Open-Source Chaos-Engineering with Litmus.

08.12.2021 Tom Trapp
Cloud DevOps chaos-engineering sre k8s devops framework handson

Errors or failures in the productive system often lead to stress, annoyance and resentment. Deliberately causing errors or failures and thereby making the systems more stable and less susceptible always leads to success, joy, reputation and improvement!

Review

Raffi has already reported on our We Celebrate Failure culture in a previous TechUp. Basically, it is about living an active error culture, growing from mistakes and drawing conclusions from them.

In the cloud environment there are so-called chaos engineering tools such as Gremlin or Litmus. If you want to learn more about the theoretical background or about Gremlin itself, I highly recommend the TechUp How to introduce a 'We Celebrate Failure'-culture with Chaos Engineering into your daily business.!

With Gremlin we have already got to know a closed-source, enterprise-facing player in the chaos engineering part of the well-known CNCF landscape. Today we want to take the step into real Open Source Chaos Engineering.

Litmus

Litmus is an open-source, CNCF sandbox chaos engineering project developed directly by the Cloud Native Computing Foundation (CNCF). Since 2018, over 150 contributors ensure regular updates and releases. The goal of becoming a CNCF Incubating Project is clearly communicated and pursued.

Litmus itself started out as complete framwork for finding weaknesses in Kubernetes platforms and applications running on Kubernetes but is now more titled as Cloud Native Chaos Engineering platform. Nevertheless, Litmus can only be used in a Kubernetes cluster, but there are connections for other resources such as AWS, GCP or Azure.

Your current mission is:

To help identify weaknesses & potential outages in cloud-native systems by inducing chaos tests in a controlled way.

Well-known contributors include ChaosNative, Intuit, Amazon, RedHat and Container Solutions.

The notorious version 2.0.0 was only released in August of this year. Version 2 was a release with many extensive feature enhancements. Basically, one can say that version 2 added a lot of enterprise-facing functions. There are two fundamental innovations, there is a new GitOps pattern with an integration with Argo Workflows and a new WebUi. The complete chaos can now be controlled via WebUi and no longer only via CLI.

Litmus itself is based entirely on the principles of Cloud native chaos engineering chaosnative.com/, which include the following properties, for example:

  • Open source
  • Community Collaboration
  • Open API
  • GitOps
  • Open Observability

Before we venture hands-on with Litmus, let's get to know the individual components and features.

Chaos Experiments

Simply put, a chaos experiment contains the instructions for actual chaos. The Kubernetes Custom Resource defines parameters such as the image, the necessary permissions, etc.

A classic example here would be a so-called pod-delete experiment, which turns off a specific pod. For example, you can check the reliability.

There are currently over 50 experiments in different groups such as generic, cordns, kube-aws, kafka, gcp and others.

In the past, many experiments were written in Ansible, most of which were ported to Go Lang with version 2. Thanks to an SDK, which is currently available for Go, Python and Ansible, you can write your own experiments.

Probes

In the Litmus environment, probes are modular tests to assess the state of chaos. In principle, these checks can be used for normal health checks. They determine whether an experiment was successful or whether there were unintended consequences such as an interface failure.

There are currently four different types of probes:

  • httpProbe - call a URL, check the result (e.g. based on HttpStatusCodes)
  • cmdProbe - Execution of a shell command, exit code is observed
  • k8sProbe - Run a CRUD operation against native or custom Kubernetes resources
  • promProbe - Run a PromQL query and match Prometheus Metrics

Of course, different probes can be combined.

It should be noted here that for example, an httpProbe uses the correct endpoint from the Kubernetes service. If this sample is incorrectly defined, false results can quickly occur.

Chaos workflow

A chaos workflow is a set of different chaos operations that together form a scenario in the Kubernetes cluster. These steps can be executed either sequentially or in parallel. Behind all this is an Argo CD workflow, which includes several experiments.

Basically there are two types, normal workflows, which only run once or so-called CronWorkflows, which run automatically to a defined schedule. For example, ChaosEngineering can be scheduled and automated. This makes sense from a variety of points, chaos engineering should always be an iterative, recurring process. With a workflow, not only can experiments be installed and thus chaos be triggered, there are also steps that can undo the chaos.

Such a workflow can either be written using YAML or assembled using the GUI in the Chaos Center.

Chaos Result

A chaos result represents the actual result of the chaos experiment. This is also a Kubernetes custom resource definition, which contains information such as the status, etc. This CR is updated at runtime from different pods or CronJobs, so that it always contains the latest version of the individual experiment. In addition, it is not deleted as part of the normal clean-up process and can be used for further evaluation.

Chaos Hub

The Chaos Hub acts as a public marketplace for Litmus Chaos Experiment. Specifically, YAML files for the so-called Litmus Chaos Experiments are hosted here. In addition to the public hub, there is also an option to operate and use one or more private hubs.

From a technical point of view, both a public and a private Chaos Hub are connected to a Git repository.

Chaos Center

The ChaosCenter is at the heart of Litmus, providing the single source of truth for controlling all the various chaos activities.

This web UI is part of the actual installation and can easily be made available in a Kubernetes cluster via Ingress, NodePort or LoadBalancer. Since version 2, this UI has been very popular, since all administration, evaluation, etc. no longer has to be done via CLI, as in version 1. Due to the multi-cloud capability using Chaos Agents, the ChaosCenter can be deployed and used independently of the actual target chaos cluster.

In addition to the functionalities for workflow creation and execution, the ChaosCenter also offers an RBAC administration area, a section for monitoring & observability and other configuration options such as GitOps.

Chaos Agent

The ChaosAgent acts as a process that is installed and running in the target cluster where chaos is to be triggered. There are two types of agent here, the self and the external agent. With the Self Agent, the chaos is injected into the "local" cluster, where the ChaosCenter is also deployed. This is the simple use case where Litmus is installed in the same cluster as the actual application.

With the external agent, other clusters can be connected to different cloud providers (multi cloud). For this purpose, an agent is installed in the corresponding target cluster with the in-house litmusctl.

Chaos Observability

This area is understood to mean all metrics and statistics that are collected during a chaos run in such a way that Litmus offers the possibility to export all this data in a Prometheus format.

Hands On

Installation

To be able to try Litmus now we need a Kubernetes cluster, in our case we use miniKube. Unfortunately, due to an error, we have to use an outdated Kubernetes version (< v1.22.x):

minikube start --kubernetes-version v1.21.6

Now that our Kubernetes cluster is up and running, we want to install Litmus into a special namespace via Helm Chart.

kubectl create ns litmus
helm repo add litmuschaos https://litmuschaos.github.io/litmus-helm/
helm install litmuschaos  --namespace litmus litmuschaos/litmus

We can then check via kubectl get pods -n litmus whether our three Litmus pods are running. Here we see three pods, a frontend, a server and a MongoDB. Litmus uses the MongoDB here to store all relevant data, logs etc. about the actual chaos. The front end represents the actual chaos center and the server pod acts as the API center.

Chaos Center

As soon as these are all running, we want to take a closer look at the ChaosCenter dashboard. For this we use the NodePort address of litmusportal-frontend-service, but with MiniKube we first have to open a tunnel with the following command:

minikube service --url litmuschaos-frontend-service -n litmus

We can then log in with the data admin/litmus and have successfully landed in the chaos center!

Litmus Chaos Center

With the first login, Litmus starts some more pods, which are needed for the chaos. Technically a Litmus project (left upper side in the dashboard) was created. All these pods are required for the Chaos Self Service, in addition the Self Agent is installed in the cluster.

Luckily, Litmus offers a complete demo project that can be self-service installed.

We can start this by starting a new workflow using the Schedule a workflow button. As an agent we use our self agent here, then we select the predefined chaos workflow podtato-head from the Litmus ChaosHub.

In the fourth step, we want to take a closer look at our sample. For example, here we see that a variable is used for the namespace and the deployment with the label name=podtato-main is supposed to get the mess. In the settings of the httpProbe we then see further information such as the URL, the set timeouts and intervals and the expected response code of 200.

In the next step, we can then use the Reliability Score to define the weight of this workflow. Since we want to trigger and test the chaos immediately, we choose Schedule now and start the chaos.

Now a so-called Run of this workflow has been started in the Litmus Workflows menu. We can use the options to view the workflow in detail or examine other statistics.

Litmus Chaos Center Details

This workflow should run successfully and shows us that deleting a (or multiple) pod has no impact on the stability and availability of our application!

The first custom workflow

But now we want to define our own workflow for a demo application known from other TechUps.

For this we use the edgey-corp-nodejs application from our Telepresence TechUp (Check it out!).

We start this via kubectl in the default namespace and then open the port to be able to reach the K8s service.

kubectl apply -f https://raw.githubusercontent.com/datawire/edgey-corp-nodejs/main/k8s-config/edgey-corp-web-app-no-mapping.yaml

minikube service --url verylargejavaservice

After the pods have started, we can briefly check the correct functionality of the application via the URL from the MiniKube command by calling this URL in the browser.

We then add a label to clearly identify our pods and deployments. For this we use a label that already exists on the pod for the deployment.

kubectl label deployment verylargejavaservice run=verylargejavaservice

Now we could define a workflow with an httpProbe with the URL, which we can call up in the browser via MiniKube. This wouldn't work from the cluster though, so we need to first find out the correct URL for our service and verify this from the litmus namespace. From a technical point of view, we can either take the internal IP of the services here and we use the DNS name verylargejavaservice.default.svc.cluster.local known internally to Kubernetes.

To do a quick test, we start a busybox pod to deploy a curl from the litmus namespace.

kubectl run curlpod --image=radial/busyboxplus:curl -n litmus --command -- /bin/sh -c "while true; do echo hi; sleep 10; done" 

kubectl exec -it curlpod -n litmus curl verylargejavaservice.default.svc.cluster.local:8080

We can execute the second command after a short wait, we get an HTML structure with the title Welcome to the EdgyCorp WebApp everything looks fine as a response.

But now quickly to our first own Litmus workflow. As before, we start a new workflow with Schedule a workflow, select the self agent again and then Create a new workflow using the experiments from ChaosHub.

In the fourth step we can now add an experiment and see a list of all experiments that are currently available on the public ChaosHub.

For simplicity, let's go back to the generic/pod-delete scenario and configure it as follows:

Litmus Chaos Center Own Workflow

What is very nice here is that Litmus knows the namespaces, labels, etc. from the cluster and gives us suggestions.

For the test we use an httpProbe again and want to make the calls to the previously checked DNS name. In any case, we expect an HTTP response code of 200 (Success) as a response.

Litmus Chaos Center Own Workflow Probe

It is important here that the timeout is set accordingly, otherwise the probe will recognize that there is downtime, although the application is "only" responding too slowly.

We can confirm all further steps with Next, in the last step we can take a closer look at our YAML. It is immediately apparent that this is a ArgoCD Resource. With a GitOps approach, this YAML would then be pushed versioned into a repository.

Is our application resilient?

After we have created our workflow, it will start immediately. After a short wait, we see the sobering result that the result is red and that the application has failed. Litmus Chaos Workflow failed

Through the details of the workflow, we see the logs and the chaos result and quickly find out that our httpProbe failed.

Just by running the kubectl get deployments command we can see the reason for this failure and lack of stability. Do you see it too?

In our experiment, we deleted a pod, but since our deployment only has one replica, there was a failure.

But now we want to have a sense of achievement and want to make our application more stable, for this we scale up the deployment to a total of two pods with the following command:

kubectl scale deployment verylargejavaservice --replicas 2

After a short wait, we see that two pods of our service are now running. In the Litmus Workflows menu item, we can now trigger a rerun in the Schedules tab to trigger our chaos again.

Litmus Chaos Workflow success

Now we see that the workflow shows 100% stability, and we have successfully tested and improved our application! 🚀

Advantages & Cons

A very clear benefit is Litmus' GitOps approach. You often have a great, well-functioning web UI to create or manage resources, but the changes are usually applied directly in the cluster and are not persisted anywhere. Litmus offers the setting option to save all resources via GitOps process in a repository as a single source of truth. Another advantage is the use of ArgoCD workflows under the hood. This makes Litmus reliable and stable, and also sort for a yaml-based approach.

In principle, the open source approach with well-known contributors and a really wide range of functions is certainly an advantage.

A clear disadvantage at the moment is certainly the compatibility. In our test, Litmus could not be used with the latest Kubernetes version, and this clearly needs to be improved. In addition, one often hears the argument that Litmus should "only" be used for chaos engineering in the Kubernetes environment, but not in the infrastructure. Improvements may also be made here, for example more experiments for the actual infrastructure such as AWS or similar could be offered.

Conclusion

Litmus wants to achieve great things, that's for sure!

Unfortunately, there were always problems when trying it out, which were not directly described in the guide. But these will certainly be fixed promptly, then nothing stands in the way of open source chaos engineering with Litmus.

Stay tuned!


This text was automatically translated with our golang markdown translator.

Tom Trapp - problem solver, innovator, athlete. Tom prefers to work on modern software all day long and attaches great importance to objectively clean, lean code.

Open-Source Chaos-Engineering mit Litmus.

08.12.2021 Tom Trapp
Cloud DevOps chaos-engineering sre k8s devops framework handson

Fehler oder Ausfälle im produktiven System führen oft zu Stress, Ärger und Missgunst. Fehler oder Ausfälle bewusst herbeizuführen und die Systeme dadurch stabiler und weniger anfällig zu machen führt immer zu Erfolg, Freude, Ansehen und Verbesserung!

Rückblick

Bereits in einem früheren TechUp hat Raffi über unsere We Celebrate Failure Kultur berichtet. Grundsätzlich geht darum, eine aktive Fehlerkultur zu leben, an Fehlern zu wachsen und Schlüsse daraus zu ziehen.

Im Cloud Umfeld gibt es sogenannte Chaos Engineering Tools wie beispielsweise Gremlin oder Litmus. Wenn Sie mehr über die theoretischen Hintergründe oder über Gremlin an sich erfahren wollen lege ich Ihnen das TechUp Wie Sie eine 'We Celebrate Failure'-Kultur mit Chaos Engineering in ihr Daily Business einführen. sehr ans Herzen!

Mit Gremlin haben wir bereits einen closed-source, enterprise-facing Player im Chaos Engineering Teil der altbekannten CNCF Landscape kennengelernt. Heute wollen wir den Schritt in richtig Open Source Chaos Engineering wagen.

Litmus

Litmus ist ein open-source, CNCF Sandbox Chaos Engineering Projekt, welches direkt von der Cloud Native Computing Foundation (CNCF) entwickelt wird. Seit 2018 sorgen über 150 Contributors für regelmäßige Updates und Releases. Das Ziel, ein CNCF Incubating Project zu werden wird klar kommuniziert und verfolgt.

Litmus selbst startete als complete framwork for finding weaknesses in Kubernetes platforms and applications running on Kubernetes, betitelt sich nun aber mehr als Cloud Native Chaos Engineering platform. Nichtsdestotrotz kann Litmus nur in einem Kubernetes Cluster verwendet werden, es gibt aber Anbindungen für andere Resource wie AWS, GCP oder Azure.

Ihre aktuelle Mission lautet:

To help identify weaknesses & potential outages in cloud-native systems by inducing chaos tests in a controlled way.

Zu den bekannten Contributors gehören unter anderem ChaosNative, Intuit, Amazon, RedHat und Container Solutions.

Erst im August dieses Jahres wurde die berühmt-berüchtigte Version 2.0.0 veröffentlicht. Bei der Version 2 handelte es sich um einen Release mit sehr vielen, weitgehenden Feature-Erweiterungen. Grundlegend kann man sagen, dass bei Version 2 sehr viele enterprise-facing Funktionen dazu kamen. Hervorzugehen sind zwei grundsätzliche Neuerungen, neu gibt es ein GitOps Pattern mit einer Integration mit Argo Workflows und eine neue WebUi. So lässt sich nun das komplette Chaos via WebUi und nicht mehr nur via CLI steuern.

Litmus selbst setzt hier vollständig auf den Prinzipien des Cloud native Chaos Engineering chaosnative.com/ auf, welche beispielsweise folgende Eigenschaften beinhalten:

  • Open Source
  • Community Collaboration
  • Open API
  • GitOps
  • Open Observability

Bevor wir uns Hands-On an Litmus wagen, wollen wir die einzelnen Komponenten und Features kennenlernen.

Chaos Experiments

Einfach gesagt beinhaltet ein Chaos Experiment die Anweisungen für das eigentliche Chaos. Die Kubernetes Custom Resource definiert Parameter wie das Image, die nötigen Permissions usw.

Ein klassisches Beispiel hier wäre ein sogenanntes pod-delete Experiment, welches einen bestimmten Pod abschalten. So kann man beispielsweise die Ausfallsicherheit prüfen.

Aktuell gibt es über 50 Experiments in unterschiedlichen Gruppe wie generic, cordns, kube-aws, kafka, gcp und weitere.

In der Vergangenheit waren viele Experimente in Ansible geschrieben, diese wurden zum grössten Teil mit Version 2 auf Go Lang portiert. Dank einer SDK, welche aktuell für Go, Python und Ansible verfügbar ist lassen sich eigene Experiments schreiben.

Probes

Probes sind im Litmus Umfeld modulare Prüfungen, um den Zustand des Chaoses zu bewerten. Grundsätzlich können diese Checks für normale Health-Checks benutzt werden. Sie bestimmen, ob ein Experiment erfolgreich war oder ob es ungewollte Auswirkungen wie einen Ausfall einer Schnittstelle gab.

Aktuell gibt es vier unterschiedliche Arten von Probes:

  • httpProbe – Aufruf einer URL, prüfen des Ergebnisses (z.B. anhand des HttpStatusCodes)
  • cmdProbe – Ausführen eines Shell Commands, Exit Code wird beachtet
  • k8sProbe – Ausführen einer CRUD Operation gegen native oder custom Kubernetes Ressourcen
  • promProbe – Ausführen einer PromQL Query und Prometheus Metrics zu matchen

Selbstverständlich können verschiedene Probes kombiniert werden.

Hier ist zu beachten, dass man z. B. bei einer httpProbe den korrekten Endpunkt vom Kubernetes Service verwendet. Ist diese Probe falsch definiert, kann es schnell zu verfälschten Ergebnissen kommen.

Chaos Workflow

Ein Chaos Workflow ist ein Set an unterschiedlichen Chaos Operationen, welche gemeinsam ein Szenario im Kubernetes Cluster bilden. Diese Steps können entweder nacheinander oder parallel ausgeführt werden. Hinter all dem Steck ein Argo CD Workflow, welcher mehrere Experimente beinhaltet.

Grundlegend gibt es zwei Arten, normale Workflows, welche nur einmal laufen oder sogenannte CronWorkflows, welche automatisiert zu einer definierten Schedule laufen. So lässt sich ChaosEngineering zum Beispiel fest einplanen und automatisieren. Dies macht aus unterschiedlichsten Punkten Sinn, grundsätzlich sollte Chaos Engineering immer ein iterativer, wiederkehrender Prozesse sein. Mit einem Workflow können nicht nur Experiments installiert und damit Chaos ausgelöst werden, es gibt auch Steps, welche das Chaos wieder rückgängig machen können.

Ein solcher Workflow kann entweder per YAML geschrieben werden oder mittels der GUI im Chaos Center zusammengebaut werden.

Chaos Result

Ein Chaos Result stellt das eigentliche Resultat des Chaos Experiments dar. Hierbei handelt es sich ebenfalls um eine Kubernetes Custom Resource Definition, welche Informationen wie den Status usw. beinhaltet. Diese CR wird zur Laufzeit von unterschiedlichen Pods oder CronJobs aus aktualisiert, sodass immer der aktuellste Stand des einzelnen Experiments darin enthalten ist. Ausserdem wird es nicht als Teil des normalen Clean-Up Prozesses gelöscht und kann für weitere Auswertungen genutzt werden.

Chaos Hub

Das Chaos Hub fugiert als öffentlicher Market Place für Litmus Chaos Experiment. Konkret werden hier YAML Files für die sogenannten Litmus Chaos Experiments gehosted. Neben dem öffentlichen Hub gibt es auch eine Möglichkeit, einen oder mehrere privat Hubs zu betreiben und zu nutzen.

Technisch gesehen handelt es sich sowohl bei einem public als auch bei einem privaten Chaos Hub um ein Git Repository, welches angebunden wird.

Chaos Center

Der ChaosCenter ist das Herzstück von Litmus, er stellt die Single Source of Truth für die Kontrolle aller unterschiedlichen Chaos Aktivitäten dar.

Diese Web-UI ist Teil der eigentlichen Installation und lässt sich in einem Kubernetes Cluster einfach via Ingress, NodePort oder LoadBalancer verfügbar machen. Seit ver Version 2 erfreut sich diese UI grosser Beliebtheit, da sämtliche Administration, Auswertung usw. nicht mehr per CLI, wie in Version 1, gemacht werden muss. Durch die Multi-Cloud Fähigkeit mittels Chaos Agents kann der ChaosCenter unabhängig vom eigentliche Ziel-Chaos-Cluster deployed und genutzt werden.

Neben den Funktionalitäten für die Workflowerstellung und Ausführen bietet das ChaosCenter auch einen RBAC Administrationsbereich, eine Sektion für Monitoring & Observability sowie weitere Konfigurationsmöglichkeiten wie z.B. GitOps.

Chaos Agent

Der ChaosAgent fungiert als Prozess, welcher im Zielcluster, in dem Chaos ausgelöst werden soll, installiert wird und läuft. Hier gibt es zwei Arten von Agent, den Self und den External Agent. Beim Self Agent wird das Chaos in das "lokale" Cluster injected, wo auch der ChaosCenter deployed ist. Dies ist der simple Use Case, wo Litmus im selben Cluster wie die eigentliche Applikation installiert ist.

Mit dem External Agent lassen sich weitere Cluster bei unterschiedlichen Cloud-Providern (Multi Cloud) anbinden. Hierfür wird mit der hauseigene litmusctl ein Agent im entsprechenden Zielcluster installiert.

Chaos Observability

Unter diesem Bereich versteht man alle Metriken und Statistiken, welche bei einem Chaos Durchlauf so gesammelt werden, Litmus bietet hier die Möglichkeit, all diese Daten in einem Prometheus Format zu exportieren.

Hands On

Installation

Um Litmus nun ausprobieren zu können benötigen wir ein Kubernetes Cluster, wir in unserem Fall nutzen miniKube. Leider müssen wir aufgrund eines Fehlers eine veraltete Kubernetes Version nutzen (< v1.22.x):

minikube start --kubernetes-version v1.21.6

Nachdem unser Kubernetes Cluster läuft, wollen wir Litmus via Helm Chart in einen speziellen Namespace installieren.

kubectl create ns litmus
helm repo add litmuschaos https://litmuschaos.github.io/litmus-helm/
helm install litmuschaos  --namespace litmus litmuschaos/litmus

Anschliessend können wir via kubectl get pods -n litmus prüfen, ob unsere drei Litmus Pods laufen. Hier sehen wir nun direkt drei Pods, ein Frontend, ein Server und eine MongoDB. Litmus nutzt die MongoDB hier um alle relevanten Daten, Logs usw. zum eigentlichen Chaos zu speichern. Das Frontend stellt den eigentlichen Chaos-Center dar und der Server Pod fungiert als API Zentrale.

Chaos Center

Sobald diese alle Running sind, wollen wir uns das ChaosCenter Dashboard genauer anschauen. Hierfür nutzen wir die NodePort Adresse des litmusportal-frontend-service, mit MiniKube müssen wir hier aber erst noch mit folgendem Befehl einen Tunnel aufmachen:

minikube service --url litmuschaos-frontend-service -n litmus

Anschliessend können wir uns dann mit den Daten admin/litmus einloggen und sind erfolgreich im Chaos-Center gelandet! Litmus Chaos Center

Mit dem ersten Login startet Litmus einige weitere Pods, welche fürs Chaos benötigt werden. Technisch gesehen wurde ein Litmus Projekt (im Dashboard oben links) angelegt. All diese Pods werden für den Chaos Self Service benötigt, zusätzlich wird der Self Agent im Cluster installiert.

Glücklicherweise bietet Litmus ein komplettes Demoprojekt an, welches per Self Service installiert werden kann.

Dies können wir starten, in dem wir über den Button Schedule a workflow einen neuen Workflow starten. Als Agent nutzen wir hier unseren Self Agent, anschliessend wählen wir den vordefinierten Chaos-Workflow podtato-head vom Litmus ChaosHub aus.

Im vierten Schritt wollen wir uns dann unsere Probe genauer anschauen. Hier sehen wir beispielsweise, dass eine Variable für den Namespace genutzt wird und das Deployment mit dem Label name=podtato-main das Chaos abbekommen soll. In den Einstellungen der httpProbe sehen wir dann weitere Informationen wie die URL, die eingestellten Timeouts und Intervalle und den erwarteten Response-Code von 200.

Im nächsten Schritt können wir dann mit dem Reliability Score das Gewicht dieses Workflows definieren. Da wir das Chaos sofort auslösen und austesten wollen wählen wir Schedule now und starten so das Chaos.

Nun wurde im Menü Litmus Workflows ein sogenannter Run dieses Workflows gestartet. Über die Optionen können wir den Workflow im Details ansehen oder weitere Statistiken begutachten.

Litmus Chaos Center Details

Dieser Workflow sollte erfolgreich durchlaufen und zeigt uns somit, dass das Löschen eines (oder mehrerer) Pods keinen Impact auf die Stabilität und Verfügbarkeit unserer Applikation hat!

Der erste eigene Workflow

Nun wollen wir aber einen eigenen Workflow für eine, aus anderen TechUps bekannte, Demoanwendung definieren.

Hierfür nutzen wir wieder die edgey-corp-nodejs-Applikation aus unsere Telepresence TechUp (Check it out!).

Diese starten wir via kubectl im default Namespace und öffnen anschliessend den Port um den K8s Service erreichen zu können.

kubectl apply -f https://raw.githubusercontent.com/datawire/edgey-corp-nodejs/main/k8s-config/edgey-corp-web-app-no-mapping.yaml

minikube service --url verylargejavaservice

Nachdem die Pods gestartet sind, können wir kurz über die URL aus dem MiniKube Befehl die einwandfreie Funktionalität der Anwendung prüfen, indem wir diese Url im Browser aufrufen.

Anschliessend fügen wir ein Label hinzu, um unsere Pods und Deployments eindeutig erkennen zu können. Hierfür nutzen wir ein auf dem Pods bereits vorhandenen Label auch für das Deployment.

kubectl label deployment verylargejavaservice run=verylargejavaservice

Nun könnten wir zwar einen Workflow mit einer httpProbe mit der URL, welche wir via MiniKube im Browser aufrufen können, definieren. Dies würde aber aus dem Cluster raus nicht funktionieren, daher müssen wir erst die korrekte URL für unseren Service herausfinden und dies aus dem litmus Namespace heraus verifizieren. Technisch gesehen können wir hier nun entweder die interne IP der Services nehmen und wir nutzen den Kubernetes intern bekannten DNS Namen verylargejavaservice.default.svc.cluster.local.

Um einen kurzen Test zu machen, starten wir uns einen busybox Pod um einen curl aus dem litmus Namespace heraus absetzen zu können.

kubectl run curlpod --image=radial/busyboxplus:curl -n litmus --command -- /bin/sh -c "while true; do echo hi; sleep 10; done" 

kubectl exec -it curlpod -n litmus curl verylargejavaservice.default.svc.cluster.local:8080

Den zweiten Befehl können wir nach kurzer Wartezeit ausführen, bekommen wir als Antwort eine HTML Struktur mit dem Title Welcome to the EdgyCorp WebApp sieht alles gut aus.

Nun aber schnell zu unserem ersten eigenen Litmus Workflow. Wie bereits vorher starten wir einen neuen Workflow mit Schedule a workflow, wählen wieder den Self Agent und dann Create a new workflow using the experiments from ChaosHub.

Im vierten Schritt können wir nun ein Experiment hinzufügen und sehen hier einer Liste aller Experiment, welche aktuell auf dem öffentlichen ChaosHub verfügbar sind.

Der Einfachheit halber entscheiden wir uns wieder für das generic/pod-delete Szenario und konfigurieren dies wie folgt:

Litmus Chaos Center Own Workflow

Sehr angenehm ist hier, dass Litmus die Namespaces, Labels usw. aus dem Cluster kennt und uns Vorschläge gibt.

Für die Probe nutzen wir wieder eine httpProbe und wollen die Calls auf den zuvor geprüften DNS Namen machen. Als Response erwarten wir in jedem Fall einen HTTP Response-Code von 200 (Success).

Litmus Chaos Center Own Workflow Probe

Wichtig ist hier, dass die Timeout entsprechend gesetzt sind, da die Probe sonst erkennt, dass Downtime vorliegt, obwohl eigentlich die Applikation "nur" zu langsam antwortet.

Die weiteren Schritte können wir alle mit Next bestätigen, im letzten Schritt können wir noch unser YAML genauer anschauen. Hier fällt sofort auf, dass es sich um ArgoCD Resource handelt. Bei einem GitOps Ansatz würde dieses YAML dann versioniert in ein Repository gepushed werden.

Ist unsere Applikation resilient?

Nachdem wir unseren Workflow angelegt haben wird dieser sofort gestartet. Nach kurzer Wartezeit sehen wir dann ernüchternd, dass das Resultat rot ist und wir einen Ausfall der Applikation hatten. Litmus Chaos Workflow failed

Über die Details des Workflows sehen wir die Logs sowie das Chaos Result und findet schnell raus, dass unsere httpProbe fehlgeschlagen ist.

Alleine durch das Ausführen des Befehls kubectl get deployments sehen wir den Grund für diesen Ausfall und die ausgebliebene Stabilität. Sehen Sie es auch?

In unserem Experiment haben wir einen Pod gelöscht, da unser Deployment aber nur eine Replica hat kam es zu einem Ausfall.

Nun wollen wir aber ein Erfolgserlebnis haben und wollen unsere Applikation stabiler machen, hierfür skalieren die das Deployment auf insgesamt zwei Pods mit folgendem Befehl hoch:

kubectl scale deployment verylargejavaservice --replicas 2

Nach kurzer Wartezeit sehen wir, das nun zwei Pods unseres Services laufen. Im Menüpunkt Litmus Workflows können wir nun im Tab Schedules ein Rerun anstossen, um unser Chaos erneut auszulösen.

Litmus Chaos Workflow success

Nun sehen wir, dass der Workflow eine 100 % Stabilität anzeigt und wir somit unsere Applikation erfolgreich getestet und verbessert haben! 🚀

Vor & Nachteile

Ein ganz klarer Vorteil ist der GitOps Ansatz von Litmus. Oft hat man eine tolle, gut funktionierende Web Ui um Ressourcen anzulegen oder zu verwalten, die Changes werden meist aber direkt im Cluster appliziert und nirgends persistiert. Litmus bietet hier die Einstellungsmöglichkeit, sämtliche Resource via GitOps Prozess in einem Repository als Single Source of Truth zu speichern. Ein weiterer Vorteil ist der Einsatz von ArgoCD Workflows under the hood. Dies macht Litmus zuverlässig und stabil und sort ebenso für einen Yaml-basierten Ansatz.

Grundsätzlich ist sicher auch der Open Source Ansatz mit bekannten Contributors und wirklich breitem Funktionsumfang ein Vorteil.

Ein klarer Nachteil ist aktuell sicherlich die Kompatibilität, Litmus war in unserem Test nicht mit der neuesten Kubernetes Version nutzbar, hier muss klar nachgelegt werden. Ausserdem hört man oft das Argument, dass Litmus "nur" für Chaos Engineering im Kubernetes Umfeld, nicht aber in der Infrastruktur eingesetzt werden sollte. Hier wird eventuell auch noch nachgebessert, beispielsweise könnten noch mehr Experiments für die eigentliche Infrastruktur wie AWS o. ä. angeboten werden.

Fazit

Litmus will Grosses erreichen, das steht fest!

Leider kam es beim Ausprobieren immer wieder zu Problemen, welche im Guide nicht direkt beschrieben waren. Diese werden aber sicherlich zeitnah behoben, dann steht einem Open Source Chaos Engineering mit Litmus nichts mehr im Wege.

Stay tuned!

Tom Trapp – Problemlöser, Innovator, Sportler. Am liebsten feilt Tom den ganzen Tag an der moderner Software und legt viel Wert auf objektiv sauberen, leanen Code.