Verbindung als sicher. Damit der Webseite im Browser nun vertraut wird, muss der Server sowohl das Domainzertifikat, als auch das Intermediate-Zertifkat mit ausliefern.

Würde vom Server also nur das Serverzertifikat (b-nova.com) ausgeliefert, so würden wir einen Zertifikatsfehler erhalten, weil die gesamte Chain nicht validiert werden könnte.

Serverzertifikate

Serverzertifikate werden zur Authentifizierung eines Servers genutzt. Ein SSL/TLS-Zertifikat (oder Serverzertifikat, wir nennen es einfachheitshalber im folgenden nur SSL-Zertifikat) ist auch die Basis für eine verschlüsselte Kommunikation mit einer Webseite. So werden beispielsweise Phishing-Attacken (Vortäuschen einer falschen Identität) verhindert.

Der Name SSL-Zertifikat ist in diesem Kontext irreführend. Anhand des Namens könnte man denken, dass die Zertifikate an ein bestimmtes Protokoll gebunden sind, was aber nicht der Fall ist. Vielmehr wird ein Zertifikat nur für die Umsetzung von SSL bzw. TSL verwendet.

Aufbau eines SSL-Zertifikats

Ein SSL-Zertifikat enthält unter anderem die folgenden Informationen:

  • Eindeutige Seriennummer

  • Inhaber des Zertifikats (Unternehmen)

  • Zertifizierte Domain

  • Gültigkeit

  • Verwendete Algorithmen

  • Aussteller (CA = Certificate Authority)

  • Signatur der CA

  • Fingerabdruck

  • Öffentlicher Schlüssel

Funktion SSL

Um eine sichere Verbindung aufzubauen, wird ein SSL/TLS-Handshake durchgeführt. Wir schauen uns das am Beispiel einer HTTPS-Verbindung eines Browsers mit einem Server an.

Nehmen wir an, du rufst die Seite b-nova.com auf.

  1. Browser und Server sagen "hello" und einigen sich auf die Cipher Suite, welche für die Verschlüsselung genutzt werden soll.

  2. Der Server sendet sein SSL-Zertifikat (Public Key inkludiert) zum Browser.

  3. Der Browser überprüft das SSL-Zertifikat anhand des im Browser hinterlegten Root Zertifikats. Ist diese Überprüfung in Ordnung, erstellt der Browser einen Session Key und verschlüsselt diesen mit dem Public Key des Servers und schickt diesen anschliessend wieder zum Server zurück.

  4. Der Server entschlüsselt den Session Key mit seinem Private Key. Ist diese Entschlüsselung erfolgreich, so ist der Handshake abgeschlossen. Bis zu diesem Zeitpunkt fand die asymmetrische Verschlüsselung statt, da Server und Browser ihre Nachrichten mit verschiedenen Schlüsseln ver- und entschüsseln.

  5. Ab diesem Zeitpunkt kommunizieren Browser und Server nur noch über den Session Key, welcher symmetrisch verschlüsselt wird.

Clientzertifikate

Ein Clientzertifikat dient zur Authentifizierung eines Benutzers oder "Clients". Es dient allerdings nicht der Verschlüsselung der Kommunikation. Aus diesem Grund macht ein Clientzertifikat nur Sinn beim gleichzeitigen Einsatz eines Serverzertifikats, da dieses die Daten verschlüsselt. Clientzertifikate basieren, wie auch Serverzertifikate auf PKI.

Wenn man ein Clientzertifikat einsetzen will, so fordert der Server das Zertifikat als zusätzlichen Schritt beim Client an. Der Client schickt das Zertifikat mit und prüft dies gegen das bei ihm hinterlegte Ausstellerzertifikat.

Wir sehen in der Grafik, dass der Server ein "Certificate Request" macht. Damit fordert er vom Client das Clientzertifikat an. Beim Server selbst ist dann das Gegenstück dazu hinterlegt, damit er den Client authentifizieren kann.

Fazit

Hoffentlich konnte ich dir nun etwas näherbringen, wie Zertifikate im Allgemeinen funktionieren, und was Server- und Clientzertifikate ausmacht. Hier findest du weitere spannende b-nova TechUp's. Schau rein!

Stefan Welsch – Pionier, Stuntman, Mentor. Als Gründer von b-nova ist Stefan immer auf der Suche nach neuen und vielversprechenden Entwicklungsfeldern. Er ist durch und durch Pragmatiker und schreibt daher auch am liebsten Beiträge die sich möglichst nahe an 'real-world' Szenarien anlehnen.